We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Adolesce

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Adolesce
Ranked #197 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

Great location. Quiet. Can walk many places but near to tram line. Clean, airy. Friendly helpful staff. Steep stairs - but that is the same everywhere in Amsterdam. Plentiful breakfast. Couldn't fault it for the price. Pleasant bar down the road. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Philip B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    47
    8
    3
    0
See reviews for
20
26
14
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

Wife and I arrived early AMS (5am) from DTW on Sunday morning. Train tickets, trolley tickets and metro with a little wandering around the streets close to the waterlooplein stop, we arrive at Hotel Adolesce at 8am local time. Our luck, two guests were just arriving from their Saturday night out and they let us in.

We waited in the lobby and were greeted by the proprietor after a short 10 minute wait. Gracious and accommodating, we stored our bags and were off to experience our first day of AMS. On our 1pm return our room was ready. Up the stairs to room 11 and pleasantly surprised. The room is big, one queen and one single with a very pleasant view of a beautiful court yard which one day 3 we had the pleasure of seeing first hand.

More about the proprietor. Day 4 I had my wallet stolen and did not realize it until we arrived back at the hotel at midnight. A knock on the proprietor's private residence at 20 minutes past midnight and he was quick to assist with enabling the phone for long distance dialing for credit card cancellation. He followed up with a phone call to inquire if all was 'ok', which it was, no charges on the cards, cards canceled and new cards were being mailed.

On our last day before heading to the airport for Prague, CZ, we enjoyed the remaining beer I had purchased and the proprietor graciously stored, with him, at the bar in the lobby.

I've left off many additional positive interactions and specifically his name as I do not feel I can include without his expressed approval which I do not have.

The other reviews do a great job of describing the multiple benefits of staying at Hotel Adolesce, another that is left out of those reviews and I've included in this one is the proprietor.

Suffice it to say he has a heart that is as large as room 11.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank david r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

This is very near to station Waterlooplein and few steps away from the famous 'Skinny Bridge’. Our room was typical Dutch style room with big windows across the length and view of canal. Rooms were very Spacious, Relaxing, Clean and the bathroom and shower room is separated.Snacks is available 24 hours. Owner Kees was very accommodating and polite. He is very prompt in replying emails. The stairs were uncomfortable but that’s the way it is in every Dutch traditional house. Wi-fi was available in our room. This budget hotel is in the heart of city and most places of interest, trams and metro are within walking distance. We enjoyed our stay at Adolesce.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tuli_srivastava
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

A good hotel in a quite and convenient location. The room was huge! Very basic but clean and comfortable. No fridge in the room but tea, coffee, eggs, cheese, tomato available all day in the dining area. Chris was extremely friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Stairs to the rooms are very narrow and steep .....a first floor room is best
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AussieTravellers2233
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013 via mobile

It was my fiirst time in Amsterdam; the Adolesce suited the cple of days of exploring. Great location making it easy to get everywhere and felt safe. Management was cheerful and helpful; like all European destinations, lots of stairs so pack light; unfortunately I didn't lol. Small bathroom facilities but clean, big bedroom, that said loved the 24hr brunch with basics; would stay again.

Helpful?
Thank Kiwikaaz
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

This was the second time that we stayed at the Hotel Adolesce.Little has changed since we were there 6 years ago.We just adore the place.
It is situated on a lovely, quiet, canal facing the Hermitage Museum. Every area of Amsterdam is within a half and hour walk. There are also shops, like Hema, Albert Hennig Food store and a wonderful place for soup , called Zoup En Zo, within a 5 minute, couple block walk on Jodenbreestr.
As other have stated, the hotel is fairly basic, but very clean, warm and inviting. The owner, Kees, keeps a bowl of the yummiest gum drops in a bowl, where you enter the reception area. He keeps the food bar fairly well stocked and we sampled about 4 different kinds of cookies on our two day stay, and we didn't find a cookie that we didn't like. It was wonderful to tour a section of the city, come back for tea and a snack, go back out to explore, come back for tea and a snack and go out again.Kees knows the city well and will quickly give you directions and info on how to get to where you want to go.
If you plan on staying at the Hotel, we always walk there from the central station. Take Geldersekade, and pass through the Nieuwmarket to St. Antoniesbreestr which across the canal turns into Jodenbreestr. Look for huge sign location of the Joods Historic Museum and head towards it on Weesperstr. On the block of the Hermitage Museum cross the canal, walk right down the block and you are there.Easy.
Do pack lightly to stay at this hotel, for it is an old canal house with very steep stairs.

Room Tip: Not a place to stay if you have a lot of luggage. If you do, ask for a room on the 1st floor, but yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Susan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emerald Beach, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

I was attracted to this hotel when I read the reviews because it seemed quaint. The reviews were accurate. Both the manager and the hotel make it an interesting place to stay. Our room was clean and the all day buffet a good idea, especially when returniong after a day of sightseeing. We didn't miss the usual cooked breakfast. The location is great - we were able to walk everywhere and we had a view of the canal from lovely large windows.

Room Tip: Overlooking the canal. We were up a couple of flights of stairs which we loved but may be difficult...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bambi E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Plantage & the East
The Bridge Hotel
The Bridge Hotel
#87 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 891 reviews
Plantage & the East
Hotel Hermitage Amsterdam
Hotel Hermitage Amsterdam
#253 of 364 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 416 reviews
Plantage & the East
Hotel Rembrandt
Hotel Rembrandt
#189 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Plantage & the East
Hotel Plantage
Hotel Plantage
#232 of 364 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 360 reviews
Plantage & the East
Amsterdam Hotel Parklane
Amsterdam Hotel Parklane
#221 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 91 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Owl Hotel
Owl Hotel
#111 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 596 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Adolesce? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Adolesce

Property: Hotel Adolesce
Address: Nieuwe Keizersgracht 26, 1018 DS Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Plantage & the East , Binnenstad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #197 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Adolesce 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Adolesce reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Adolesce Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing