We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Okay if there's nowhere better.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Blue Tower Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Blue Tower Hotel
Ranked #185 of 363 Hotels in Amsterdam
Texas
Level Contributor
145 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Okay if there's nowhere better.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

This hotel was less expensive than other places, and there are good reasons for that. The stairs from the parking garage smelled like a urinal. The room looked dirty, with hair in the bathroom sink and some sort of smeared product on the bathroom counter. There was a large (2 foot square) concrete pillar from floor to ceiling in the room, just along one side of the bed. It stood between the bed and the chairs, blocking the way. Good thing we aren't large people or we would not have fit past that thing! We left the bathroom light on while we slept so we wouldn't run into it and get hurt if we got up during the night.
Some of the employees at the front desk were wonderful. Some of them were indifferent and rude. The neighborhood looks a bit like public housing in the US, so we didn't feel totally comfortable coming back at night. We tried for a day and a half to get on their wifi without success. Asked an employee who could not figure it out.

Some good things about this place: It's conveniently situated near a tram stop (train #14) to Amsterdam center. Parking garage is close and accessible indoors so you don't have to go out in bad weather. The shower was clean and worked well with plenty of hot water. The air conditioner worked well and quietly. It's reasonably priced for Amsterdam.

Didn't use the restaurant. We would not return to this location if we come back to Amsterdam.

Room Tip: If you get a room with a concrete pillar in it, change rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WeDreamOfTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,517 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    265
    650
    352
    140
    110
See reviews for
303
563
50
94
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Paris
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014 via mobile

Taxi to hotel from airport was 34 euro, same price as shuttle bus for two, don't have to wait about for the taxi either so I'd suggest better option, Stayed 9th floor, excellent views, room along with corridor to room was a little smelly, stale smoke kind of smell, windows in room don't open but you are up rather high and the air con was very good, little far out but very regular bus and tram service takes 10 or so minutes to centre city.
The area leading up to the hotel does feel a little menacing however, not the best of areas perhaps .
Other than that, excellent service, excellently clean, superb shower and big comfy bed. Super quiet hotel, ask for a high up room

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Modbus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014 via mobile

Overall it was an average stay. However, we did not sleep all night because the door from the elevator room kept slamming all night. It was impossiblw to fall asleep with doors slamming every 5 minutes. Make sure to stay at a room far away from the elevator.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NMuell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

I booked the hotel through a cheap website and was really (happily) Surprised when I arrived.

It's based quite a distance from the centre of Amsterdam but a quick bus ride takes you right into the heart of the centre.
The area is a little sketchy and the outside of the hotel makes you think you'll be staying in an office block.
Once inside however the rooms are beautiful. The bathrooms were gorgeous. All amentities you could need for a short stay.
Reception staff were helpful, but didn't really need to ask them much.
Air con worked, room was safe and clean. Fresh towels and toiletries every day.
Didn't use the restaurant.
Had a really good experience here. Although the area is a little eerie. As it's based in a residential area it's extremely quiet

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jess S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawton, OK
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

The room was clean and looked good. Issues: The room was hot and had great difficulty getting to sleep as a result. I can't say that the "air conditioning" ever came on. When I brought it to desk clerk's attention the response was they are only allowed to go to 18 c. Not sure that it was ever there. Windows only open at top so couldn't get a breeze going either. Also could get the tv power on, but no channel would come up. The surrounding block was pretty grubby, but that seems to be typical of Amsterdam. All in all, I would book again but bring a fan. Was able to get the tram down to the central district - about 12 stops to the Dam area.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank militarycontractor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

The rooms smell. No air con working. No fridge. Dirty carpets. No bar at night. Then good thing about it is the wifi and it's free. There is public transport that you can use to get to the city center and takes around 20 mins to get there.

Room Tip: Make sure that the air con works when you first get to the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Reza k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emirate of Ras Al Khaimah, United Arab Emirates
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

Stayed in Amsterdam for two days, The hotel in in a turkish neighbourhood. Being a muslim, its excellent as halal food is never a problem. Alot of shopping markets in the area as well. Bus stop right next to the hotel can take you right into the city centre in 12 minutes time. Hotel services were excellent, fast check in, excellent breakfast for 10 Euro, free wifi, makes this hotel excellent value for money

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Fahad F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
1.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Blue Square Hotel
1.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN PREMIER Hotel Couture
0.4 mi away
Hotel Golden Tulip Amsterdam West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
New West Inn Amsterdam
New West Inn Amsterdam
#159 of 363 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 908 reviews
0.9 mi away
Ibis Amsterdam City West
Ibis Amsterdam City West
#119 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 1,356 reviews
0.7 mi away
Amsterdam Teleport Hotel
Amsterdam Teleport Hotel
#79 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Blue Tower Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Blue Tower Hotel

Property: BEST WESTERN Blue Tower Hotel
Address: Leeuwendalersweg 21, 1055 JE Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#91 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN Blue Tower Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 186
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The impressive four-star BEST WESTERN Blue Tower Hotel is located next to an outdoor market; the Bos en Lommerplein. This dynamic area, characterized by its small neighbourhood shops and cozy restaurants, is located on the edge of the city center. Due to the excellent public transport system it is easy to reach the heart of the city. Here you can enjoy all the famous sights and attractions Amsterdam has to offer, like the Canal District, our world-renowned museums and our exciting nightlife. BEST WESTERN Blue Tower Hotel offers the perfect starting point to an unforgettable visit to Amsterdam! Eleven stories high and covered from top to bottom in blue glass, BEST WESTERN Blue Tower Hotel is an imposing presence in Amsterdam. The towering hotel has 188 rooms and houses the trendy Chinese-French Restaurant Saffron. BEST WESTERN Blue Tower Hotel is a four-star hotel. This qualification is key to all facets of the hotel, ranging from the tastefully designed, modern interior of the rooms and the varied catering services, to additional facilities like a bike rental service. Our friendly staff will be at your service 24 hours a day to ensure your stay is as satisfying as possible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your BEST WESTERN Blue Tower Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Blue Hotel
Best Western Amsterdam
Blue Tower Hotel Amsterdam
Amsterdam Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing