We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“4 star hotel, I doubt it.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Blue Tower Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Blue Tower Hotel
Ranked #184 of 363 Hotels in Amsterdam
Dijon, France
1 review
“4 star hotel, I doubt it.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

Nice staff, clean room, free wifi. Far from the city center but the traffic is convenience.
We've stayed there for 4 nights, the third night when we were back like 21 or 22 o'clock, the hotel just suddenly blacked out, no electricity at all, even the lift didn't work, so we could not go downstairs to see what happened, we have to wait in our room and then took the shower in black. And no excuse or explanation the next day.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Fi0na530
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,515 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    264
    650
    351
    140
    110
See reviews for
303
562
50
93
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Braga District, Portugal
Level Contributor
3 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

Lots of dust in the bedroom. The "clean" towels had smell of coffe. Garbage underneath the bed.

The good thing was that the room was very quiet.

We didnt like the staff, very grumpy and not so nice.

I made the reservation with booking and they charge us aditional taxes.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank NCortinhas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Llandudno, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014 via mobile

I spent the weekend here when I visited Amsterdam for a concert. The hotel was in a good place with very good transport links to other parts of the city. I was able to access the tram, bus and train from here. The area is also nice with a KFC round the corner!! The staff in the hotel were happy to help and able to tell us which buses to get on etc. the rooms were very clean, although a bit hot! The breakfast was lovely! With lots to choose from and all you can eat!!

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
Thank leavesc2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riga, Latvia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

The hotel is located at a 3 minutes' walk from the bus and tram stop to the heart of the city; with very frequent connections (we never had to wait more than 5 minutes).

Moreover the Park and Ride car park Bos en Lommer is right next door! With a door in the lobby giving direct access to the carpark, so extremely easy to get your luggage in and out the hotel.

The rooms are quite spacious, compared to what you get in the centre of the city.We had a look in romm 715 which was really nice with big windows. Unfortunately it had a double bed, so we changed to 718 , a less spacious but still ample twin room.

There are sufficient units to store things and the bathroom has a nice big sink top to put all your toilet articles on.

There are three elevators, so you never have to wait for the lift too long.

Breakfast is very quite good; with fresh rolls, yoghurt, fresh fruit and vegetables, scrambled eggs , bacon,...And breakfast is from 6.30 am till 11 am!
In the lobby there's always a bowl with apples .

You only have to check out at 12 am, coming in handy when you made it a bit late that last night in Amsterdam ;)

The only minus: the dustbins are not emptied every day and the banging of the doors by the hotel guests. But that's not really the hotel's fault , is it?

We'll definitely choose this hotel again when visiting A'dam next time!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nadia16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghent,belgium
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014 via mobile

We cannot say it is a bad hotel, but from a 4 stars you expect more: no dust around, spot clean bathroom instead of hairs here and there, new towels instead of frayed ones, no stains on the carpet. Music in the corridor was ok, but maybe not early in the morning. The personnel, though, was very kind and polite.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Jacopo F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

I stayed in a quadruple room for one night (after leaving our other Apartment accommodation near the city center) in July 2013. The rooms were clean, quite modern and the beds comfy. The breakfast was okay - nothing particularly special. The hotel's biggest con is that the location is quite average - it is quite out of the main city center and there didn't seem to a lot of restaurants or nightlife around (although we were only there for a night and did not get to explore properly). However the city center is easily accessible by bus. In a nearby shopping square there were food markets with lots of fresh fruits and foods which was very nice (this probably only happens in July/summer). The hotel is also walking distance to a park (although nothing compared to Vondelpark and other beautiful parks in the city center). I would say the hotel is fine for a night or two night stay if you wanted to be out of the hussel of the city or (like us) were in transition from other accommodation to train to another destination but I would not recommend if you really wanted to experience the nightlife of Amsterdam.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Emily B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
145 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

This hotel was less expensive than other places, and there are good reasons for that. The stairs from the parking garage smelled like a urinal. The room looked dirty, with hair in the bathroom sink and some sort of smeared product on the bathroom counter. There was a large (2 foot square) concrete pillar from floor to ceiling in the room, just along one side of the bed. It stood between the bed and the chairs, blocking the way. Good thing we aren't large people or we would not have fit past that thing! We left the bathroom light on while we slept so we wouldn't run into it and get hurt if we got up during the night.
Some of the employees at the front desk were wonderful. Some of them were indifferent and rude. The neighborhood looks a bit like public housing in the US, so we didn't feel totally comfortable coming back at night. We tried for a day and a half to get on their wifi without success. Asked an employee who could not figure it out.

Some good things about this place: It's conveniently situated near a tram stop (train #14) to Amsterdam center. Parking garage is close and accessible indoors so you don't have to go out in bad weather. The shower was clean and worked well with plenty of hot water. The air conditioner worked well and quietly. It's reasonably priced for Amsterdam.

Didn't use the restaurant. We would not return to this location if we come back to Amsterdam.

Room Tip: If you get a room with a concrete pillar in it, change rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WeDreamOfTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
1.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Blue Square Hotel
1.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN PREMIER Hotel Couture
0.4 mi away
Hotel Golden Tulip Amsterdam West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
New West Inn Amsterdam
New West Inn Amsterdam
#160 of 363 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 907 reviews
0.9 mi away
Ibis Amsterdam City West
Ibis Amsterdam City West
#120 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 1,357 reviews
0.7 mi away
Amsterdam Teleport Hotel
Amsterdam Teleport Hotel
#78 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Blue Tower Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Blue Tower Hotel

Property: BEST WESTERN Blue Tower Hotel
Address: Leeuwendalersweg 21, 1055 JE Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#90 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN Blue Tower Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 186
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The impressive four-star BEST WESTERN Blue Tower Hotel is located next to an outdoor market; the Bos en Lommerplein. This dynamic area, characterized by its small neighbourhood shops and cozy restaurants, is located on the edge of the city center. Due to the excellent public transport system it is easy to reach the heart of the city. Here you can enjoy all the famous sights and attractions Amsterdam has to offer, like the Canal District, our world-renowned museums and our exciting nightlife. BEST WESTERN Blue Tower Hotel offers the perfect starting point to an unforgettable visit to Amsterdam! Eleven stories high and covered from top to bottom in blue glass, BEST WESTERN Blue Tower Hotel is an imposing presence in Amsterdam. The towering hotel has 188 rooms and houses the trendy Chinese-French Restaurant Saffron. BEST WESTERN Blue Tower Hotel is a four-star hotel. This qualification is key to all facets of the hotel, ranging from the tastefully designed, modern interior of the rooms and the varied catering services, to additional facilities like a bike rental service. Our friendly staff will be at your service 24 hours a day to ensure your stay is as satisfying as possible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotwire, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your BEST WESTERN Blue Tower Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Blue Hotel
Best Western Amsterdam
Blue Tower Hotel Amsterdam
Amsterdam Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing