We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Nice place at a price. ” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Stayokay Hostel Amsterdam Zeeburg

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Stayokay Hostel Amsterdam Zeeburg
Ranked #22 of 217 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Level Contributor
31 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Nice place at a price. ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013 via mobile

This is a nice hostel. But you pay for the niceness. It has a great breakfast, good internet, clean facilities. A great place. The bad side it is two or three times what you pay at a lower end hostel. I would rather spend that money elsewhere. The #14 line runs past the hostel, and a night bus can get you there any time of night. Just ask the staff.

Helpful?
Thank Bungi74
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

643 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    169
    304
    121
    28
    21
See reviews for
49
76
106
24
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013 via mobile

Nice and clean hostel, good place to stay during your visit, a bit far from city centre but with a good transport during the day and night. Very nice staff and very friendly, Marcin we miss you :)hope you are doing well. I went there with my friends for few days and we love it!!! Definitely we will stay there again next time in Amsterdam !!!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Summer J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poznan, Poland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

Well for starters I just booked the cheapest hostel out there in Amsterdam. So I did not expect that it will be as nice as it actually was! The place is really nice, the staff is omg really funny, breakfasts are really ok.

Room Tip: well a shared mixed dormitory room was not bad at all - so go ahead with it if you need to save some...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MastaK1LA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uberlandia, MG
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013 via mobile

Beautiful place, nice and organised. Big rooms, good (bunker) beds and clean toilets.
The only problem was the distance from city centre. I used to take the train, which was cheap and fast, but couldn't go out at night time. I would say it's a 3 km walking journey from the hostel to the city centre (40 min).
The neighbourhood was full of beautiful buildings and places, though.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JoseArita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

Myself and my boyfriend recently went interrailing, out of all the hostels we stayed in this was definitely the worst! Firstly the manager at the front reception seemed to have no time for us when we arrived, we wanted to ask where the local supermarket wasand how much the hairdryers were to rent, he didnt want to answer and when he did we got half an answer, he then continued to answer the phone while we were mid conversation! We booked three nights, we got moved to a different room every day, they didn't apologise, instead they answered 'this isnt our problem'. Their internet was broken, they let us buy 30mins, so we went to use the internet and told them it was broken and could we get a token so we wouldnt loose our money and could use the service when it was workin, the manager once again proclaimed it wasn't their problem and we wouldn't be gettin our money back! This hostel does not have a kitchen so you have to buy ur meals and can't cook them yourself, this was annoyin as we were tryin to budget. All in all, this was the most expensive and worst hostel we've ever stayed in. I would not recommend it at all and I most definitely wont be back!!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MariaaG15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoostStayokayZeeburg, Guest relations manager at Stayokay Hostel Amsterdam Zeeburg, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Dear Maria,

First of all: thank you for your feedback.

I am very sorry to hear that you had a bad experience in our hostel during your stay. We aim to provide as much service and kindness to make your stay as pleasant as possible, but unfortunately we have not been able to satisfy you and your boyfriend.

We take your feedback very seriously and we will evaluate your review within our team.

Once again: my sincere apologies.

Kind regards,

Joost Mallo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

My mother-in-law booked the hotel for 2 Adults & 2 children. On arrival they made us share a room with 3 male ADULTS !!!! We booked for a whole week, and shared for 2 days, they eventually gave the other people a room on their own. But on Thursday we had to find another hotel for one more night !! Very unhappy with the services, and would like some sort of refund !!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Micheal H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonn, Germany
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

We stayed here for the weekend. It was my first hostel experience and I found this place excellent, beyond my expectations. Good rooms, very clean, good breakfast, bar area was good and most important, the staff were very friendly and helpful... I definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Danilo G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Stayokay Hostel Amsterdam Vondelpark
Centrum
Stayokay Hostel Amsterdam Stadsdoelen
Red Light District (De Wallen)
The Bulldog Hotel
The Bulldog Hotel
#11 of 217 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 875 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
ClinkNOORD
#20 of 217 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 380 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
St Christopher's at Winston Hotel
Hostelle
#29 of 217 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stayokay Hostel Amsterdam Zeeburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stayokay Hostel Amsterdam Zeeburg

Property: Stayokay Hostel Amsterdam Zeeburg
Address: Timorplein 21, 1094 CC Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 217 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Stayokay Hostel Amsterdam Zeeburg 2*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the biggest hostels in Amsterdam is located in the lovely Indische Buurt! Just fifteen minutes away from the city centre you will find everything you need in this area! Join our happy hour in the bar, enjoy your breakfast, lunch or diner in our restaurant or ask reception for directions or for our presale tickets! We are proud to be rewarded the Ecolabel for environment friendly measurements we have taken over the past few years! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Stayokay Hostel Amsterdam Zeeburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stayokay Amsterdam Zeeburg Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing