We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Ignorant staff and over priced” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Stayokay Hostel Amsterdam Zeeburg

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Stayokay Hostel Amsterdam Zeeburg
Ranked #19 of 219 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Ignorant staff and over priced”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2013

Myself and my boyfriend recently went interrailing, out of all the hostels we stayed in this was definitely the worst! Firstly the manager at the front reception seemed to have no time for us when we arrived, we wanted to ask where the local supermarket wasand how much the hairdryers were to rent, he didnt want to answer and when he did we got half an answer, he then continued to answer the phone while we were mid conversation! We booked three nights, we got moved to a different room every day, they didn't apologise, instead they answered 'this isnt our problem'. Their internet was broken, they let us buy 30mins, so we went to use the internet and told them it was broken and could we get a token so we wouldnt loose our money and could use the service when it was workin, the manager once again proclaimed it wasn't their problem and we wouldn't be gettin our money back! This hostel does not have a kitchen so you have to buy ur meals and can't cook them yourself, this was annoyin as we were tryin to budget. All in all, this was the most expensive and worst hostel we've ever stayed in. I would not recommend it at all and I most definitely wont be back!!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MariaaG15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoostStayokayZeeburg, Guest relations manager at Stayokay Hostel Amsterdam Zeeburg, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Dear Maria,

First of all: thank you for your feedback.

I am very sorry to hear that you had a bad experience in our hostel during your stay. We aim to provide as much service and kindness to make your stay as pleasant as possible, but unfortunately we have not been able to satisfy you and your boyfriend.

We take your feedback very seriously and we will evaluate your review within our team.

Once again: my sincere apologies.

Kind regards,

Joost Mallo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

743 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    211
    346
    136
    29
    21
See reviews for
59
86
124
30
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2013

My mother-in-law booked the hotel for 2 Adults & 2 children. On arrival they made us share a room with 3 male ADULTS !!!! We booked for a whole week, and shared for 2 days, they eventually gave the other people a room on their own. But on Thursday we had to find another hotel for one more night !! Very unhappy with the services, and would like some sort of refund !!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Micheal H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonn, Germany
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

We stayed here for the weekend. It was my first hostel experience and I found this place excellent, beyond my expectations. Good rooms, very clean, good breakfast, bar area was good and most important, the staff were very friendly and helpful... I definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Danilo G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Bayern, Germany
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

A nice hostel in affordable cost specially when travelling in a group.Rooms are good and have basic amenties for a group in low budget.Breakfast is sumptuous and the most striking feature.
Location is great as its near to Tram and Bus stop.Staff is very friendly and provides all information aptly.Various offers are availbale through hotel for bvarious tourist attractions in Amsterdam whaich can save you both money and time.

Room Tip: Check for offers in the hotel lounge
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Prasoon_munich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
92 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2013 via mobile

A big hostel with nice staff, good breakfast and nice rooms. We were on a choir-trip and liked it a lot for its price. It is a little too far from the city center but the nr 14 train passes right outside. They were helpful with letting us store our bags a full day.

Helpful?
Thank Malin S
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Curra, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013

My stay was ok, The staff were average on friendliness and helpfulness -They did what they had too and were not overly enthused to do much more in regards to best attractions or transport etc. Common areas of hostel were kept very clean though my room wasnt so good as we had 1 particular man that was a PIG and smoked in the room which made it pretty stale n smelly. Being a smoker myself i still did not appreciate this and when i informed staff, nothing happened. The room was not cleaned at any time for the 5 nights i was there so the toilet was putrid as was the shower. I chose to use the common bathrooms EVERY TIME in bar area as i could at least know they were hygienic. It was extremely hot in the rooms with very little fresh air ever which made it extremely uncomfortable to sleep at night.
The services provided were great including breakfast, common areas for wifi use, playing cards etc.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Emma H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

Very nice and peacefull place to spend holidays.. wifi zone, bar, great breakfast, clean, guests are included in a few service jobs which is interesting, friendly people from all around the world, good atmosphere :)

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank krpica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Stayokay Hostel Amsterdam Vondelpark
Centrum
Flying Pig Downtown
Flying Pig Downtown
#10 of 219 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Generator Amsterdam
#6 of 219 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 320 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
St Christopher's at Winston Hotel
Centrum
Stayokay Hostel Amsterdam Stadsdoelen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stayokay Hostel Amsterdam Zeeburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stayokay Hostel Amsterdam Zeeburg

Property: Stayokay Hostel Amsterdam Zeeburg
Address: Timorplein 21, 1094 CC Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 219 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Stayokay Hostel Amsterdam Zeeburg 2*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the biggest hostels in Amsterdam is located in the lovely Indische Buurt! Just fifteen minutes away from the city centre you will find everything you need in this area! Join our happy hour in the bar, enjoy your breakfast, lunch or diner in our restaurant or ask reception for directions or for our presale tickets! We are proud to be rewarded the Ecolabel for environment friendly measurements we have taken over the past few years! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Stayokay Hostel Amsterdam Zeeburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stayokay Amsterdam Zeeburg Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing