We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bland”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Stayokay Hostel Amsterdam Zeeburg
Ranked #21 of 237 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 8, 2008

This hostel is not cheap and is not great. Although it is modern and clean it is a fair way out of town and situated in a slightly dodgey neighborhood. It seems more like a hospital than a hostel.. No character. The rooms are nice and usually with bathrooms. If you stay here be prepared for a journey to get anywhere you want to go.

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank PoeticCrayon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (920)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

458 - 464 of 920 reviews

Reviewed October 8, 2007

The worst Hotel I have ever stayed in my life. Very good facilitires but lousy management. We had to change room 2 times during a one week stay. Everytime we changed room there was a problem: the room was not clean, one time they gave us a room that was a warehouse and the keys didn’t work.

One night they closed the hotel for a party, rented by a company and didn’t warn us so all the services in the Hotel were not available to the guests, only to the company that rented the place. And we were not informed beforehand!!! We wanted to have dinner that night and we couldn’t because the kitchen was closed to us. First I asked the reception if we could have dinner and the man told us yes. Later I asked the waiter in the restarurant to have dinner and he said we couldn’t. Then I asked him to go with me to the reception to put things clear and the man on the reception told me he didn’t tell me we could have dinner and told me “It is my word against yours!” . It is tolerable for a guest at a hotel to be called a liar....

The management at this hotel is lousy and they don’t respect you.

Do a favour to yourself and don’t stay in this Hotel.

We could suspect we had bad luck but the problem was only with us; all the people we talked to, an American couple, na Austrian Woman and two English girls had problems with the hotel organization.

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank illion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2007

This is a huge hostel like 15 minutes away from the town centre by tram or bike, where I spent four nights in July 2007.

First, when I booked I saw they said on their website they had Internet, laundry and covered bike shed, but when I arrived I saw they had no Internet, no laundry and the bike shed was not for public use. Neither I have seen television lounge, pooltable nor luggage lockers, as they also say they have on their website.

In my room the main light and the bed lights didn't work and when going to bed it was too dark. It only worked one of the four plugs there were in the room, and we were there six people. There were no table nor chairs, as there were supposed to be.

I complained about that and the staff were not as polite and friendly as one could expect, but at least they fixed the plugs and lights and even offered me two free drinks (wow! - I'm being ironic).

When I just found out about the laundry and I was talking to this guy in reception this was part of our conversation:

Me - This is not nice, when I booked I saw on your website you had Internet and laundry and actually you don't.

Him - I'm sorry [really, not one more word]

Me - Yes, ok, but for example you could say on the website that at the moment you still don't have Internet nor laundry. Because I'm paying the hundred per cent of the fee and I'm getting like the seventy per cent of the service.

The guy kept staring at me but said nothing.

Me - Ok, thank you... [I hope he realised my irony]


Of course some other people from the staff were more helpful and friendly, but still it's not nice going there to talk about this and to find this guy.

Anyway, the hostel is not terrible (the breakfast is good and everything is quite clean and new) and I guess they'll improve some staff in the future, but yet I didn't like the atmosphere: it has nothing to see with the one I'm used to find at other hostels, here it's much colder since it's this big and new and serious. Actually, this would be not a 'backpacking' hostel but rather a huge, say, 'residence' for families and big groups (as they actually have a lot of that kind of guests).

I would only recommend it, precisely, to families and big groups who don't really care about the services the hostel does not offer (yet), but not to backpackers unless they're not able to find any other hostel here.

One last thing: Amsterdam is well worth a visit even if you have to stay at this hostel ;-)

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Chemi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2007

What a superb hostel, i think it is one of the nicest hostel i've ever slept in! The staff was good, the rooms were very clean and everything looked soo nice!! What I really liked is the good breakfast!

If you go to Amsterdam you should go to this hostel!

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank hdrondhuis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed yesterday
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Francesco B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 days ago
Google Translation

Room Tip: 入住時明確對房型的需求
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 花蟹GIGI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 days ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, traveled solo
Thank Amel A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Stayokay Hostel Amsterdam Vondelpark
Centrum
Stayokay Hostel Amsterdam Stadsdoelen
Hostelle
#37 of 237 in Amsterdam
264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Flying Pig Downtown
Flying Pig Downtown
#11 of 237 in Amsterdam
1,273 reviews
WOW Hostel Amsterdam
#52 of 237 in Amsterdam
503 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
St Christopher's at Winston Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stayokay Hostel Amsterdam Zeeburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stayokay Hostel Amsterdam Zeeburg

Address: Timorplein 21, 1094 CC Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 237 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Price Range: $18 - $207 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Stayokay Hostel Amsterdam Zeeburg 2*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the biggest hostels in Amsterdam is located in the lovely Indische Buurt! Just fifteen minutes away from the city centre you will find everything you need in this area! Join our happy hour in the bar, enjoy your breakfast, lunch or diner in our restaurant or ask reception for directions or for our presale tickets! We are proud to be rewarded the Ecolabel for environment friendly measurements we have taken over the past few years! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Stayokay Hostel Amsterdam Zeeburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stayokay Amsterdam Zeeburg Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing