We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Adolesce
Nearby Hotels
$286
$228
NH Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Estherea(Amsterdam)
$242
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Amsterdam Marriott Hotel(Amsterdam)
$245
Marriott Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Savings alert! 17% below average rates

The price you found is 17% lower than this hotel's average rate of $294/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$292
$180
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of $203/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$242
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Banks Mansion(Amsterdam)
$318
Official Hotel
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$335
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Ambassade Hotel(Amsterdam)
$414
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Lloyd Hotel(Amsterdam)(Great Value!)
$68
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 16% below average rates

The price you found is 16% lower than this hotel's average rate of $81/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

The Toren(Amsterdam)
$318
$251
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of $289/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (105)
Filter reviews
105 results
Traveler rating
40
52
8
4
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
40
52
8
4
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsstairs are steepexcellent locationtoilet and showerboiled eggssalamiprivate bathroomcold meatsyogurtwould definitely stay here againgood sizemuseumcanalcityfridgeloungesuitcases
Filter
Updating list...
19 - 24 of 105 reviews
Reviewed September 18, 2013

Great location. Quiet. Can walk many places but near to tram line. Clean, airy. Friendly helpful staff. Steep stairs - but that is the same everywhere in Amsterdam. Plentiful breakfast. Couldn't fault it for the price. Pleasant bar down the road. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Philip B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2013

This is very near to station Waterlooplein and few steps away from the famous 'Skinny Bridge’. Our room was typical Dutch style room with big windows across the length and view of canal. Rooms were very Spacious, Relaxing, Clean and the bathroom and shower room is separated.Snacks is available 24 hours. Owner Kees was very accommodating and polite. He is very prompt in replying emails. The stairs were uncomfortable but that’s the way it is in every Dutch traditional house. Wi-fi was available in our room. This budget hotel is in the heart of city and most places of interest, trams and metro are within walking distance. We enjoyed our stay at Adolesce.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tulika S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2013

A good hotel in a quite and convenient location. The room was huge! Very basic but clean and comfortable. No fridge in the room but tea, coffee, eggs, cheese, tomato available all day in the dining area. Chris was extremely friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Stairs to the rooms are very narrow and steep .....a first floor room is best
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AussieTravellers2233
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2013 via mobile

It was my fiirst time in Amsterdam; the Adolesce suited the cple of days of exploring. Great location making it easy to get everywhere and felt safe. Management was cheerful and helpful; like all European destinations, lots of stairs so pack light; unfortunately I didn't lol. Small bathroom facilities but clean, big bedroom, that said loved the 24hr brunch with basics; would stay again.

Thank Kiwikaaz
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed May 29, 2013

This was the second time that we stayed at the Hotel Adolesce.Little has changed since we were there 6 years ago.We just adore the place.
It is situated on a lovely, quiet, canal facing the Hermitage Museum. Every area of Amsterdam is within a half and hour walk. There are also shops, like Hema, Albert Hennig Food store and a wonderful place for soup , called Zoup En Zo, within a 5 minute, couple block walk on Jodenbreestr.
As other have stated, the hotel is fairly basic, but very clean, warm and inviting. The owner, Kees, keeps a bowl of the yummiest gum drops in a bowl, where you enter the reception area. He keeps the food bar fairly well stocked and we sampled about 4 different kinds of cookies on our two day stay, and we didn't find a cookie that we didn't like. It was wonderful to tour a section of the city, come back for tea and a snack, go back out to explore, come back for tea and a snack and go out again.Kees knows the city well and will quickly give you directions and info on how to get to where you want to go.
If you plan on staying at the Hotel, we always walk there from the central station. Take Geldersekade, and pass through the Nieuwmarket to St. Antoniesbreestr which across the canal turns into Jodenbreestr. Look for huge sign location of the Joods Historic Museum and head towards it on Weesperstr. On the block of the Hermitage Museum cross the canal, walk right down the block and you are there.Easy.
Do pack lightly to stay at this hotel, for it is an old canal house with very steep stairs.

Room Tip: Not a place to stay if you have a lot of luggage. If you do, ask for a room on the 1st floor, but you'll still have a steep stairway to carry up your bags.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Susan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews