We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Close to Amsterdam without staying in the city.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of De Oude Taveerne

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
De Oude Taveerne
Ranked #286 of 361 Hotels in Amsterdam
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    21
    9
    5
    11
See reviews for
17
29
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Israel
Level Contributor
119 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2012

Reading the reviews here on Tripadvisor and needing a nice place to stay for a 2 day visit to Amsterdam and surroundings, we decided to make inquiries about prices and room availability.
My email was answered by the owner who just referred me to his website. Not very helpful!........
We drove to the place to have a look for ourselves and we were welcomed by a very friendly and helpful manager who showed us all the available rooms and so we were satisfied and booked room 104 (called captain A. Haddock) at the front on the first floor for two days the next week on our return trip. A nice, spacious and cosy room. Old, wooden furniture, totally in style of an 19 century sea master. The mattresses could have been a touch more firmer, but that's also a matter of personal taste.
We had a lovely dinner, a giant sea sole poached in butter. Delicious, expensive but worth it!
Breakfast was simple. Very tasty Dutch coffee, white and whole grain slices of bread, cold cuts, old and young Dutch cheese, some marmalade and Dutch chocolate chips (hagelslag). They don't have a breakfast cook, so no eggs.
Internet WiFi is free.
Although an old place, they use modern technology such as RFID room cards and light switches reacting on movement.
All in all, Holland as it should be and a place we can wholeheartedly recommend.
Possibilities: The tourist office of Durgerdam has a nice parkour prepared that you can walk or bike.

Room Tip: Definitely the rooms at the front with sea view such as room 104 called captain A. Haddock.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JmK4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2011

I spent two nights at this hotel and I must say I was impressed by the atmosphere that the owners offer. Away from the city, with a spectacular view. But you can reach the city in 10-15 min driving. The place makes you feel like you are a local.The room was very nice, a great bed, a big balcony...Their restaurant takes you in another world...Its decoration takes you back in time...just beautiful.

Room Tip: I had the Superior Double Room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NatalieR4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corpus Christi, Texas
Level Contributor
35 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2011

We ey are limited. were looking to stay at a place that was not an American Hotel in Holland, this place looked to fit the bill as it was originally an old fishermans house from the 1700s. We booked it on Priceline and showed up for the last three days of our vacation. The things you should know are: Only six rooms of the hotel are in the old house, the rest were added in the last few years. Its a good way to anything, you have to have a car. The restaurant food is average and the service is really bad. The room we stayed in was clean but small for a "superior" room, the only view we had was of the neighbors yard, be sure to ask for a sea view room if you come here unless you are just looking for a place to sleep. Overall it was not a bargain, but there arent many bargains in Amsterdam in the high season. We drove to Keukenhoff Gardens today which was pretty close at 31 k and the Heineken experience which was under 10 k. It is a nice area on the waterfront, but I wont come here again.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mikeyy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Twickenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2011

What a delightful find. The hotel is in a small village on the outskirts of the city, which makes it very quiet and peaceful, with lots of wildfowl resident in the huge lakes that surround it. The location really is beautiful. They have their own pier on the lake with seating at the far end, so you really feel as though you’re sitting right on the water. It’s very romantic for couples!

Our room was in the new part of the hotel on the ground floor. It was spacious with plenty of room for all our stuff, a lovely bathroom with a great shower, great heating (we needed it – it was freezing outside!), a mini-bar fridge that came in handy for the delicious Dutch cheese we bought and a safe. But best of all was the most wonderfully comfortable bed that, together with the thick curtains and near silence of our surroundings, resulted in us missing breakfast every day of our stay!

Tea & coffee facilities are provided in the room but the cups are incredibly small, so I would advise anyone who likes a decent cup of tea to take your own cup! And milk, which you can keep in the fridge.

The restaurant food is incredibly expensive for what it is, although the pricey sandwiches we had were tasty. Parking is secure and much cheaper than any of the hotels in the city centre could offer.

There is a bus service from outside the hotel that offers a free trip to a bus terminus from where you can get a bus to the centre. It runs about once an hour but on Sundays it’s a telephone request service. Alternatively, the park & ride is a 5-minute drive away and excellent value for money – parking + return tram to the centre is 8 Euros for up to 4 people. But if you don’t want to drive, the tram stop is a pleasant 40-minute walk away through lovely countryside where you can admire the lakeside view and boats from the top of the dyke. We had good weather though so it probably wouldn’t be quite so pleasant in the rain. I wouldn’t stay here without a car – not because of needing to use it whilst we were there, but purely because of getting to and from the hotel with luggage.

We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cleversaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2010

I booked this hotel for a 2 night stay , for 2 rooms, during half term, at a total cost of GBP 400 through Booking.com and it was booked with an up front payment, non-refundable( which is, of course, entirely at the discretion of the hotel). It wasn't even cheap.
I was forced to cancel, because of work problems, and gave them three weeks notice.
I can't go any other time because it's not school holidays.
They refused to reimburse me , and when I suggested they deduct a reasonable admin change (say €50) , in the interests of fairness , they still refused !
Incredibly mean , given that they can easily re-let the rooms - and I suspect possibly Illegal also - given that I gave plenty of notice and I have received no service for my payment. It is entirely at the discretion of the hotel, it has nothing to do with Booking.com - they even asked the hotel to make a refund !
I may pursue legally.
Shocking - do not use this hotel and do not give these very mean spirited people your money.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
Helpful?
7 Thank Peoples_Champion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Amsterdam hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
8.2 mi away
New West Inn Amsterdam
New West Inn Amsterdam
#162 of 361 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 983 reviews
4.0 mi away
Bastion Hotel Amsterdam Amstel
Bastion Hotel Amsterdam Amstel
#233 of 361 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 bubbles 542 reviews
3.6 mi away
Volkshotel
Volkshotel
#42 of 361 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,082 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Tulip Inn Amsterdam Riverside
Tulip Inn Amsterdam Riverside
#219 of 361 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 683 reviews
6.6 mi away
Amsterdam Teleport Hotel
Amsterdam Teleport Hotel
#64 of 361 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 473 reviews
2.8 mi away
Bastion Hotel Amsterdam Noord
Bastion Hotel Amsterdam Noord
#195 of 361 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to De Oude Taveerne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De Oude Taveerne

Property: De Oude Taveerne
Address: Durgerdammerdijk 73, 1026 CB Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #286 of 361 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — De Oude Taveerne 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your De Oude Taveerne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Oude Taveerne Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing