We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place in Amsterdam”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Amsterdam Village Hotel
Ranked #323 of 371 Hotels in Amsterdam
Reviewed May 2, 2013

You're only 20 minutes away from central station by bike. After spending a really wild day in the city during king's day, a quite night in the beautiful fishermen's village is perfect. The lake view, cyclists, and the old style interiors is amazing. Food is great and staff even greater.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mansoor B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (98)
There are newer reviews for Amsterdam Village Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

29 - 35 of 98 reviews

Reviewed April 6, 2013

We stayed here based upon the fab ratings on Trip Advisor, but found it to be below average at best. Firstly, the family room was dated and the carpet was old. The room was only cleaned after two days (after a complaint); this wasn't great as the entire room for the family was only about 15m squared at most. There was also no phone connection to reception.

Although not the hotel's fault, the stench of manure outside the hotel (as there were lots of free range chickens and other animals around) was really off putting.

We chose this hotel for the wifi and car park - the wifi only worked in the hotel area, and not in the far away room we were staying and the carpark was 10 Euros per day (as expected).

Breakfast was fresh bread with thin slices of ham and cheese, but very boring after the first morning; extras was expensive and dinner wasn't great and expensive - a shame as we expected to eat there every night and had dinner in Amsterdam every night (15min drive away) instead.

Maybe we were very unlucky, but for over 130 Euros per night, we expected a little better...

Room Tip: Do not get the family room.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank VivAL_2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2013

is rustic, old, small .. but that's the beauty of them! Located a few kilometers from Amsterdam, in a tiny town of former fishermen with an unpronounceable name (Durgerdammerdijk), this hotel with pub \ tavern, has a magnificent view over a lake (artificial) the most beautiful I've seen. the staff is helpful and friendly, the beer is good and the rooms are small but clean. The cost is reasonable. The bad thing is that it is badly connected with Amsterdam: there are only 2 buses a day, which do not go on holidays, or you have to call a taxi to come to Amsterdam and the price is quite high. If you do not have a car I do not recommend it. Instead, if you want to spend a weekend in relax in a place postcard, that's great!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ezio78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2012

We didn't stay at the hotel, but we stopped in for lunch and found it so cozy and warm! We biked on the dikes on a cold November day, and stopped in to the Tavern to warm up. The dutch pea soup was delicious - full of sausage and potatoes - and so savory. What a great little respite after biking 15 miles in the cold wind. Very relaxing and great service.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank kathleen o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2012

The place to stay for us. Nearby all activities . But still a very local hotel next to the water.
We found a nice hotel with beatiful rooms, nice breakfast a good snackplatter with a beer!
Coffee and pie! And a good meal.

Nice stay at de oude taveerne

Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
1  Thank JeffreyKost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

i booked this hotel for 2 nights and 2 rooms for my wife, my baby and 2 friends for a total cost of 435€ from booking.com and then non-refundable.
The first evening the room was already "occupied" by "insectes"(spiders and baby), i complaint to the reception and the guy took the insectes with the hand and told me : now this is clean.
I spoke to the hotel owner to get money back and refused because the room was clean for him.
As it was during the week end, the hotel was very noisy(bar just below to the rooms) and a lot of noise(music,bed...)
Then run away from this hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank CHRISTOPHE g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2012

Chose this hotel as did not want to be in the City Centre and fancied a 'small Amsterdam' feel. Two of us touring Europe on motorbikes stayed in August 2012 for 1 night.
The location is excellent, right on the waterfront, the bar and restaurant are frequented by locals and tourists alike. The beer and food were both very good. We had the Dutch Mussels in white wine and vegetables with french fries and bread on the side. All washed down with La Chouffe beer, excellent.
The hotel room was basic but comfortable and had everything you would need for a short stay. Beds were comfortable, en-suite and complimentary toiletries good.
Breakfast was a little basic, cold breads, cheese and ham but this is usual in Europe. Something hot would have been good.
I would stay again without hesitation.

Room Tip: Stayed in the standard rooms out the back of the hotel. I imaging the rooms above the bar would hav...
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CaptainSlog0312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
New West Inn Amsterdam
#162 of 371 in Amsterdam
1,076 reviews
Tulip Inn Amsterdam Riverside
#249 of 371 in Amsterdam
757 reviews
Bastion Hotel Amsterdam Amstel
#239 of 371 in Amsterdam
616 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stadsdeel Zuid
Euphemia Hotel
Euphemia Hotel
#263 of 371 in Amsterdam
207 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Washington
Hotel Washington
#266 of 371 in Amsterdam
507 reviews
West Side Inn Hotel
#301 of 371 in Amsterdam
1,926 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amsterdam Village Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amsterdam Village Hotel

Address: Durgerdammerdijk 73, 1026 CB Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly De Oude Taveerne)
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #323 of 371 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range: $102 - $281 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Amsterdam Village Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Amsterdam Village Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Oude Taveerne Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing