We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely room, almost perfect....except..” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Blue Tower Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Blue Tower Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Leeuwendalersweg 21, 1055JE Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #188 of 363 Hotels in Amsterdam
Write a Review

1,399 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    240
    601
    330
    131
    97
See reviews for
272
521
48
89
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

excellent hotel, great room large and spacey, breakfast varied choice great food. friendly helpful staff. will be staying there again next year (far better than ramada apollo). location was a 10 minute ride away from dam square. love the location and hotel, being disabled was not a problem and queries were dealt with quickly. supermarket under the hotel sells everything and that was great too.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bristol1717
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haan, Germany
Level Contributor
218 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

The Hotel is not far away from the center of Amsterdam (15 minutes by tram) and the rooms were quite comfortable but a Little small. The recption and Restaurant staff was very friendly and helped us at any time.
Very positive was the wide choice at the breakfast buffet and the cleanliness. the rooms were also very quiet. The Restaurant and bar is very nice and has a good choice.
Negative is, that there is no TV but Pay TV and no Minibar is in the room.Only vending machines next to the reception.

Room Tip: Take a room upstairs for a nice view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DerHenni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

Spent three nights here in mid Sept.
The hotel is app .a 20 minute bus ride from Amsterdam Centraal station .
Situated in a nice residential area just a few minutes from the local bus stop,its well served by public transport links and has a number of cafes and bars in the vicinity.
Althiugh out of town its well worth weighing up the hotel price plus your transport costs against a city centre hotel.
The hotel staff are friendly and after a quick check in we took our room on the 6th floor.Nicely appointed room with good furnishings,bath /shower combo ,nice bathroom with complimentary toileteries and ample wardrobe space .Room had a/c and free wifi with a laptop size safe and tea and coffee making facilities.Cleaning and linen changes were satisfactory.
There is a restaurant on the first floor which serves breakfast ,and a bar which opens at 5.30 .
Didnt have the breakfast as thought it was too expensive so cant comment on the quality.
Staff were friendly and helped us stow our luggage on our final day while we did some last minute touring.We were provided with maps and transport links info on check in which was a great help .
A previous reviewer of this hotel commented on the distance between the reception desk and the lifts .,and from a security point of view this could lead to problems .Its not possible for reception staff to recognise all guests at the best of times ,nor should they be expected to do .
A system of checking room passes might be considered.
Really enjoyed our stay at this hotel and would recommend it .
Certainly up to the usual Best Western high standard.
Train connection from Schipol airport to Amsterdam Centraal Station.Every 20 mins ,fare 3.90 Euro.Buy tickets in the terminal from ticket machines, cash or card.
Bus no. 21 leaves from Area F in front of Amsterdam Centraal Station ,direction Kruezveld.Fare is 2.70 Euro but there are a number of fare options available ,day card ,or longer passes .Tickets can be bought from the driver .The bus stop for the hotel is Bos en Lommerplein .Check the illuminated display on the bus.
Going into town the 21 will take you back to Am Cent while tram no.14 will take you to Dam Square .A few tram stops down the line will take you to the Anne Frank Museum ,bus stop Westermarkt.,also on the No 14 .Enjoy Amsterdam ,a fabulous city.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank elvis38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruschberg, Germany
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

We enjoyed staying here. We are a family of 3 and were on the 10th floor. The view was great. The hotel was very clean. We were in a room with 3 twin beds. The bed was a little too firm for my taste but my husband and teenage daughter was fine. We loved that the bathroom was all windows. We didn't eat at the restaurant so I can't give a review of that. The only down thing was that they are doing renovations and only 1 elevator was working at the time of our visit. The tram stop is just right around the corner from the hotel. You can buy tickets right on the tram at the GVB window. We had a wonderful time in Amsterdam.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kbhoney31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longwood, Meath, Ireland
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

Nice & clean hotel, very helpful and friendly staff, rooms are lovely u have everything u need. A bit of a journey into the centre u couldn't walk in. But the tram & bus service is excellent with the stop just 2 mins round the corner.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ailish W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013 via mobile

Stayed in the blue tower with five friends for two nights. From Schiphol airport it's a 10 min train, then a 10 min metro and then a 10 min walk. Or a 35-40 euro taxi. In terms of getting into town from the hotel, it's in quite a suburban area. Jump on a 15 minute tram to get to Dam Square. Or get a 20 euro taxi.

Hotel itself is quite tired but the rooms were clean, not too cramped and the beds comfy. Nice bathroom, probably recently refurbished. Free wifi in the rooms is a bonus. Only one of the three elevators was working and it was quite busy which meant we had to use the ridiculously steep stairs all weekend! Didn't sample any of the food on offer.

All in all, in theory I'd probably go back here - it's perhaps on a par with your average travelodge in the uk. But in reality, next time I'll book somewhere more central.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Tom_and_Joni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
1.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Blue Square Hotel
1.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN PREMIER Hotel Couture
0.4 mi away
Hotel Golden Tulip Amsterdam West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
New West Inn Amsterdam
New West Inn Amsterdam
#160 of 363 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 859 reviews
0.9 mi away
Ibis Amsterdam City West
Ibis Amsterdam City West
#111 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 1,287 reviews
4.2 mi away
Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City
Mercure Hotel Amsterdam City
#109 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 1,590 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Blue Tower Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Blue Tower Hotel

Property: BEST WESTERN Blue Tower Hotel
Address: Leeuwendalersweg 21, 1055JE Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#89 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN Blue Tower Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 186
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We wish you a warm welcome at the BEST WESTERN Blue Tower Hotel. The impressive four-star BEST WESTERN Blue Tower Hotel is located next to one of the most vibrant outside markets in Amsterdam, the Bos en Lommerplein. This dynamic area, characterized by its small neighborhood shops and cozy restaurants, is located on the edge of the city center. Due to the excellent public transport system it is easy to reach the heart of the city. Here you can enjoy all the famous sights and attractions Amsterdam has to offer, like the Canal District, our world-renowned museums and our exciting nightlife. The BEST WESTERN Blue Tower Hotel offers the perfect starting point to an unforgettable visit to Amsterdam! The BEST WESTERN Blue Tower Hotel was established in 2007 in the former District office and Customs office in the district Bos en Lommer, one of the greenest districts in the city of Amsterdam. Eleven stories high and covered from top to bottom in blue glass, the BEST WESTERN Blue Tower Hotel is an imposing presence in Amsterdam. The towering hotel has 188 rooms and the trendy Chinese-French Restaurant Saffron. The BEST WESTERN Blue Tower Hotel is a four-star hotel. This qualification is key to all facets of the hotel, ranging from the tastefully designed, modern interior of the rooms and the varied catering services, to additional facilities like a bike rental service. Our friendly staff will be at your service 24 hours a day to ensure your stay is as satisfying as possible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your BEST WESTERN Blue Tower Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Blue Hotel
Best Western Amsterdam
Blue Tower Hotel Amsterdam
Amsterdam Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing