We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Taste Hotel Amsterdam

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Royal Taste Hotel Amsterdam to your Saves list
Royal Taste Hotel Amsterdam
Oudezijds Achterburgwal 47, 6443 CE Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Red Light District (De Wallen))   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #215 of 357 Hotels in Amsterdam
Galway, Ireland
1 review
“Loved it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

Thank you to all the staff at Hotel Royal Taste.We were given room 8,up the real top over looking the canal. Staff were very friendly, room was lovely,bathroom lovely & hot. Would definetely be going back. See you all again.

Room Tip: Number 8, great views of the canal & other amenities
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle657
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
perth
Level Contributor
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

dont even bother rooms are small drug dealers out the front verticle stairs to you shoebox of a room the hassel of handing in you key every time you wont to leave and then collect it when you return is aslo a hassel.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank brentPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Amsterdam hotels

Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

i have stayed at the royal taste twice now and its fantastic they welcome you like you are family and jan and monique are the best really down to earth people and would do anything for you. our first stay here was like we have known them for years even the bar staff offered to take us around amserdam to show us where all the clubs and clubs are which i thought was really nice of them. by far this is the best place to stay in amsterdam its in the heart of the pubs and redlight district so everything is on your doorstep. rooms are very clean and basic which was great couldnt ask for anymore really. to some it up fantastic hotel amazeing staff and its a happy place to be so i would recommend this place to anyone i will be staying here everytime i visit amsterdam without a doubt see you all soon ;-b

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scott141
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

I have stayed at this hotel many times and have to say its a little gem in the heart of Amsterdam. Located right in the middle of the RLD. The staff are fantastic, Michelle, the day manager can't do enough for you as with the owners Jan and Monique. The bar is brilliant and used by lots of locals and has a great atmosphere. There's also a little terrace located outside with seating which is a great location to see the comings and goings , especially during the evening hours. I like nothing else than sitting here in the morning with a fresh coffee watching the area come to life. Rooms are clean and comfortable but as with most places in Amsterdam take care on the steep stairs!!

Very much recommended for a stay in Amsterdam.

Room Tip: Try to get room one if you can. Large room with en suite at the front of the hotel overlooking all t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SPCK111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013 via mobile

Staff very friendly and helpful and fit would stay here again.easy to find and close to the train station. Me and the Norwich boys stayed in the 4 bedroom room with own shower and toilet in the room. Right in the heart of the city.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jamie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

The Royal taste lies in the heart of the Red Light District and is a perfect place for bargain hunters who do not need extraordinary accommodations. The rooms were clean and the staff was very friendly and helpful. They have a nice little bar with some seats out in front to enjoy a drink and watch all of the onlookers check out the sights of the area. The hotel was an easy walk from the train station with several restaurants of good quality within 5 minutes walk. Ask for a room in the back where it is a bit quieter and you have your own bathroom.

Room Tip: Ask for a back room for a quieter experience.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Tiger-hat-travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

For a 1 star, budget hotel, it surpassed my expectations. 5 minute walk from Amsterdam Centraal station and pretty much 5 minute walk to everything. I was there for 2 nights and I stayed in 2 different rooms (last minute change of dates..etc). First night was a room with a shared bathroom (2 rooms to a bathroom - clean) and the second with a private bathroom. Both rooms were clean and comfortable and I had no problems sleeping. They require a deposit for the TV remote, though and ladies, bring a hairdryer of your own. You won't find it in the hotel. Breakfast is separate and I didn't have any, I just need coffee/tea in the morning. I see a lot of reviews about the hotel being noisy and the stairs being steep...well, what did you expect? 1) It's in the red light district (and the rooms are above a pub) 2) Aren't steep stairs everywhere in The Netherlands? I'm from Kuala Lumpur and a 1 star "hotel" here means you'd be sleeping on a mattress on a dirty floor. I knew what to expect when I made the booking and I got what I paid for and more. I'm happy.

The staff were absolutely amazing. I arrived at the hotel at 8 am and check in was at 2 but Joyce gave me a room by 9 am and I am forever grateful for that. Jessica was very patient with me (and my many questions about the city) and my move from Room 11 to Room 5 was smooth, thanks to her. No problems. Every cup of coffee I asked for ended up being complimentary. KC, my barista on my last day, a lovely young man who made my coffee (at 7 am!) and chatted with me till I left. The housekeeping crew (I am so sorry I didn't get your names) - they helped me with my luggage coming down the stairs...they were AWESOME. I will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dee7557
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel Torenzicht
Hotel Torenzicht
#216 of 357 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 172 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel 83 Amsterdam
Hotel 83 Amsterdam
#239 of 357 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 215 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel CC
Hotel CC
#151 of 357 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 971 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Hotel The Exchange
Hotel The Exchange
#119 of 357 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 893 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Rho Hotel
Rho Hotel
#142 of 357 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 1,774 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Taste Hotel Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Taste Hotel Amsterdam

Address: Oudezijds Achterburgwal 47, 6443 CE Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District (De Wallen)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #215 of 357 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Royal Taste Hotel Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
#