We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic but right in the centre”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Damrak Inn Hotel Amsterdam
Ranked #284 of 338 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Reviewed April 27, 2014

There are several hotels with similar names around here. The one this refers to is Budget Hotel Damrak Inn.

Its a few minutes walk from the station, right in the middle of everything and walking distance of most of Amsterdam's sights, so the location is great if that is what you need.

The hotel is the upper floors of a shop in an old building with extremely steep and narrow staircases to access rooms which are perhaps not suitable for anyone with mobility problems.

My room was very small but adequately equipped with a clean bathroom, a television and slightly erratic wi-fi.

It doesn't do breakfast or any other food.

Room Tip: The fourth and fifth floors are a very long climb
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Polothecat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (310)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

96 - 102 of 310 reviews

Reviewed April 20, 2014

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Mathias R
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed April 17, 2014

We stayed here for two nights and would definitely recommend it. As per all the other reviews this hotel does have steep stairs and a smell of chips due to it being above a chip shop but this wouldn't stop me staying again. Rooms were basic but very clean and has everything you would need. Staff were very helpful and friendly. If you want somewhere that is cheap (for the excellent location), basic to sleep then look no further.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Danny81boy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2014

I thoroughly enjoyed my stay in the Damrak. The location is excellent, just a short walk to Amsterdam Central and right in Dam Square. The facilities are basic, but, having said this, you have a comfortable and clean bed to come back to. I was on the top floor, there was a balcony which didn't offer exceptional views, but was a balcony none the less. I didn't find myself awoken by any noise from outside or other rooms at any point so was happy with the sleep quality I got.

I would come back here, excellent location for the price, just don't expect too many luxuries.

Room Tip: Top floor room 51 has a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank max061988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2014

Just arrived back from spending 3Nights here..
Arrived through the door to be greeted by the steepest windiest stairs ever, after carting my 20kg luggage to the reception desk (second floor). To then be told by the lovely receptionist our room is on the top floor thinking there will be a elevator, oh no there wasn't! There was a very disgusting smell through out the hotel of chip fat, but defiantly got worse when we finally arrived at our room! Thinking nothing could get any worst, the room just topped the whole stay off, there was 3 adults squashed in an attic, room was dusty and found a mouldy chip on the floor! Bathroom wasn't any better, very narrow and the shower did not have a curtain so the floor was soaking by the time you have finished showering! On a plus side the location is great! I love cheap and cheerful but this hotel took that to another level!

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lbb25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2014

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with BudgetPlaces
Thank Cass F
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed February 24, 2014 via mobile

Great location walking distance to everything. Hotel is above a chip shop and it smells in the hotel hallways, however it didn't in the room. Room was basic and clean. Clean towels and cleaner came in everyday. Reception staff very helpful with directions, advice etc. Quite noisy in the morning with trams and a church bell that went off one morning. However our room was facing the street. The stairs were very steep and we struggled with out cases..but steep stairs seem to be the norm in Amsterdam. Good for price if your just looking for somewhere to put your head down.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
Thank Jmkhx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
Hotel The Exchange
Hotel The Exchange
#118 of 372 in Amsterdam
1,226 reviews
Centrum
Hotel Mevlana
Hotel Mevlana
#326 of 372 in Amsterdam
191 reviews
Centrum
Hotel Sint Nicolaas
Hotel Sint Nicolaas
#57 of 372 in Amsterdam
961 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vondelpark
Hotel Mosaic City Centre
Hotel Mosaic City Centre
#49 of 338 in Amsterdam
833 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Sharm Hotel
Sharm Hotel
#198 of 338 in Amsterdam
123 reviews
Centrum
Budget Hotel Tourist Inn
Budget Hotel Tourist Inn
#14 of 237 in Amsterdam
933 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Damrak Inn Hotel Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Damrak Inn Hotel Amsterdam

Address: Damrak 58-59, 1012 LL Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum , Dam Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #284 of 338 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range: $125 - $386 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Damrak Inn Hotel Amsterdam 2*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Damrak Inn Hotel Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing