We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Funny and nice”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Qbic Hotel Amsterdam WTC
Ranked #89 of 373 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 27, 2013

The design of the room was very modern and interesting. Bathroom, toilette and bed are joined together in one big cube with circuit light around. The note on the bed promised there is a switch to change the color of light to conforms the room to your mood. Our search ended with failure. And one actually uncomfort thing...there is no door between toilette and bathroom. The staff were kind and professional. And one more thing...you have to leave the parking area exactly within 24 hours (if you stay for one day). If you dare to exceed this limit, you have to pay another whole day and cannot pay for just one more hour. Shade...

Room Tip: Ask for a room with windows as there are rooms with no windows at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LukaHlisnik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded September 1, 2013

Dear Dukahlisnik,

Indeed Qbic Hotels has a couple of rooms without switch, we apologize for not having been able to solve your issues on site.(change to another room with switch)
Thank you for the tip for future guest !

With kind regards ,

Luisana Kocks
Qbic Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,745)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

725 - 731 of 1,745 reviews

Reviewed August 25, 2013

This was our second stay here and although we love the design element of the hotel, there are definitely a few improvements to be made.

The rooms promise a colourful lighting effect which can be changed to suit your mood. The first time we stayed our room was permanently fixed with one colour of lighting and unfortunately we found it to be the same this time around. Although this didn't effect our stay, it's a shame the room didn't live up to the description.

Our room also didn't have enough pillows and only after asking the reception 3 times were we given 1 more (apparently this was the last pillow available even though we had requested 2!)

Overall a value for money hotel , 20 minutes from the city centre and 10 minutes from the airport. A few design features and comforts lacking which would have made this a perfect stay for us.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HW9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2013

Stayed here with my mum for 3 nights. The people at reception were absolutely lovely and welcoming, although there wasn't really a 'bar' as such the vending machines offered a brilliant range of crisps, chocolate, drinks (including alcohol) and utilities such as shower gel and shower caps, quite highly priced though. Was a little tiny bit disappointing that the lights on our bed were stuck on blue, but we thought that was fab anyway! Was able to watch BBC One (UK) and cable such as CNN and MTV, reception excellent too. I was astonished with the modern-ness of the hotel and that it didn't look try hard modern. It was perfect for a few nights stay, very close to Zuid station with a train directly from Schipol. The tram stop is minutes away so easy access into Central Amsterdam. Cannot praise the staff enough, and the fact we were dressing when housekeeping arrived, then went out and came back to see they had been in and cleaned our room!! Shower was lovely, bathroom could do with a door of some description but otherwise we were extremely happy with the hotel in general and are looking forward to visiting the new Qbic hotel on our trips up to London. Pretty sure we'll see you again, thank you for a brilliant stay x

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bristolgirlella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded August 26, 2013

Dear Bristolgirlella,

Thanks so much for leaving a review . The staff would be delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Hope you come back soon

With kind regards ,

Luisana Kocks
Qbic Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2013

stayed here mid august with 3 other friends (2rooms). arrived late but staff were there for our check in. rooms are pretty trippy - although make sure ur 'close' with ur room buddy coz there is no door on the bathroom / toilet. pillows were a bit poor and the bed is 2 single matresses pushed together but everything else was fine. a frigde would have been great.

towels and room clean everyday. my friends who stayed in the other room were disapointed with the cleaners as they left a 'nasty note' because there was a very small amout of water spashed onto the floor (wooden floorboards). this will happen when u have a shower with no door and a doorless bathroom.

i loved the location. its in the business distric so weekends is very dead but during the week there are pubs, resturants (wagamamas, burger king etc), shops and starbucks right outside ur door. we got a 4 day tram pass for about 40euro to get around - tram is 3 min walk and train 1 min walk. post office is right there too if u need to send stuff home due to too much shopping (staff there are excellent).

dont bother having breakfast here - go to starbucks.

vending machines in the foyer with everything u might need and a laundromat is a 10min walk away (dry cleaners in the building next door).

easy to get to the airport by train.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alana j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded August 26, 2013

Dear Alana J ,

Thanks so much for the feedback. I will personally look into the concerns you raised and make sure improvements are made.

Have a nice day !

With kind regards ,

Luisana Kocks
Qbic Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2013

Disappointing for a hotel awarded design prizes.
Seems like it wasn't maintained, renovated nor cleaned since 2007.
Ripped sheets, cheap curtains, lights not working, cleanliness standards unacceptable. Nobody to greet you, self check in not working.
Can't adjust temperature either .
Design is cool, but if the room is falling apart, what's the point?

Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
1  Thank Gabin04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded August 26, 2013

Dear Gabin04,

Thank you very much for your, critical, feedback. We are sorry to hear you did not enjoy your stay as much as you had wished for. Would you be able to send us an email to management@qbichotels.com so we can get in contact with you?

Kind regards,

D. Klaassen
Team Qbic

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2013

Firstly QBIC is in a great spot to get to and from Schipol Airport on the train. Just one stop and roughly 10 mins away. QBIC is less than 5 mins walk from the train station.
Tram into Leidseplein is roughly 20 mins away with plenty of lovely things to look at out the window on the way. Hotel is less than 5 mins walk from the tram stops.
Rooms themselves are quirky, cool and definitely do the job.
The beds are super comfy and so long that my 6'8 husband was able to sleep on it comfortably.
There are no windows which wasn't an issue for a short stay but might become a bit much for a longer stay. No issues with the long summer sun when having an early night though!
As mentioned many times before, no toilet door. This is either an issue for you or isn't I guess - not a drama at all for us though.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank ChonyBails
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded August 26, 2013

Dear ChonyBails,

Great to hear you have had such a good stay with us.
Your contribution is hopefully much appreciated by future guests!

Kind Regards,

Luisana Kocks
Team Qbic

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013

This was our return trip to this hotel and the experience was as positive as the first time. When we last came, there was no closet in the room and this time the hotel has added a coat rack, a chest of (open) drawers and a safe. What is still missing is a door on the bathroom so when you go to the toilet, you may need to generate some background noise (turn the TV on, run water in the handbasin to avoid sharing more than you want with your loved one.

The very nice feature is the possibility to sleep on a deluxe Hästens bed that costs a fortune. Sleeping on this bed the first time made me realise that my back isn't the real problem, my bed is. A good point is the hotel's location, very close to train station Zuid (one stop away from Schiphol airport) and very close to tram 5 that will bring you in 15 minutes to Leidseplein and the Grachtengordel. The WTC complex has a few nice cafés and take-away shops but they are only open on week days, as most of the people coming to the complex are office workers. The hotel can be hard to find: coming from the train station via the exit with a Starbucks on the right, turn to the left immediately and walk 50 meters looking for the small red cube that indicates the hotel's entrance.

So I would recommend the hotel either for a business trip (someone travelling alone) or for a romantic trip for a couple that wants to sleep on a Hästens bed for a price that can't be beat.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Erik V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded August 21, 2013

Dear Erik V ,

Thank you first of all for your elaborate response. We apologize for the small inconveniences you’ve encountered.
We hope to be welcoming you once more !

With kind regards ,

Luisana Kocks
Service Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Eastern Docklands (Oostelijk Havengebied)
Lloyd Hotel & Cultural Embassy
Hotel Casa
#69 of 373 in Amsterdam
2,928 reviews
Amsterdam Teleport Hotel
#79 of 373 in Amsterdam
905 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vondelpark
Conscious Hotel Vondelpark
Conscious Hotel Vondelpark
#78 of 373 in Amsterdam
1,288 reviews
Dutch Design Hotel Artemis
#109 of 373 in Amsterdam
1,514 reviews
Novotel Amsterdam City
#120 of 373 in Amsterdam
2,880 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Qbic Hotel Amsterdam WTC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Qbic Hotel Amsterdam WTC

Address: Mathijs Vermeulenpad 1, 1077 Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range: $50 - $238 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Qbic Hotel Amsterdam WTC 3.5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Qbic Hotels, 'Cheap Chic & No Frills'. If you are a budget conscious traveler and you are looking for fun, sassy and efficient discount hotel accommodation. It is also close to schiphol airport making it an Amsterdam airport hotel as well. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Qbic Hotel Amsterdam WTC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Qbic Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing