We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Basic but right in the centre” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Damrak Inn Hotel Amsterdam

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Damrak Inn Hotel Amsterdam
Ranked #274 of 330 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
London
Level Contributor
34 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Basic but right in the centre”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

There are several hotels with similar names around here. The one this refers to is Budget Hotel Damrak Inn.

Its a few minutes walk from the station, right in the middle of everything and walking distance of most of Amsterdam's sights, so the location is great if that is what you need.

The hotel is the upper floors of a shop in an old building with extremely steep and narrow staircases to access rooms which are perhaps not suitable for anyone with mobility problems.

My room was very small but adequately equipped with a clean bathroom, a television and slightly erratic wi-fi.

It doesn't do breakfast or any other food.

Room Tip: The fourth and fifth floors are a very long climb
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Polothecat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

267 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    46
    68
    41
    96
See reviews for
14
46
24
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

We stayed here for two nights and would definitely recommend it. As per all the other reviews this hotel does have steep stairs and a smell of chips due to it being above a chip shop but this wouldn't stop me staying again. Rooms were basic but very clean and has everything you would need. Staff were very helpful and friendly. If you want somewhere that is cheap (for the excellent location), basic to sleep then look no further.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Danny81boy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014

I thoroughly enjoyed my stay in the Damrak. The location is excellent, just a short walk to Amsterdam Central and right in Dam Square. The facilities are basic, but, having said this, you have a comfortable and clean bed to come back to. I was on the top floor, there was a balcony which didn't offer exceptional views, but was a balcony none the less. I didn't find myself awoken by any noise from outside or other rooms at any point so was happy with the sleep quality I got.

I would come back here, excellent location for the price, just don't expect too many luxuries.

Room Tip: Top floor room 51 has a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank max061988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

Just arrived back from spending 3Nights here..
Arrived through the door to be greeted by the steepest windiest stairs ever, after carting my 20kg luggage to the reception desk (second floor). To then be told by the lovely receptionist our room is on the top floor thinking there will be a elevator, oh no there wasn't! There was a very disgusting smell through out the hotel of chip fat, but defiantly got worse when we finally arrived at our room! Thinking nothing could get any worst, the room just topped the whole stay off, there was 3 adults squashed in an attic, room was dusty and found a mouldy chip on the floor! Bathroom wasn't any better, very narrow and the shower did not have a curtain so the floor was soaking by the time you have finished showering! On a plus side the location is great! I love cheap and cheerful but this hotel took that to another level!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lbb25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Amsterdam hotels

Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014 via mobile

Great location walking distance to everything. Hotel is above a chip shop and it smells in the hotel hallways, however it didn't in the room. Room was basic and clean. Clean towels and cleaner came in everyday. Reception staff very helpful with directions, advice etc. Quite noisy in the morning with trams and a church bell that went off one morning. However our room was facing the street. The stairs were very steep and we struggled with out cases..but steep stairs seem to be the norm in Amsterdam. Good for price if your just looking for somewhere to put your head down.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Jmkhx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
Hotel The Exchange
Hotel The Exchange
#108 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 1,011 reviews
Centrum
Swissotel Amsterdam
Swissotel Amsterdam
#45 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 213 reviews
Centrum
Hotel Mevlana
Hotel Mevlana
#299 of 364 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 stars 153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam
Park Plaza Victoria Amsterdam
#127 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 3,013 reviews
Centrum
Hotel Amsterdam - De Roode Leeuw
Centrum
Budget Hotel Tourist Inn
Budget Hotel Tourist Inn
#15 of 217 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 648 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Damrak Inn Hotel Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Damrak Inn Hotel Amsterdam

Property: Damrak Inn Hotel Amsterdam
Address: Damrak 5859, 1012 LL Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum , Dam Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #274 of 330 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Damrak Inn Hotel Amsterdam 2*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity and HostelWorld so you can book your Damrak Inn Hotel Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing