We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“A great first hostelling experience” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Stayokay Hostel Amsterdam Zeeburg

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Stayokay Hostel Amsterdam Zeeburg
Ranked #19 of 219 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A great first hostelling experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2010

Having never stayed in a hostel before I was a bit nervous as to what it would be like but I need not have worried although I imagine the Stayokay Zeeburg is somewhat of an exception to the rule.
My room was clean, the bedding was in sealed bags so you knew it was clean and I wasn't expecting ensuite facilities which were a massive bonus. The beds were comfortable although the pillows were pretty lumpy but possible to sleep on.
Breakfast was great and plentiful and you could take as much as you wanted which was again unexpected.
The staff were very friendly in all interactions we had with them.
Perhaps the only downside was that the lockers were not in the rooms but instead by reception so you had to trust that your bags would be safe in the room while you were out, something I felt happy doing even though I normally wouldn't have. Also you had to pay for the lockers, 2 euro for 24 hours.
Even though it is a little way out from the centre of things the tram stop is a 2 minute walk.

I would definitely recommend this hostel to people who wanted a cheap place to stay and wanted to be able to escape central Amsterdam in the evenings.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Red_Dragonfly88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

743 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    211
    346
    136
    29
    21
See reviews for
59
86
124
30
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2010

I stayed here for 3 nights with some friends and had a really great time. The rooms were clean and spacious, the bar had a lovely atmosphere (and cheap drinks!) and the breakfast was good. We felt very safe leaving our things in our room during the day, but we did put passports/money in a locker, which was cheap and easy to access.

Getting to the city centre is easy, we bought a travel card for the weekend so it was just a case of hopping on Tram 14 and getting off a few minutes later.

Theres not much else I can say except that I would definately recommend this hostel!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rosanna111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oroville, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2010

When I stayed there the hostel had been in business for about 6 months. The front desk clerk was extremely nice and a pleasure to be around. I normally had dinner downstairs in the bar area and the food was amazing without fail. I didn't have a single complaint my whole stay there.

Stayed October 2008, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank rememberdusk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2010

This will be a bit special review since it will be based on how they handled a certain situation.

The hostel by itself is pricewise quite decent and you get what you pay for, but I will never stay here again. They handled a situation that was based off a simple misunderstanding so badly that it ended up having severe consequences for my vacation. I was met with hostility and it seemed like nobody at the hostel seemed to care to think about what happened from our point of view, we didn't even get treated as guests at the hostel. I've traveled alot in my life and been in alot of different places, and this is without doubt the worst thing staff at a hostel has done to me.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steinthegreat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mentakab, Malaysia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2010

clean,reasonable price, with breakfast. i like it. only the location might not be great as it is quite far from the main attraction. accesible by bus/tram however. overall, recommend for young couple/students/backpackers.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank devidalildevil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2010

Rooms clean and lots of space. Brekfast however was poor choice of sliced bread...

Stayed January 2010, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank TeganLaing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Campinas, SP
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2009

The place was fulll of adolescents, but there were also families and couples. It's definitely not a party place but those searching for a quite night sleep and trying to avoid the drug friendly hostels will like this one. It's easy to reach the main sights with tram - a 15 minutes ride - or also by bike wich the hostel was renting for about 10 euros a day. The facilities where enough clean and since the toilet, shower and sink can be used simultaneously and there is one set for each room the hostel becomes really confortable.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank marfbr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Stayokay Hostel Amsterdam Vondelpark
Centrum
Flying Pig Downtown
Flying Pig Downtown
#10 of 219 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Generator Amsterdam
#6 of 219 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 321 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
St Christopher's at Winston Hotel
Centrum
Stayokay Hostel Amsterdam Stadsdoelen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stayokay Hostel Amsterdam Zeeburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stayokay Hostel Amsterdam Zeeburg

Property: Stayokay Hostel Amsterdam Zeeburg
Address: Timorplein 21, 1094 CC Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 219 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Stayokay Hostel Amsterdam Zeeburg 2*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the biggest hostels in Amsterdam is located in the lovely Indische Buurt! Just fifteen minutes away from the city centre you will find everything you need in this area! Join our happy hour in the bar, enjoy your breakfast, lunch or diner in our restaurant or ask reception for directions or for our presale tickets! We are proud to be rewarded the Ecolabel for environment friendly measurements we have taken over the past few years! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Stayokay Hostel Amsterdam Zeeburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stayokay Amsterdam Zeeburg Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing