We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent for the price” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Qbic Hotel Amsterdam WTC

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Qbic Hotel Amsterdam WTC
Ranked #122 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
“Excellent for the price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

While it's well outside central Amsterdam (2 trains away), for what I paid I can't complain. The room was very clean, absolutely huge (never stayed in a room as big), lovely comfy bed, fun rooms, nice and quiet. Very close to the station and a few shops. Staff were friendly and helpful. Don't stay here with someone you're not incredibly comfortable with because there is no door on the bathroom! If I came to Amsterdam again I'd stay somewhere more central, but if you're on a budget it's a good place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hayley L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,432 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    358
    642
    281
    96
    55
See reviews for
50
739
116
247
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
86 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

The hotel is located in a quiet area which seems like the business district so there was nothing open around the area on the weekend. Good thing is that there there is quick and easy access via trains, trams and bussess to anywhere you want to go.

Good concept for a hotel. Seems they took a qube with a bed and and a bathroom and placed it into an empty room.

Room was spacious and comfortable with a comfy chair to kind a lounge if you didn't want to be. In the bed, as well as shelf with bar stools where you could work or eat comfortably.

Just seemed a little impersonable. Hardly any staff around. One staff mentioned that I could have checked myself in at the kiosk because there was no staff around when I arrived. I did to have to wait for more than approximately 5 minutes.

Good room for the money... Well worth it. Will stay again.

Room Tip: Easy and quick to get to city. Self check in available
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Souloaded
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town, South Africa
Level Contributor
33 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

Firstly, yes, I agree with the fact that the Rooms are funky/hip ... the little extra features do make it unique in the sense that these added feature create a different type of atmosphere for a hotel - However, the rooms ("hotel") lack functionality .... besides the safe that is in the room.
- No cupboard space whatsoever.
- No Iron / coffee-tea facilities / hair dryer in the room
- No soap bars/conditioner/shower caps/ear buds
- No air-con/heating control
- No Slippers / Bath mat/towel
- No bar bridge

Thus making it a 2 star category, the only gadget that saves it from falling into the 2star zone is the safe. Moreover, you are bound to get lost .... its almost a guarantee - as there are several exits - which are not clearly marked. It takes a good 15-20 minutes to get from tram stop (zuid) into the centre (flower market) by tram (line 5).

In other words, if you expect the usual extra's such as conditioner/slippers/hair dryer etc .... be sure to take along your own (extra luggage) in the case of a business trip. In addition, all shops in the vicinity close after midnight - meaning you are stranded - unless you take a cab into the centre. The vending machines are limited, and as in our case, was not functioning. No telephone in the room, or any reading material / instructions / facility card.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Traveller541
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

Great location and once you get your bearings perfect for travelling in and out of the centre of amsterdam and also easy to get and forward from scipol..Room was great, loved the rainshower.Will defo use when i return.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gordontaylor1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
75 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

My partner and I stayed at Qbic for 3 nights. The hotel was great - helpful staff, great music playing in the lobby, crazy rooms, and all sorts of weird features (for example you can pay to keep 2 pet fish in your room for the night). It's very unique with it's neon lights, completely un-private bathrooms, and cool vibe. The location, however, wasn't great. It is near the subway and tram stops but it isn't really near any tourist sites, cool neighbourhoods, or even restaurants or bars. You'll need to pay for transit to do anything. Also, most reviews of this hotel mention the bathrooms - it can be gross, even if you are travelling with your spouse. Also, they never cleaned our room for the 3 days we were there. They changed the towels but never the sheets, didn't make the bed, etc.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AlJess902
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lugano, Ticino, Switzerland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

Next to Amsterdam Zuid station, so great location... Just need to take tram 5 to get to the center (around 10 min.).
We would have love to have, besides the funky lights, the option of having normal light. Also, a door for the bathroom.
But in general, good value for money. We would come back.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jaime C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
1.8 mi away
Volkshotel
Volkshotel
#48 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 826 reviews
3.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam - Arena Towers
2.1 mi away
Dutch Design Hotel Artemis
Dutch Design Hotel Artemis
#115 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 1,147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam-Sloterdijk Station
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam - South
3.7 mi away
Ibis Amsterdam City West
Ibis Amsterdam City West
#113 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 1,323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Qbic Hotel Amsterdam WTC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Qbic Hotel Amsterdam WTC

Property: Qbic Hotel Amsterdam WTC
Address: Mathijs Vermeulenpad 1, 1077 Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Qbic Hotel Amsterdam WTC 3.5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Qbic Hotels, 'Cheap Chic & No Frills'. If you are a budget conscious traveler and you are looking for fun, sassy and efficient discount hotel accommodation. It is also close to schiphol airport making it an Amsterdam airport hotel as well. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Qbic Hotel Amsterdam WTC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Qbic Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing