We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Promotes itself as 'design' but feels like a 1 star hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Qbic Hotel Amsterdam WTC
Ranked #94 of 367 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Philadelphia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Promotes itself as 'design' but feels like a 1 star hotel”
Reviewed September 28, 2012

Aweful experience and wish I could have left the hotel early - there is however no option to cancel your booking and so I was stuck here for more than two weeks.
Price-wise a decent option, and close to public transport, but these benefits do not outweigh the negatives.
Lighting is horrible, the hotel promotes itself as 'design', but feels even worse than a 1 star hotel. There is no reception, so if there is anything wrong with your room key - it takes about half an hour to finally talk to the right people. My room was not clean at all and even though I stayed for two weeks, not cleaned during my entire stay either, despite asking staff to please do so. Breakfast is very cheap and room is limited so you're sitting on top of each other in the morning.

Definately the worst hotel I have been to - I would not recommend this to anyone.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VCL87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,686 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    479
    738
    307
    105
    57
See reviews for
62
852
136
305
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (187)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2012

About the hotel- Nice room and clean
About the staff- friendly and helpfull
About thé area- if is your first time in Amsterdam, could be hard.

I would like to stay more but changed cos a bit expensive take Táxi all the time.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Aline G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2012

The hotel is in an excellent location near the south station, about 15 minutes from the airport and 15 minutes from Amsterdam Central station. The tram number 5 takes you to the museum district and the central station too.
The hotel was manned 24 hours a day, so someone to assist you for the self checkin.
Check in time was 3pm and all the staff were friendly, There is a large section of reading books about Amsterdam there for information.
The room is a cube with modern forniture and had 3 power points.
The room was spotless and clean throughout.
There are basic food, drink and essential items to purchase in a machine in the lobby.
The staff at the south station are very good at helping you with long distance excursions.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JJMega
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2012

The hotel is located in the business district which, while it has some nice restaurants right outside the door, is very quiet (so great for a good nights sleep) but the tram and metro are a 30 second walk from the door of the hotel and really easy to use. The hotel itself has more positive points than negative and considering the price we paid I thought it was a fantastic bargain!
Positive points:
Decent sized room, great price, very clean and relatively quiet, televison
Negatives:
No toilet door (although the toilet is behind the bed so it's not too intrusive), the double bed was actually 2 single mattresses pushed together, the staff aren't particularly helpful

In general I would recommend this to any young couple doing a budget trip as we were doing, or students going travelling

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a window, we had one but I have heard some of them don't which could make th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ellan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne Australia
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2012

This is a "funky" hotel that we enjoyed on an overnight stay. We would rate it highly except for its cleaning & maintenance (but don't stay here if you like having a door to your en suite bathroom/toilet - there is none). The pair of pillows provided were also inadequate.

We found the cleaning lousy, e.g. one side of the bed was a flat panel against the wall and it was covered in dust (a little hard to reach?) and we found an empty camera box behind a chair. Overall, it looked like cleaning was perfunctory at best.

I noticed that the bedroom light was set into the wall above the bed at an unusual angle. I found out why when I tried to switch the lights off - the switch fell into the wall cavity and I had to retrieve it by reaching in for the power cord then pulling it up. Fortunately, there were no short circuits.

Another issue is the check in which is supposed to be self-service. You're supposed to ring for a check-in code before arrival. We rang but were assured that the code was no longer required. We arrived early and the one staff member present told us check-in codes were still in use and that we must have spoken to someone in "head office" who didn't know what they were talking about. Fortunately, he soon checked us in and a little earlier than we were entitled to. He deserves full marks for friendly efficient service.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yragnhoj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1 review
Reviewed September 9, 2012

An awsome place to stay with excellent single handed people handling the entire hotel always ready to help and guide through to amsterdam....
Good location although away from the city but full accessible to metro / tram & buss @ 2 mins distance...
I had forgotten my bag which i realise only after i reached paris....they were propmt in checking and arranging to courier the same as well...

i would look forward to staying here again

Room Tip: its a discotheque in your room...so doesn't actually matter ;-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kunalnm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Volkshotel
#40 of 367 in Amsterdam
1,295 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Van Gogh
Hotel Van Gogh
#141 of 367 in Amsterdam
910 reviews
Eastern Docklands (Oostelijk Havengebied)
Lloyd Hotel & Cultural Embassy
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Amsterdam Teleport Hotel
#78 of 367 in Amsterdam
807 reviews
Holiday Inn Amsterdam
#142 of 367 in Amsterdam
1,429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Qbic Hotel Amsterdam WTC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Qbic Hotel Amsterdam WTC

Property: Qbic Hotel Amsterdam WTC
Address: Mathijs Vermeulenpad 1, 1077 Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Qbic Hotel Amsterdam WTC 3.5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Qbic Hotels, 'Cheap Chic & No Frills'. If you are a budget conscious traveler and you are looking for fun, sassy and efficient discount hotel accommodation. It is also close to schiphol airport making it an Amsterdam airport hotel as well. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Qbic Hotel Amsterdam WTC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Qbic Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing