We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Amsterdam” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Blue Tower Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Blue Tower Hotel
Ranked #182 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Write a Review

1,503 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    262
    646
    349
    138
    108
See reviews for
302
559
50
91
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

We stayed at this hotel for 2 nights while visiting Amsterdam.This hotel is not in the city center and it takes around 20-25 mins by tram to reach the Dam Square ( the city center of Amsterdam). We stayed at this hotel because during our travel dates, most of the hotels in Dam Square were either fully booked or super expensive. However. we did not have any complains during our stay at this hotel. The hotel is located in a residential neighbourhood, next to a shopping mall. We found the location to be safe, even at night. The tram/ bus stop is just a minute walk from the hotel. There are also a few restaurants located in the shopping mall next to the hotel. As we had booked from the hotel website, our booking included complimentary breakfast. The breakfast spread had a lot of variety and we enjoyed the food. We also found our room wonderful. We had booked a triple room and the one allocated to us was on the 10th floor. The hotel building is one of the tallest in the neighbourhood, so we enjoyed a superb view of Amsterdam from our room. The highlight was the view from our bathroom, which had a huge window all along one side. We wouldn't mind staying at this hotel the next time we visit Amsterdam.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank moni8623
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

After visiting Amsterdam for 2 nights, I can say that I was very impressed with the hotel for the price. We payed less than £25p/n (per person), our beds were comfortable, the views were great (we were on floor 8), we had BBC1+2 on the TV, the bathroom was lovely, and the staff were very friendly and helpful.
It took a quick 10/15mins to get into the centre on the tram, and the tram stops a just on the other side of the square.
The area feels safe and is well lit, as two women walking back at night we never felt in danger.
We didn't eat at the hotel as we bought breakfast items from the supermarkets which are very close.

I will return to this hotel when I am next in Amsterdam.

Room Tip: Our room on the 8th floor had lovely views across the square and towards the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ruth1993
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

A distance from the square, yet the tram is literally right down the street. The hotel is set in a neighborhood of people that were really nice. It is near a grocery store and restaurants. The staff was very accommodating from the time we got there until we left the hotel. Distance and all, I'd stay here again. The room was huge by the way and very very clean!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ms G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013 via mobile

Great hotel very big I was given a 4 person room for 2 of us. Breakfast was average selection of cold and hot food. Good tram and bus links to dam square and Amsterdam Central. Easy to connect to Schipol airport. Helpful staff. Would come again.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank nnandoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vila Velha, ES
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2013 via mobile

Not close to the center, but not an issue as area transport is flawless. Staff is excellent, helpful and knowledgeable and very nice. They clearly know the meaning of customer service.

One day my wife accidentally flipped the card from make up room to do not disturb. When we got back late that day, staff had left fresh towels and toiletries in a bag on the door. That was much appreciated.

If we ever return to Amsterdam and we much very much hope to, we intend to stay here again.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Randinho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Polmont, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

We booked in here for 1 night due to an error with our flights. The hotel was clean and room was large with a nice bathroom.
The hotel itself is a bit out of Amsterdam centre, so would not really recommend if you want to be in the centre. It is easily accessible though by the metro or tram system.
The hotel staff were friendly during check in and check out.
We got it for a good price for the one night too!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Emma T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
1.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Blue Square Hotel
1.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN PREMIER Hotel Couture
0.4 mi away
Hotel Golden Tulip Amsterdam West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
New West Inn Amsterdam
New West Inn Amsterdam
#160 of 364 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 901 reviews
0.9 mi away
Ibis Amsterdam City West
Ibis Amsterdam City West
#118 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 1,350 reviews
4.2 mi away
Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City
Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City
#117 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 1,666 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Blue Tower Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Blue Tower Hotel

Property: BEST WESTERN Blue Tower Hotel
Address: Leeuwendalersweg 21, 1055 JE Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#90 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN Blue Tower Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 186
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The impressive four-star BEST WESTERN Blue Tower Hotel is located next to an outdoor market; the Bos en Lommerplein. This dynamic area, characterized by its small neighbourhood shops and cozy restaurants, is located on the edge of the city center. Due to the excellent public transport system it is easy to reach the heart of the city. Here you can enjoy all the famous sights and attractions Amsterdam has to offer, like the Canal District, our world-renowned museums and our exciting nightlife. BEST WESTERN Blue Tower Hotel offers the perfect starting point to an unforgettable visit to Amsterdam! Eleven stories high and covered from top to bottom in blue glass, BEST WESTERN Blue Tower Hotel is an imposing presence in Amsterdam. The towering hotel has 188 rooms and houses the trendy Chinese-French Restaurant Saffron. BEST WESTERN Blue Tower Hotel is a four-star hotel. This qualification is key to all facets of the hotel, ranging from the tastefully designed, modern interior of the rooms and the varied catering services, to additional facilities like a bike rental service. Our friendly staff will be at your service 24 hours a day to ensure your stay is as satisfying as possible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your BEST WESTERN Blue Tower Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Blue Hotel
Best Western Amsterdam
Blue Tower Hotel Amsterdam
Amsterdam Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing