We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“A very comfortable and convenient place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wooden Mill Bed & Breakfast

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Wooden Mill Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #70 of 330 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Winchester
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A very comfortable and convenient place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

We spent a few days in the ground floor flat at the beginning of June. This has a spacious double bedroom, private bathroom with a good shower and a nice, well equipped, kitchen. Joop was very welcoming and helpful by supplying us with various maps which showed us local points of interest such as the local supermarket and patisserie. He also gave us some useful pointers on speaking Dutch when we asked him about the language which was a nice touch.
If I was pressed to suggest any areas for improvement I'd suggest the garden which could use a tidy, making it more welcoming for guests, and the toilet cistern had a slight leak. However I'd like to stress these are pointers for Joop to be aware of and not points to worry potential guests.
Wooden Mill is very convenient for the trams into the centre of Amsterdam which are well priced and also for a large park which can provide a very pleasant walk into the centre. Look out for the parakeets which were a pleasant surprise! The bus from the airport stops a few hundred yards away which makes for a very easy travel experience at the end or beginning of your journey.
All in all we had very enjoyable time and would thoroughly recommend a stay at Wooden Mill to anyone. We loved Amsterdam and will be back soon. It's nice to have a place to stay now!

Room Tip: Speak to Joop and rent the ground floor flat.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    111
    15
    14
    6
See reviews for
42
103
6
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fochabers, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

Finding reasonable accommodation in any city can be a hit or miss experience. The Wooden Mill however was definitely a hit! The apartment provided a spacious and comfortable place to stay; as a family, just exactly what we were looking for. The beds were comfy with clean bed linen, the en-suite wc/shower room was a good size and clean, and the kitchen was well equipped. That's enough going for it to make for an enjoyable stay! However, what adds to the accommodation I think is the location. The apartment is situated in a lovely tree lined street in a pleasant part of Amsterdam and whilst it may not be in the centre of the city, there are excellent bus and tram links. It's also near the Vondelpark which allowed us to enjoy lovely walks into the city centre taking only around 20 minutes. The owner, Joop, provided extremely useful tips on getting to the apartment. The bus from the airport drops you off a stones throw from the apartment itself! During our stay, Joop was helpful and friendly. The combination of price, location and standard of accommodation makes this a definite recommendation. For one thing, we would certainly want to return there.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ken M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

Accommodation in Amsterdam is expensive so I was very happy to find this modest-priced bottom floor apartment in a quiet tree-lined street. We had 1 bedroom (with extra bed free for my under 12 year old) and own fully fitted kitchen and bathroom. I stayed here with my 2 daughters August 2012 and it was a great place to relax in after a day out. The host was friendly and helpful and gave us maps with all the major tram stops/supermarkets/bike rental places etc marked out. He let us use his kitchen supplies and let us stay longer in the apt. as our flight was later in the day. We were a 20 min tram ride away from the centre (tram stop 5 mins walk away) 30 min bus ride from airport and 7 min walk from the beautiful Vondelpark. There are probably more luxurious and spacious places even closer to the city centre but you will pay highly for them. For the price we were more than happy and if the 3 of us went back, we would stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Louisa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

We loved our stay in this perfect apartment! We arrived in Amsterdam exhausted from Brugge and the Wooden Mill was exactly what we needed to relax after our long trip. The bedroom was spacious and comfortable, the kitchen was well stocked with everything you need and the bathroom was spotlessly clean. The apartment is located in a beautiful old neighbourhood with plenty of shops, restaurants and the tram stop, all within 5 minutes walking distance.

Joop was a great host, he warmly welcomed us into his home and has been one of the most pleasant people we have met. Once we arrived he had maps printed out and ready for us with details on the neighbourhood and tram stops to the city centre. He even offerred to do our laundry since the cleaners were closed for the Easter weekend!

Overall we were very impressed and would recommend this place to anyone! Thank you Joop for looking after us so well.

Room Tip: We stayed in the lower apartment with the view of the back garden. Very peaceful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank abzygail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

We are so glad that we decided to stay at Wooden Mill. If you want to enjoy the sense of being an Amsterdamer for a few days and stay in an area whre realm people live and go about their business, you should stay here. The apartment itself is comfortable with plenty of facilities for lounging. The kitchen we suspect has been recently upgraded and the shower room is spacious and efficient. Lomanstraat itself is a tree-lined dream.
Nearby there are two excellent supermarkets - we would specially recommend the one called Jumbo - and a range of shops, restaurants etc. that cater for locals as well as tourists.
While the apartment is located a little way from the city centre, access by tram is excellent. If you plan to do a lot of exploring we would recommend the 96 hour transport ticket.
Our host Joop is helpfulness personified and we are grateful to him for making our holiday more enjoyable.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bogota, Colombia
Level Contributor
61 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012

If you want to have the feeling you are at home in Amsterdam, this place is just what you are looking for. A nice flat in a quiet area of the city, next to Vondelpark with a great host. Joop will help you where he can and gives you great suggestions on what to see or where to go for diner. I reserved through budgetplaces, got a great service and even discount for my next trip!
I will recommend friends to stay in this flat, no luxury, but great value for money!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonasdd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012

We had a lovely 2 nights here. We wanted somewhere pleasant we could relax and have easy access to and from the city centre, and this ticked all the boxes. The cleanliness was great, nice decor and comfortable furnishings and with Joop's warm but not overbearing hospitality it felt like a home from home.

We'll definitely be using this place as our base on future Amsterdam trips.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Hotel Not Hotel
#35 of 330 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 230 reviews
Parkzijde Bed & Breakfast
#27 of 330 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 188 reviews
Garden View Bed and Breakfast
#87 of 330 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
De Pijp
Amstel Riverview
Amstel Riverview
#126 of 330 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 107 reviews
Vondelpark
Hotel Wilhelmina
Hotel Wilhelmina
#111 of 330 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wooden Mill Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wooden Mill Bed & Breakfast

Property: Wooden Mill Bed & Breakfast
Address: Lomanstraat 94, 1075 RH Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Vondelpark
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #70 of 330 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
B&B Wooden Mill is in a residential area of Amsterdam, officially called as 'Oud Zuid' (meaning: oldest quarter build in southern direction). This area is from the beginning of the 20th century and consists of beautiful streets and large, stately houses, characteristic for that time. The rooms are located on the 1st floor. Both rooms are very nice and quiet. The front room has a separate kitchen. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Budget Places so you can book your Wooden Mill Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing