We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food OK but terrible service and expensive”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Cafe Corner House
Ranked #155 of 373 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 28, 2014

My parents and I had dinner here once this week during a 5 day visit to Amsterdam. Food was OK but the food was expensive, the service was terribly slow and the restaurant was extremely noisy. Don't recommend at all.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
1  Thank JacqFromDunfie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (434)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

139 - 145 of 434 reviews

Reviewed June 26, 2014

great location! breakfast included. clean rooms, nice bathroom. newly renovated. nice staff. steep stairs. cheep. 4 single beds in our room which was awesome for our group. great choice of somewhere to stay. large windows to open. noisy but it is a big city

Room Tip: lots of stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aliabubwa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2014

I have just come back from a 3 night stay and whilst my stay didn't get off to the best of starts it did get a lot better.

Firstly, the location is great; being just a 2 minute walk to Dam Square and 10-12 minutes to Centraal Station. The reception is in the bar area and, when I got there, at around 9.30 am, I was told that my room would not be ready until 2.00 pm but there was somewhere to store my bag, so this was no problem.

When I did get to my room (number 10, on the 4th floor, watch those stairs) it was a little on the small side and there was no where to store any clothes, not even a bed side cabinet. It did have it's own bathroom, which was a bonus but because I was in the roof, the slope of the room did make everything a bit cramped. There was a TV but it didn't work, or so I thought. I did ask for it to be fixed and twice I was told it had been but when I tried to turn the TV on, with the remote control, nothing happened. Eventually, one of the members of staff came up and showed me how to work the TV and what they didn't tell me is that you have to switch the bedroom light on, to make the TV work! Slightly strange but it got sorted.

The breakfast was OK, some very lightly done toast, jam, hard boiled egg, ham and cheese and a cup of tea or coffee.

The staff were very helpful and, during the day, the bar seemed to be a very popular place. I did try the English breakfast, when I got there, and it was good. Price of drinks was not to expensive either.

Overall, a good place to stay and I would certainly suggest checking it out, if you are planning a trip to Amsterdam.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SaleDamc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2014 via mobile

2 mins away from the main town and 10 mins away from train station. The room was very clean and tidy, tye beds was comftable and good selection of tv channels. The room had nice big windows that completely opened out. Brand new bathroom/ wet room. I would definitely stop here again.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
Thank Joshua H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2014

Good points: Great location in the centre of Amsterdam. Booked well in advance and got a good price. Private shower/toilet. Breakfast was good - Dutch breakfast: Ham, cheese, toast, boiled egg, jam, honey, cheese spread, OJ & coffee.

Bad points: My bedroom was 6' square. No wardrobe / drawers / coat hanger so had to live out of a suitcase for 5 nights. No mirror either.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Stephen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2014

GOOD: Yes, the entrance is a bar/restaurant. Easy to find, excellent location. Very comfortable hotel room for four people, exactly what is shown in pictures. Very comfortable and clean. The room was cleaned and bathroom amenities were provided everyday. Breakfast was included which was a great surprise, although it was always the same (boiled egg, cheese, toast, butter, jam, coffee or tea, orange juice). The staff was friendly some more than others. Wifi worked in the hotel room. There's an intercom in the room where you can contact and be contacted by reception, but no phone in the room for outside calls. However, that wasn't a problem since they were kind enough to lend you the phone at the reception to make local calls.
BAD: Too many steep stairs, very dangerous specially with luggage. Dingy rug in the hotel room. Same breakfast everyday. A table in the room would be a great plus!!!

Room Tip: Nice view to the front of the hotel, no A/C, not so noisy the higher you go.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nucita80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2014

Very central and easy to locate. Friendly staff and lovely room with a fantastic view. This was my first visit to Amsterdam and I could find all the info I needed about attractions at the reception. Would defiantly stay again and recommend to friends.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Louise W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
Best Western Dam Square Inn
Best Western Dam Square Inn
#141 of 373 in Amsterdam
855 reviews
Centrum
Hotel The Exchange
Hotel The Exchange
#118 of 373 in Amsterdam
1,246 reviews
Centrum
Die Port van Cleve
Die Port van Cleve
#87 of 373 in Amsterdam
1,937 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
WestCord City Centre Hotel Amsterdam
Centrum
Nova Hotel Amsterdam
Nova Hotel Amsterdam
#123 of 373 in Amsterdam
1,058 reviews
Centrum
City Hotel Amsterdam
City Hotel Amsterdam
#167 of 373 in Amsterdam
618 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Cafe Corner House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cafe Corner House

Address: Nieuwezijds Voorburgwal 119-121, 1012 RH Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #155 of 373 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range: $127 - $214 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Cafe Corner House 1*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Cafe Corner House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Cafe Corner

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing