We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Just Outside the City” 4 of 5 stars
Review of De Oude Taveerne

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
De Oude Taveerne
Ranked #284 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Newcastle upon Tyne
Level Contributor
51 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Just Outside the City”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

Chose this hotel as did not want to be in the City Centre and fancied a 'small Amsterdam' feel. Two of us touring Europe on motorbikes stayed in August 2012 for 1 night.
The location is excellent, right on the waterfront, the bar and restaurant are frequented by locals and tourists alike. The beer and food were both very good. We had the Dutch Mussels in white wine and vegetables with french fries and bread on the side. All washed down with La Chouffe beer, excellent.
The hotel room was basic but comfortable and had everything you would need for a short stay. Beds were comfortable, en-suite and complimentary toiletries good.
Breakfast was a little basic, cold breads, cheese and ham but this is usual in Europe. Something hot would have been good.
I would stay again without hesitation.

Room Tip: Stayed in the standard rooms out the back of the hotel. I imaging the rooms above the bar would hav...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CaptainSlog0312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    20
    7
    5
    10
See reviews for
17
28
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ohio
Level Contributor
66 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

With our two sons, 13 and 8 we didn't want to stay in Amsterdam proper, and this property fit the bill perfectly. We had family room 216 with bunk beds that had a great view out the window (though not of the water since we were on the backside of the new building).

Reading previous reviews let me know my parking options were their €10/night secured lot or parking at the edge of the village on the street. I chose the secured parking and have included a photo to show how nice it is.

We ate dinner at their restaurant the first night after having drinks on the beautiful pier. I thought the food was good, the service friendly and not overpriced, considering there are NO other restaurants for kilometers around.

This property is a close drive over to the Zeeburg Park and Ride, which was a great and inexpensive (€8 for parking and round trip) way to get into Amsterdam without risking messing up my rental Golf amidst all the trams, motorists and cyclists in the City.

Breakfast the first morning was a bit off...I had a dirty juice glass that was never filled, however we did get coffee and delicious hot chocolate for the kids. The next morning, orange juice found its way into the glass. My 8 year old, not familiar with European breakfasts quipped at the meat and cheese tray, "Is this our breakfast, or do we have to order yet?"

Alas, no eggs, despite their being a whimsical chicken coop in the garden area. There were also stray cats about that the kids enjoyed interacting with. There's also a small playground adjacent.

All in all, although twice the price of other hotels we stayed at...it is Amsterdam after all and it was a nice break from the run-of-the-windmill Novotels etc. that we stayed at on other nights during our little Benelux roadtrip, and I would not hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TeamW4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Overseas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2012

This hotel has an incredible location... and a great view from the restaurant/bar. There are benches outside and tables down by the water. It seems to be the only restaurant/bar in the area, so it can be quite busy. It has nice character with murals on the walls.

Our boys loved going up into the attic to sleep...they thought they were sleeping in a tree house. Our room was 103 over the back part of the restaurant with no view. Everything squeaked...the water temperature fluctuated uncontrollably and the sinks were too small to even shave in. The spacing was a bit cramped so if you are claustrophobic, the room (especially the bathrooms) would not work for you! The beds were not very comfortable and there was so much dust that you could see it floating in the air. We were all sneezing from the volume of particles in the air. Upstairs looked like it had not been vacuumed in a while and the over-head windows would not open...however, there were fans in the room.

The food was okay...70 Euros for 4 of us seemed over-priced...especially for what was ordered...however, you can not beat the view. The location was good to get to where we were going...not so far from things as well...either the city or Zanndam. So I give this place a 50 out of 100. It was culturally nice, but overpriced for what we got.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank glhsah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2012

The hotel, rooms, treatment, just horrible. The hotel far from the city, the hotel is old and dilapidated and employees do not sympathetic

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
4 Thank Gil S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Amsterdam hotels

Israel
Level Contributor
120 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2012

Reading the reviews here on Tripadvisor and needing a nice place to stay for a 2 day visit to Amsterdam and surroundings, we decided to make inquiries about prices and room availability.
My email was answered by the owner who just referred me to his website. Not very helpful!........
We drove to the place to have a look for ourselves and we were welcomed by a very friendly and helpful manager who showed us all the available rooms and so we were satisfied and booked room 104 (called captain A. Haddock) at the front on the first floor for two days the next week on our return trip. A nice, spacious and cosy room. Old, wooden furniture, totally in style of an 19 century sea master. The mattresses could have been a touch more firmer, but that's also a matter of personal taste.
We had a lovely dinner, a giant sea sole poached in butter. Delicious, expensive but worth it!
Breakfast was simple. Very tasty Dutch coffee, white and whole grain slices of bread, cold cuts, old and young Dutch cheese, some marmalade and Dutch chocolate chips (hagelslag). They don't have a breakfast cook, so no eggs.
Internet WiFi is free.
Although an old place, they use modern technology such as RFID room cards and light switches reacting on movement.
All in all, Holland as it should be and a place we can wholeheartedly recommend.
Possibilities: The tourist office of Durgerdam has a nice parkour prepared that you can walk or bike.

Room Tip: Definitely the rooms at the front with sea view such as room 104 called captain A. Haddock.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JmK4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2011

I spent two nights at this hotel and I must say I was impressed by the atmosphere that the owners offer. Away from the city, with a spectacular view. But you can reach the city in 10-15 min driving. The place makes you feel like you are a local.The room was very nice, a great bed, a big balcony...Their restaurant takes you in another world...Its decoration takes you back in time...just beautiful.

Room Tip: I had the Superior Double Room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NatalieR4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
New West Inn Amsterdam
#159 of 364 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 881 reviews
Centrum
Hotel Mevlana
Hotel Mevlana
#300 of 364 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 stars 153 reviews
West Side Inn Hotel
#290 of 364 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 stars 1,661 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Amsterdam Teleport Hotel
#74 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 254 reviews
Bastion Hotel Amsterdam Amstel
#231 of 364 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 stars 458 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
ITC Hotel
ITC Hotel
#270 of 364 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 stars 470 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to De Oude Taveerne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De Oude Taveerne

Property: De Oude Taveerne
Address: Durgerdammerdijk 73, 1026 CB Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #284 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — De Oude Taveerne 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your De Oude Taveerne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Oude Taveerne Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing