We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a different concept”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Qbic Hotel Amsterdam WTC
Ranked #88 of 375 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 22, 2014

This hotel has an interesting minimalistic concept and is located very near to the station Zuid. Everything is compacted into one room, which surprisingly works quite well. Yet unfortunately most of the interior is rather dark, as there is almost no source of natural light.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Snufkinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Qbic, Manager at Qbic Hotel Amsterdam WTC, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2014

Hi,



Thank you for writing this review. The Qbic Hotel concept as you mentioned is quite minimalitic. We provide all the basics in one giant “cube”. We tend to keep the room dark so our LED lighting comes out better en changes the mood in the room completely. If you are going to do some more Amsterdam exploring you’ll know where to find us. Hope to see you soon.


All the best,

With kind regards,

Stephan Schothuis
Team Qbic Amsterdam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,769)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

660 - 666 of 1,769 reviews

Reviewed March 21, 2014

I was a little concerned about one or two things before I arrived. No, not the lack of a bathroom door as I was travelling alone. If you don’t know what I’m talking about read some of the other reviews. I thought that as it was extremely good value for Amsterdam it might turn out to be a kind of youth hostel. But some of the other clients seemed to be business people perhaps working at the WTC.

My biggest fear was that I would spend ages on public transport getting into and out of the city centre. Again I was wrong. Sure, it takes twenty minutes by tram to get to Centraal Station, but that is the end of the line. It’s only five minutes to Museumplein and the Concertgebouw, ten minutes to Leidseplein. By the way, I checked out the metro once to see if it saves a lot of time over the tram if you have to go to the station. It doesn’t and the view isn’t nearly as interesting. Also Zuid Station is only ten minutes by train from Schiphol too. I left reception at nine thirty a.m. and at 10:08 was already checked in, past security and walking around the duty free stores.

Friendly staff, although I didn’t have much to do with them after check-in. They kept my bag for me till check in time at three pm. BBC tv is a huge plus for me as I can’t receive it at home. The mattress is as comfortable as they make out on their website, I slept very well indeed. No problems with heating or air conditioning, the room temperature was fine for me, but it’s true had it not been there was nothing I could do about it. I think I was lucky enough to have a view, I'm not sure how I'd feel about a windowless room.

The famous bathroom was apparently designed by Starck if my memory serves me correctly. Well all I can say is he has a very narrow bum as there isn’t much space for the loo between the washbasin and the shower. And also our Monsieur Starck must never shave as there is practically no space over the basin to wash your face, the tap sticks out so far. Still these really are minor niggles, everything worked, was clean and the water was hot and the towels plentiful.

One last piece of advice if you choose this hotel. The address says Strawinskyplein, but if you arrive by tram n°5 you need to go down the steps to Zuidplein and go all the way around the back of the WTC to find the entrance. If you get off the train at Station Zuid, you turn left as soon as you leave the station to find the hotel.
I would definitely stay again at this hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank williamdfr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Qbic, Manager at Qbic Hotel Amsterdam WTC, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2014

Hey William,


Thank you so much for this well written review. I think our future guest will be well pleased with this.

As you can imagine, it’s always great to hear our guest enjoyed their stay with us.

Public transport from our location is excellent; bus, tram and metro are just around the corner and will bring you wherever you need to be.



With kind regards
Anouk Willems,
Team Qbic Amsterdam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2014

the best hotel that i've stayed in Amsterdam! really clean and modern I loved it and if I come back to Amsterdam definately I'll stay there again! great localization near metro station, near airport 10 min to centre.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lucycbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QbicHotelsAmsterdam, service manager at Qbic Hotel Amsterdam WTC, responded to this reviewResponded May 1, 2014

Dear Lucy,

What a great review! We love that you definitely want to stay here again. We have some great events planned in Amsterdam for the summer. Hope to see you soon?

With kind regards,

Luisana kocks, Qbic hotel Amsterdam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2014

I stayed at qbic hotel amsterdam for one night because i had business in the area, and really liked the concept. At checkin, there was hardly any service, no warm welcome, smalltalk or smile. Arriving in the room, i noticed some hairs on the bathroom floor. I would have called the front desk, but there was no phone to be found... Very strange.. The room was not very sound proof as i heard everything that went on outside of the room..The matressess were ok but in need of replacement, both had an sloped surface.. Shower was ok, with the exeption of finding additional hairs and the
squeaking of the floor. Quick check out, but no 'have a nice day' or anything similar.. In conclusion.. Ok concept, but focus more on sevice, matress quality and cleanliness.. I would consider a revisit if i am to return to amsterdam to see if anything is different ..

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rthotello
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QbicHotelsAmsterdam, Service manager at Qbic Hotel Amsterdam WTC, responded to this reviewResponded May 1, 2014

Hello,

I would like to apologies for all the inconvenience you had during your stay! This is not how we should treat our guest. I will take note of your review and we will make sure to improve our service and cleaning of rooms!

We hope to welcome you again in Qbic Hotel and make sure you have a great second stay in our hotel.



With kind regards,

Luisana Kocks , Qbic team Amsterdam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2014

Hotel was nice quite, rooms were good check in was quick and rooms are funky. But I would not stay here again as it was a taxi ride away or ten mins by tram.
If you prefer city center look elsewhere if you prefer quite, out of reach and nothing else there as everywhere closes on a saturday & sunday look elsewhere.

Room Tip: Look for spiders in your room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank spenny05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Qbic, Manager at Qbic Hotel Amsterdam WTC, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2014

Dear Spenny,

Awesome that you liked the hotel and the concept. It’s unfortunate a 10min tram ride did not meet your expectations.
We are indeed a bit more outside the city centre, but with affordable rooms close to Schiphol Airport. And the public transport hub is just around the corner.
We hope you enjoy your future stays in Amsterdam, and if you find yourself in the neighbourhood, you know where to find us.

All the best…

With kind regards,

Sander Gerets
Qbic Team Amsterdam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2014

My partner and I had a great time staying in Qbic hotel. The location was excellent as it was only a 5 minute train journey from the airport and also right near the tram which took us straight into central Amsterdam within 20 minutes. The room was lovely and clean and the bed was really comfortable (we especially liked the mood lighting on top of the bed). The only gripe I had was that I think minimalism was taken to the extreme, not only was there nowhere to store our clothing (part from a small hanger) but there was also no toilet door... maybe not so bad for established couples but I would not recommend if you are embarking on your first romantic vacation together!!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jessr2108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Qbic, Manager at Qbic Hotel Amsterdam WTC, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2014

Hi there,

Thank you for your positive review. Great that you liked our hotel. The concepts may be described as “edgy” but is still provide you with the basic amenities. The rooms indeed have a bathroom without a door. But there are public restrooms on every floor which you can use.
Like you said, tram 5 you will take you straight to the city centre, and leaves just around the corner.
We hope you had a pleasant stay in Amsterdam, and hope to see you again some other time!

Kind regards,

Anouk Willems
Qbic Team Amsterdam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2014

The hotel is inside a business center, near metro tram and train station, coffee, shop and restaurants. Staff is friendly and helpful. The room was like on internet, comfortable for 2. Bathroom was clean, no door. The bed was really cosy. We liked it.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Noémi K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Qbic, Manager at Qbic Hotel Amsterdam WTC, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2014

Hi Noja.

Thank you very much for taking the time to write this review. Our location is excellent, especially if you’re coming from Schiphol Airport. We are just a 6 min train ride away, with at least 6 trains per hour. And there are plenty of facilities in the neighborhood. It’s great to hear you like our hotel, see you again soon!!

With kind regards,

Luisana Kocks
Qbic Team Amsterdam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Eastern Docklands (Oostelijk Havengebied)
Lloyd Hotel & Cultural Embassy
Volkshotel
#39 of 375 in Amsterdam
1,493 reviews
Amsterdam Teleport Hotel
#75 of 375 in Amsterdam
929 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Casa
#67 of 375 in Amsterdam
2,976 reviews
XO Hotels Couture
#44 of 375 in Amsterdam
2,004 reviews
Dutch Design Hotel Artemis
#112 of 375 in Amsterdam
1,541 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Qbic Hotel Amsterdam WTC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Qbic Hotel Amsterdam WTC

Address: Mathijs Vermeulenpad 1, 1077 Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #88 of 375 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range: $66 - $252 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Qbic Hotel Amsterdam WTC 3.5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Qbic Hotels, 'Cheap Chic & No Frills'. If you are a budget conscious traveler and you are looking for fun, sassy and efficient discount hotel accommodation. It is also close to schiphol airport making it an Amsterdam airport hotel as well. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Agoda, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Qbic Hotel Amsterdam WTC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Qbic Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing