We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“A Mixed Bag” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Cafe Corner House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Cafe Corner House
Ranked #103 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A Mixed Bag”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

Pros:

The location was excelent (within 1 min walk of Dam Square), the beds soft and the bathroom clean with a great shower. The Corner House cafe that was attached to the rooms was a great place for a drink and something to eat.

Cons:

It was advertised as having WiFi but we found this could only be accessed in the cafe or just as you walk in the main front door of the building. The stairs up to our room were very steep and narrow and the hand rail started too low down. Our group of 4 girls (20-30yo) found them quick tricky with suitcases. We also found we had to use quite a bit of force to open the front door.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharon R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

358 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    102
    159
    52
    19
    26
See reviews for
35
92
58
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
90 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014 via mobile

My parents and I had dinner here once this week during a 5 day visit to Amsterdam. Food was OK but the food was expensive, the service was terribly slow and the restaurant was extremely noisy. Don't recommend at all.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank superduperScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
82 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

great location! breakfast included. clean rooms, nice bathroom. newly renovated. nice staff. steep stairs. cheep. 4 single beds in our room which was awesome for our group. great choice of somewhere to stay. large windows to open. noisy but it is a big city

Room Tip: lots of stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Aliabubwa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sale
Level Contributor
178 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

I have just come back from a 3 night stay and whilst my stay didn't get off to the best of starts it did get a lot better.

Firstly, the location is great; being just a 2 minute walk to Dam Square and 10-12 minutes to Centraal Station. The reception is in the bar area and, when I got there, at around 9.30 am, I was told that my room would not be ready until 2.00 pm but there was somewhere to store my bag, so this was no problem.

When I did get to my room (number 10, on the 4th floor, watch those stairs) it was a little on the small side and there was no where to store any clothes, not even a bed side cabinet. It did have it's own bathroom, which was a bonus but because I was in the roof, the slope of the room did make everything a bit cramped. There was a TV but it didn't work, or so I thought. I did ask for it to be fixed and twice I was told it had been but when I tried to turn the TV on, with the remote control, nothing happened. Eventually, one of the members of staff came up and showed me how to work the TV and what they didn't tell me is that you have to switch the bedroom light on, to make the TV work! Slightly strange but it got sorted.

The breakfast was OK, some very lightly done toast, jam, hard boiled egg, ham and cheese and a cup of tea or coffee.

The staff were very helpful and, during the day, the bar seemed to be a very popular place. I did try the English breakfast, when I got there, and it was good. Price of drinks was not to expensive either.

Overall, a good place to stay and I would certainly suggest checking it out, if you are planning a trip to Amsterdam.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SaleDamc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014 via mobile

2 mins away from the main town and 10 mins away from train station. The room was very clean and tidy, tye beds was comftable and good selection of tv channels. The room had nice big windows that completely opened out. Brand new bathroom/ wet room. I would definitely stop here again.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Joshua H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Quivox, Ayrshire, Scotland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

Good points: Great location in the centre of Amsterdam. Booked well in advance and got a good price. Private shower/toilet. Breakfast was good - Dutch breakfast: Ham, cheese, toast, boiled egg, jam, honey, cheese spread, OJ & coffee.

Bad points: My bedroom was 6' square. No wardrobe / drawers / coat hanger so had to live out of a suitcase for 5 nights. No mirror either.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Stephen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caracas, Venezuela
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

GOOD: Yes, the entrance is a bar/restaurant. Easy to find, excellent location. Very comfortable hotel room for four people, exactly what is shown in pictures. Very comfortable and clean. The room was cleaned and bathroom amenities were provided everyday. Breakfast was included which was a great surprise, although it was always the same (boiled egg, cheese, toast, butter, jam, coffee or tea, orange juice). The staff was friendly some more than others. Wifi worked in the hotel room. There's an intercom in the room where you can contact and be contacted by reception, but no phone in the room for outside calls. However, that wasn't a problem since they were kind enough to lend you the phone at the reception to make local calls.
BAD: Too many steep stairs, very dangerous specially with luggage. Dingy rug in the hotel room. Same breakfast everyday. A table in the room would be a great plus!!!

Room Tip: Nice view to the front of the hotel, no A/C, not so noisy the higher you go.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nucita80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
BEST WESTERN Dam Square Inn
BEST WESTERN Dam Square Inn
#123 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 671 reviews
Centrum
Die Port van Cleve
Die Port van Cleve
#95 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 1,545 reviews
Centrum
Hotel The Exchange
Hotel The Exchange
#104 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 990 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw
Centrum
Swissotel Amsterdam
Swissotel Amsterdam
#48 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 2,270 reviews
Centrum
Hotel Citadel
Hotel Citadel
#126 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 705 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cafe Corner House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cafe Corner House

Property: Hotel Cafe Corner House
Address: Nieuwezijds Voorburgwal 119-121, 1012 RH Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #103 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Cafe Corner House 1*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Cafe Corner House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Cafe Corner

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing