We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN Blue Tower Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Blue Tower Hotel
Ranked #184 of 361 Hotels in Amsterdam
germany
Level Contributor
46 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2011

Location:
In a multicultural suburb of Amsterdam, where many students live. There are several tram and bus connections to the center of Amsterdam. I'd recommend you buy an "OV-Chipkaart" at the Centraal Station. There are one's available for 1, 2, 3, 4, etc. days. They're really worth it and make your stay comfortable. From Central Station take bus 22 to the hotel (stop: Bos en Lommerplein). To The city center you can take Tram 12.
The Station Sloterdijk is right near the hotel - take Bus 15 there. From the train station you can visit wonderful Dutch cities like Haarlem, Leiden, Den Haag, Utrecht, Gouda.

The Hotel
The Hotel is a 4 star hotel. The rooms are clean, comfortable. The bathrooms are modern. Breakfast is plenty. The lobby is also modern and clean.
The Hotel is across the highway, but you don't really notice it. Of course the view from the room isn't that beautiful, but it didn't disturb us during our stay, as we anyways spent all day travelling around.
Ask the reception for a room in a floor that you prefer (we preferred a medium high floor, so we got a room on the 4th floor).
Behind the hotel is the "Bos en Lommerplein" with a market in the morning and some clothes shops. Around the corner you will find two supermarkets (one being the famous "Albert Hijn").

All in all, the stay at this hotel was excellent.

*If you visit Amsterdam, don't miss the "Albert Cuyp Market" in the Oud-Zuid district. It's a trendy area and on the market you will be overwhelmed buy all the things to buy and see!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank travellers09Germany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,724 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    305
    735
    393
    168
    123
See reviews for
331
647
62
104
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (171)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
leeds
Level Contributor
73 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2011

Pre arrival used their facebook site with some questions prompt and good replies, Requested a room with a view, was upgraded.
Pleasant staff very very helpfull.
Really easy to get to the city centre on public transport
Great breakfast
Highly recommned this hotel for a Amsterdam city break.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Richieleeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2011

Clean and comfortable hotel,BUT thers is always a but.The hotel is to far away from the centre.Always avin to use trams to go into town,which was money we could av done without spending everyday.But i must say the trams were excellent.The hotel restaraunt menu was a limited choice,the hotel bar was a rip off.15 euros for two vodka and cokes.Not exactly city centre is it?.Then you can go in winstons bar in town and get the same two drinks for 6 euros.I wonder why the bar was always empty.Would i stay again not a chance.

Room Tip: dont go
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chrisdooley14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Amsterdam hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2011

When arriving at the airport do take the train into Central Station instead of Sloterdijk train station, this was way too confusing. We went to Sloterdijk train station as others on this forum suggested and tried to take a bus to the hotel. This was not easy and we were told by five different bus drivers different busses to take and routes. Took us 30 minutes to finally get the correct bus. It would have been SO much easier to take the train from the airport straight to Central Station, exit the station go across the street and purchase your day passes for the trams/busses. There was no such ticket booth available at the Sloterdijk station and we wasted money having to buy a day pass each day of our stay instead of purchasing one 48-hour pass like we could've at the Central Station.

When getting off the bus or tram the hotel is just across the street, across a small square. Very easy to get too. We came back to the hotel on Saturday night about 10:30p.m. and it was a safe area. Others in our group came in very late and had no issues either.

The room was very nice with a double bed and two twin beds. It was a large room with nice furniture, looked fairly new. The bathroom was nice and big with some toiletries and hair dryer provided. There was a tea/coffee service in the room. We had no issues with the room or it's cleanliness at all. The only issue was this rooms location which was next to the elevator lobby. My suggestion to the hotel would be to make the doors coming out of the elevator lobby not slam. All night/morning long I could hear that door slamming as people went to and from the elevator.

Took about 20 minutes to reach Dam Square from the hotel. We did not eat breakfast at the hotel so I can not comment on that. We didn't even turn on the tv so I can't comment on that either.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank HuskerKusker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hove
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2011

I love the view of the room. it's really good to live in Amsterdam.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with OctopusTravel

Helpful?
Thank Jimmy_Lende
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2011

Hotel is in a dive of an area.
Unsafe area watch your back after dark.
Room was robbed the first night I was in the hotel while in bed, robber entered and picked up my unpacked bag. The robber then came back to the room 2 hours later around Midnight.
Hotel was going to return my hotel room cost though never followed though. Hotel states not responsible. The door in the room has an issue with the lock, could have been an inside job as the video which is crap shown the robber go straight to elevator straight to my floor turn and go straight to my rooms and then enter and leave the room, inside to me? The streets are loud on weekends with dodgy charters as is the whole area.

Simply don't take the risk, I would never have my wife or child in this hotel or in this area after dark. The local police even said to me the place is a [-]. A woman a few days earlier asked a few people for directions they turn and said how about you just give us your bag.

Still waiting to the hotel to back to me about insurance.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank getaround2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2011

Definetly not a 4 star hotel,when we arrived in our room we noticed coffee and tea makin facilitys but no kettle!,so rang reception and was told we had to come down and get it,then discovered no iron or ironin board in the room,which is pretty standerd in even a 3star,so went back down to reception and had to pay 10 euros deposit to have one,next night we thought we would eat in our room before goin out,so rang reception to ask for a room service menu and was told you have to go down to the resturant snd order the food yourselfs and still have to pay 5.50euros for them to bring it up!,defeats the point of room service!,the actual hotel is about 15 mins out of the city centre and taxis back a night got quite expensive i wouldnt feel safe walkin about near the hotel at night its surrounded by a huge housing estate,even the hotel locks its doors after 11!!

  • Stayed March 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank leejodielucy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
1.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Blue Square Hotel
1.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN PREMIER Hotel Couture
0.4 mi away
Hotel Golden Tulip Amsterdam West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam City West
2.4 mi away
New West Inn Amsterdam
New West Inn Amsterdam
#162 of 361 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 983 reviews
0.7 mi away
Amsterdam Teleport Hotel
Amsterdam Teleport Hotel
#64 of 361 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Blue Tower Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Blue Tower Hotel

Property: BEST WESTERN Blue Tower Hotel
Address: Leeuwendalersweg 21, 1055 JE Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#93 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN Blue Tower Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 186
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The impressive four-star BEST WESTERN Blue Tower Hotel is located next to an outdoor market; the Bos en Lommerplein. This dynamic area, characterized by its small neighbourhood shops and cozy restaurants, is located on the edge of the city center. Due to the excellent public transport system it is easy to reach the heart of the city. Here you can enjoy all the famous sights and attractions Amsterdam has to offer, like the Canal District, our world-renowned museums and our exciting nightlife. BEST WESTERN Blue Tower Hotel offers the perfect starting point to an unforgettable visit to Amsterdam! Eleven stories high and covered from top to bottom in blue glass, BEST WESTERN Blue Tower Hotel is an imposing presence in Amsterdam. The towering hotel has 188 rooms and houses the trendy Chinese-French Restaurant Saffron. BEST WESTERN Blue Tower Hotel is a four-star hotel. This qualification is key to all facets of the hotel, ranging from the tastefully designed, modern interior of the rooms and the varied catering services, to additional facilities like a bike rental service. Our friendly staff will be at your service 24 hours a day to ensure your stay is as satisfying as possible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia and Despegar.com so you can book your BEST WESTERN Blue Tower Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Blue Hotel
Best Western Amsterdam
Blue Tower Hotel Amsterdam
Amsterdam Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing