We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Meal could have been better”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of De Oude Taveerne

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
De Oude Taveerne
Ranked #299 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
The Netherlands
Level Contributor
107 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Meal could have been better”
Reviewed September 12, 2013

My partner and I had dinner at 'De Oude Taveerne' for Restaurant Week but unfortunately it didn't look like the price reflected the 3-course meal of Restaurant Week (27,50 euros). They just charged us the usual menu prices, which I found was quite pricey for the quality. Edible but below average for the quality. It really felt like eating (tin) supermarket food in a pub and everything was big portion: eg: the starter soup looked like a main course and didn't taste great and the cheese platter was made of cheap quality cheese cut in big slices.
However, the service was good enough and the place was quite 'gezellig'/cosy to finish the evening in Durgerdammer, a picturesque little village in the north of Amsterdam.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Agnès L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    22
    9
    5
    12
See reviews for
17
30
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed May 2, 2013

You're only 20 minutes away from central station by bike. After spending a really wild day in the city during king's day, a quite night in the beautiful fishermen's village is perfect. The lake view, cyclists, and the old style interiors is amazing. Food is great and staff even greater.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mansoor B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2013

We stayed here based upon the fab ratings on Trip Advisor, but found it to be below average at best. Firstly, the family room was dated and the carpet was old. The room was only cleaned after two days (after a complaint); this wasn't great as the entire room for the family was only about 15m squared at most. There was also no phone connection to reception.

Although not the hotel's fault, the stench of manure outside the hotel (as there were lots of free range chickens and other animals around) was really off putting.

We chose this hotel for the wifi and car park - the wifi only worked in the hotel area, and not in the far away room we were staying and the carpark was 10 Euros per day (as expected).

Breakfast was fresh bread with thin slices of ham and cheese, but very boring after the first morning; extras was expensive and dinner wasn't great and expensive - a shame as we expected to eat there every night and had dinner in Amsterdam every night (15min drive away) instead.

Maybe we were very unlucky, but for over 130 Euros per night, we expected a little better...

Room Tip: Do not get the family room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank VivAL_2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Amsterdam hotels

Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2013

is rustic, old, small .. but that's the beauty of them! Located a few kilometers from Amsterdam, in a tiny town of former fishermen with an unpronounceable name (Durgerdammerdijk), this hotel with pub \ tavern, has a magnificent view over a lake (artificial) the most beautiful I've seen. the staff is helpful and friendly, the beer is good and the rooms are small but clean. The cost is reasonable. The bad thing is that it is badly connected with Amsterdam: there are only 2 buses a day, which do not go on holidays, or you have to call a taxi to come to Amsterdam and the price is quite high. If you do not have a car I do not recommend it. Instead, if you want to spend a weekend in relax in a place postcard, that's great!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ezio78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2012

We didn't stay at the hotel, but we stopped in for lunch and found it so cozy and warm! We biked on the dikes on a cold November day, and stopped in to the Tavern to warm up. The dutch pea soup was delicious - full of sausage and potatoes - and so savory. What a great little respite after biking 15 miles in the cold wind. Very relaxing and great service.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kathleen o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aruba
Level Contributor
40 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2012

The place to stay for us. Nearby all activities . But still a very local hotel next to the water.
We found a nice hotel with beatiful rooms, nice breakfast a good snackplatter with a beer!
Coffee and pie! And a good meal.

Nice stay at de oude taveerne

Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank JeffreyKost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

i booked this hotel for 2 nights and 2 rooms for my wife, my baby and 2 friends for a total cost of 435€ from booking.com and then non-refundable.
The first evening the room was already "occupied" by "insectes"(spiders and baby), i complaint to the reception and the guy took the insectes with the hand and told me : now this is clean.
I spoke to the hotel owner to get money back and refused because the room was clean for him.
As it was during the week end, the hotel was very noisy(bar just below to the rooms) and a lot of noise(music,bed...)
Then run away from this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank CHRISTOPHE g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
8.3 mi away
New West Inn Amsterdam
New West Inn Amsterdam
#169 of 364 in Amsterdam
995 reviews
4.6 mi away
Campanile Amsterdam
Campanile Amsterdam
#217 of 364 in Amsterdam
315 reviews
4.0 mi away
Bastion Hotel Amsterdam Amstel
Bastion Hotel Amsterdam Amstel
#228 of 364 in Amsterdam
550 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Volkshotel
Volkshotel
#43 of 364 in Amsterdam
1,134 reviews
7.9 mi away
Citiez Hotel Amsterdam
Citiez Hotel Amsterdam
#164 of 364 in Amsterdam
137 reviews
2.8 mi away
Bastion Hotel Amsterdam Noord
Bastion Hotel Amsterdam Noord
#197 of 364 in Amsterdam
378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to De Oude Taveerne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De Oude Taveerne

Property: De Oude Taveerne
Address: Durgerdammerdijk 73, 1026 CB Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #299 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — De Oude Taveerne 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your De Oude Taveerne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Oude Taveerne Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing