We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Had a pleasant stay.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Stayokay Hostel Amsterdam Zeeburg

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Stayokay Hostel Amsterdam Zeeburg
Ranked #20 of 225 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Singapore
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Had a pleasant stay.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013 via mobile

Stayed in a 6-share dorm. The room was spacious and clean, with a separate toilet and shower room. The bulk beds used were high therefore didn't feel cramped. There was also free wi-fi at the common areas.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kk_lim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

810 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    237
    370
    147
    32
    24
See reviews for
66
101
129
31
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2013

I was travelling with my sister and at first we went to the other stayokay in the centre. So although the location is still good and only a tramride away, we felt it was a bit far out having thought we were right in the centre. It felt a big like a boarding school - a very big stone building with lots of rooms and a big canteen - I guess it was just different from what we expected. There was a great range of food for breakfast and we really enjoyed it the three mornings we were there. The room was nice too - clean and bright. Being a bit further out it did mean we explored a bit more of Amsterdam than we might have done. Overall a nice place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Heather N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N.Wales
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2013

6 of us stayed here, I am used to 3 star plus hotels but was pleasently surprised by this little or Big gem of a hostel. The place is huge, with its own bar, breakfast area and plenty of people about, only a Tram ride into City Centre although there were works going on outside hostel when we were there, but the walk was just a little longer. Overall I wouldnt hesitate for the price we paid to go back again, I have stayed in the centre for more, and was not half the quality this place is, so a good experience. Also a nice little coffeeshop around the corner, sells great White Widow ;)

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank blaenau2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level Contributor
144 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2013

I have been to this hostel for a weekends trip to Amsterdam. I did not have experience of staying in hostels much but definitely I can say this is not a hostel. We can consider it as a hotel itself. It provides all kind of service starting from : breakfast (included in booking), dinner (you need to pay extra) , vending machines for soft drinks and chocolates, canal cruise tickets (with a much discounted price), GVB pass for city trip. Overall it was a fantastic stay and reception was very helpful and kind. The hotel location was great, one can reach any city center location within 10-15 minutes. I will recommend this hostel to others.

Room Tip: All in one shop : a hostel, dinning place, pub, sells travel card & canal cruise tickets at a di...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kumardip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2013

Overall the place is about a 25 minute walk into Amsterdam central. But we enjoyed that, the staff here are very very friendly. The bar was not too bad and the beer was reasonably priced. However the rooms are not what we expected. We booked a double room and ended up in a dorm room on our won with 4 bunk beds and one platform with 2 single mattresses. However it was a fun experience and the free breakfast was great.
I would come back but next time I think I would like the double room!

Room Tip: Don't bother getting a tram here if you walk down the river towards the hotel take a rights at t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horsens, Denmark
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2013

I've lived in a hostel in London and expected tiny crowded rooms with shower/toilet cleaned by previous visitors which is not always clean SO I WAS VERY surprised by how big light and clean the rooms were! We had both breakfast and lunch included which was very nice and varied :-)

One negative thing though... If you're planning on working on-line during your stay BRING YOUR OWN INTERNET! The FREE WIFI they offer is close to not existing!! It was pretty annoying when you count on being in contact with work connections on-line!

If you know you are going to and from the centre a lot during 2 or more days, I would advice people to buy the tram ticket for as many days as possible to make it cheaper :-) The tram stop is close by and they are very efficient and go every 10 min. or so.

I chose business trip because we were on a study trip.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BeVforMe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2013

This hostel exceeded expectation. We had planned to stay in the more central Stakokay hostel but as there was no room availability we settled on Zeeburg. Yes the hostel is located out of the centre of Amsterdam but it is walkable (we walked in and out on the first day 15mins each way) but you can get a tram ticket from the hostel for either 24 or 48hrs (the 24hr one cost 7 euro) and the number 14 tram takes you in and out and is straightforward to use. The room was clean and comfortable and both toilet and shower facilities were very clean and the shower hot.

The highlight of the stay was the breakfast each morning. Choice of cereal: granola or cornflakes, bowls of natural yogurt, boiled eggs, a selection of meats and cheese, ORGANIC fresh bread (brown and white), bonne maman jam, coffee, orange juice and apples/oranges. We didn't dine in the evening but the food also looked good.

The staff were very friendly and helpful.

All in all, great value and comfortable stay!!!!!!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sally00000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Van Gogh
Hotel Van Gogh
#149 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 869 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Stayokay Hostel Amsterdam Vondelpark
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Flying Pig Downtown
Flying Pig Downtown
#12 of 225 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,204 reviews
WOW Hostel Amsterdam
#40 of 225 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 421 reviews
Hostelle
#38 of 225 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stayokay Hostel Amsterdam Zeeburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stayokay Hostel Amsterdam Zeeburg

Property: Stayokay Hostel Amsterdam Zeeburg
Address: Timorplein 21, 1094 CC Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 225 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Stayokay Hostel Amsterdam Zeeburg 2*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the biggest hostels in Amsterdam is located in the lovely Indische Buurt! Just fifteen minutes away from the city centre you will find everything you need in this area! Join our happy hour in the bar, enjoy your breakfast, lunch or diner in our restaurant or ask reception for directions or for our presale tickets! We are proud to be rewarded the Ecolabel for environment friendly measurements we have taken over the past few years! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your Stayokay Hostel Amsterdam Zeeburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stayokay Amsterdam Zeeburg Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing