We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's ok but next time i'll choose another place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Blue Tower Hotel
Ranked #181 of 367 Hotels in Amsterdam
Tilburg, Noord-Brabant, Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“It's ok but next time i'll choose another place”
Reviewed December 13, 2012

If to think positive, it's ok. The location is ok, it's not the center, but the bus/trams are very close. A taxi costs smth from 13 to 25 euro ( depending on number of people and the honesty of the deiver ) :) there is a market right around the corner and the room are ok.
If to be critical: it's not 4 stars as you expect it to be in Europe. Yes, for China it is a good 4-stars hotel. (as far as i understood, it has been built by a Chinese company). The breakfast is average and the choise is very simple and limited. The rooms are rather noisy ( i can hear some singing, someone's tv on and absolutely everything what's happening in the corridor.
No extra's in the hotel (may be you don't need any if you are in Amsterdam) but this is what our clients who also stayed here were missing. (like billiards or massage or whatever else it might be).
The reception is not very interested indeed, though not unfriendly.
My room was also not cleaned very well. Also it's a bit Smelly. And the airco in the room is not very efficient.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Natasha I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,813 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    320
    775
    416
    173
    129
See reviews for
350
675
63
114
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (176)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2012

I stay at this hotel and it was a very nice experience. It's a luxury hotel, the rooms are very comfortable. The rooms furniture, were gourgeous. It's a little far from the center of Amsterdam, but there is a tram close to the hotel. It has a mini-mall around the corner with two supermarkets that you can get things that you need it. Places to eat, and an internet or phone cabind were you can use it for few cents... I really like this hotel...

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sonia0616
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 5, 2012

This hotel is ok for the price however I don't think it is 4 stars - everything is quite average. The reception staff was a bit unfriendly and when we arrived we were not given information about anything. It took us 3 days to work out how to switch the TV on, the heating on one of the rooms was not working (and they didn't know about it), there's no fridge in the room and it is not clear anywhere on the website that breakfast in not included in the price. The breakfast for 10 euros is worth it however if you don't pay the night before, you need to pay 14 instead which is ridiculous. Once I forgot to pay and rang the reception to ask whether I could pay 10 on the next day and they said no - I had to get dressed and go all the way down to pay which is also ridiculous. There were some dodgy guests that had arguments at 3am on the corridors and I had to ring the reception otherwise no one would have known what was going on. Beds were way too soft and room was dusty. They book taxis for the airport however the taxi driver told me the hotel charges 5 euros more than you would have paid if you had booked it yourself. So I think they're a bit stingy and provide a very basic guest service to say the least.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aline M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karachi, Pakistan
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2012

Best western blue tower hotel at Bos en Lomer Amsterdam is an excellent choice in such expensive city. It was best value for money. The hotel is surely a four star. It is a clean hotel. We booked two rooms four bed and double bed for a family of seven. Both the rooms were spacious with clean and modern bath. The breakfast was included in deal and was of good quality and great ambiance.
The only negative aspect is that the hotel is away from the city husstle bustle but in city centre any hotel of same standard will cost 4 times. Its better to stay in this hotel for four days than stay one day in city centre. It costs us Euro 42/head/day which was less than the costs of cheap filthy hotels or hostels of Amsterdam. The hotel is 20 minutes away from city centre by tram or bus. Tram no 14 runs from hotel to Dam sruare and bus 21 runs between Central station and hotel. A huge super market, KFC, call centre and other food outlets are adjacent to hotel.
It was excellent choice.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ASIF R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 2, 2012

The hotel was an excellent choice great value for money clean nice rooms we were on 10th floor so had an excellent view x my niece who suffers badly with her back had the best sleep in years and is going to buy a memory foam mattress x bathroom very clean and nice selection of toiletries x only had the breakfast but that was superb with a lot of choice x really nice restaurant x good service x excellent reception area x Hotel not far from airport we took a train 2 stops then short bus ride v near to hotel x if you new to Amsterdam beware of rogue bus drivers overcharging x we learnt our lesson don't buy an hourly ticket we ended up getting one for 48 hours which was needed as the hotel is 20 + mins away from city centre but frequent bus and team services xx we highly recommend this hotel and intend to visit again in the summer. Also we recommend using the link to book the hop on hop off bus tour our driver was excellent and without this we wouldn't have got to see as much of Amsterdam as its a crazy city x if you from UK don't forget they drive on wrong side of road ha ha and the thousands of cyclists don't care if you are crossing the road x a great little break x

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Frankie O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed November 29, 2012

Due to transport strike in Belgium we had to travel to Schipol a day early, we booked this hotel through last minute.com. On arrival at hotel 2230hrs, male behind desk said we had no booking and no rooms available, however my son had email confirmation on his phone, only when he saw this did he agree yes we did have a room booked. Room was fine on 8th floor, breakfast was good plenty choice, watching carpark accross from hotel was interesting with all comings and goings!!!
Young girl on reception in morning was fantastic, very helpful and pleasant, her colleague could learn a lot from her.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochdale, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2012

Just come back from staying at the Blue tower and would like to say what a lovely hotel this is. We had room 605 and it was a nice size (we were told a lot of hotels in Amsterdam had very small rooms), bathroom was lovely and spacious - we had a shower in our room but our friends who stayed on the floor below had a bath in theirs so im assuming you can request either. We had breaskfast inc in the price and the restaurant is situated on the 1st floor. It is a nice sellection of food as well. no complaints there.
When travelling you can use the bus or tram service which is only round the corner. If you use the bus (the bus stand has a H on it and i didnt see anything for the tram stop) you can get either an hour ticket which is €2.70 or a 24 hour pass which is €7.60 (i think). A taxi into the centre of Amseterdam will cost you around €17 so if you can use public transport it would be cheaper. In case you run out of money there is a cash point on the way to the bus / tram stop as well. If you need any info on the public transport ask at recption and im sure there are leaflets dotted around reception as well with this info on.
The olny problem we had with this was when returning from Amsterdam centre we wernt sure if our bus was still running late at night and asked a bus driver for info. He told us that the service we needed had stopped for the evening and we needed to get a ferry, now that was a lie, the service was running and we ended up getting a taxi back to the hotel and saw the buses and trams running as normal at night to our destination. Also if you are going back to the airport from central station you and you need to buy a ticket, you can go to the ticket office and get your tickets from there, but be warned they are slightly miserable. We tried a ticket machine but it kept telling us that we needed a special card which would cost us €7. Maybe we did it wrong? Other than these little things, we all thoroughly enjoyed our break and would definately return to the Blue Tower Hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Joy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
1.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Hotel Blue Square
1.9 mi away
Best Western Premier Hotel Couture
0.4 mi away
No photo provided
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
No photo provided
Volkshotel
#40 of 367 in Amsterdam
1,298 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ramada Apollo Amsterdam Centre
0.9 mi away
MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Blue Tower Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Blue Tower Hotel

Property: Best Western Blue Tower Hotel
Address: Leeuwendalersweg 21, 1055 JE Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#94 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Blue Tower Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 186
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The impressive four-star BEST WESTERN Blue Tower Hotel is located next to an outdoor market; the Bos en Lommerplein. This dynamic area, characterized by its small neighbourhood shops and cozy restaurants, is located on the edge of the city center. Due to the excellent public transport system it is easy to reach the heart of the city. Here you can enjoy all the famous sights and attractions Amsterdam has to offer, like the Canal District, our world-renowned museums and our exciting nightlife. BEST WESTERN Blue Tower Hotel offers the perfect starting point to an unforgettable visit to Amsterdam! Eleven stories high and covered from top to bottom in blue glass, BEST WESTERN Blue Tower Hotel is an imposing presence in Amsterdam. The towering hotel has 188 rooms and houses the trendy Chinese-French Restaurant Saffron. BEST WESTERN Blue Tower Hotel is a four-star hotel. This qualification is key to all facets of the hotel, ranging from the tastefully designed, modern interior of the rooms and the varied catering services, to additional facilities like a bike rental service. Our friendly staff will be at your service 24 hours a day to ensure your stay is as satisfying as possible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Best Western Blue Tower Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Blue Hotel
Best Western Amsterdam
Blue Tower Hotel Amsterdam
Amsterdam Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing