We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing Canal View” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Adolesce

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Amsterdam
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Adolesce
Ranked #199 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Relaxing Canal View”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013

This is very near to station Waterlooplein and few steps away from the famous 'Skinny Bridge’. Our room was typical Dutch style room with big windows across the length and view of canal. Rooms were very Spacious, Relaxing, Clean and the bathroom and shower room is separated.Snacks is available 24 hours. Owner Kees was very accommodating and polite. He is very prompt in replying emails. The stairs were uncomfortable but that’s the way it is in every Dutch traditional house. Wi-fi was available in our room. This budget hotel is in the heart of city and most places of interest, trams and metro are within walking distance. We enjoyed our stay at Adolesce.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tuli_srivastava
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    49
    8
    3
    0
See reviews for
21
27
14
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2013

A good hotel in a quite and convenient location. The room was huge! Very basic but clean and comfortable. No fridge in the room but tea, coffee, eggs, cheese, tomato available all day in the dining area. Chris was extremely friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Stairs to the rooms are very narrow and steep .....a first floor room is best
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AussieTravellers2233
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2013 via mobile

It was my fiirst time in Amsterdam; the Adolesce suited the cple of days of exploring. Great location making it easy to get everywhere and felt safe. Management was cheerful and helpful; like all European destinations, lots of stairs so pack light; unfortunately I didn't lol. Small bathroom facilities but clean, big bedroom, that said loved the 24hr brunch with basics; would stay again.

Helpful?
Thank Kiwikaaz
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2013

This was the second time that we stayed at the Hotel Adolesce.Little has changed since we were there 6 years ago.We just adore the place.
It is situated on a lovely, quiet, canal facing the Hermitage Museum. Every area of Amsterdam is within a half and hour walk. There are also shops, like Hema, Albert Hennig Food store and a wonderful place for soup , called Zoup En Zo, within a 5 minute, couple block walk on Jodenbreestr.
As other have stated, the hotel is fairly basic, but very clean, warm and inviting. The owner, Kees, keeps a bowl of the yummiest gum drops in a bowl, where you enter the reception area. He keeps the food bar fairly well stocked and we sampled about 4 different kinds of cookies on our two day stay, and we didn't find a cookie that we didn't like. It was wonderful to tour a section of the city, come back for tea and a snack, go back out to explore, come back for tea and a snack and go out again.Kees knows the city well and will quickly give you directions and info on how to get to where you want to go.
If you plan on staying at the Hotel, we always walk there from the central station. Take Geldersekade, and pass through the Nieuwmarket to St. Antoniesbreestr which across the canal turns into Jodenbreestr. Look for huge sign location of the Joods Historic Museum and head towards it on Weesperstr. On the block of the Hermitage Museum cross the canal, walk right down the block and you are there.Easy.
Do pack lightly to stay at this hotel, for it is an old canal house with very steep stairs.

Room Tip: Not a place to stay if you have a lot of luggage. If you do, ask for a room on the 1st floor, but yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Susan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emerald Beach, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2013

I was attracted to this hotel when I read the reviews because it seemed quaint. The reviews were accurate. Both the manager and the hotel make it an interesting place to stay. Our room was clean and the all day buffet a good idea, especially when returniong after a day of sightseeing. We didn't miss the usual cooked breakfast. The location is great - we were able to walk everywhere and we had a view of the canal from lovely large windows.

Room Tip: Overlooking the canal. We were up a couple of flights of stairs which we loved but may be difficult...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bambi E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2012

Had a great time with my family.
Location is excellent, very close to the Hermitage Museum.
There is 24 hours buffet with milk, juice, bread, cookies. We had a room with a double bed and a single one and it was very spacious, in front of a canal.

The gentleman at the reception was very nice and kind and gave us information and directions. We were allowed to leave our bag at the hotel the day we check out.

There is free wi-fi and a laptop in the reception.

Good value for a budget hotel!

We will be back again!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NazaP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2012

This hotel is more of a bread and breakfast. The accommodation was basic. The furniture was old, the mattress had seen the best of its days, the carpets looked like the DIY project of a budding decorator. This was truly one of the least aesthetically appealing places I had ever stayed in, but truth be told, I would go back there again.

The rooms were clean. There was a 24 hour brunch in the dining room consisting of basic ingredients such as boiled eggs, cereal, milk, juice and plenty more.

The bathroom was smaller than most closets.

Nothing fancy, but adequate.

The host was great. He host gave us a different room closer to the ground floor as we had heavy bags even though we had booked for another room. As it is with many buildings in Amsterdam, climbing the stairs is akin to wall climbing.

The hotel was also a walking distance from the metro and all the good party spots in the city. We walked everywhere for most of our visit in Amsterdam. Shops, restaurants and main attractions such as Van Gogh Museum are a walk or tram ride away.

If you're looking for simple, clean & convenient, this is the place for you. No frills, but comfortable.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank YesJourney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Plantage & the East
Hotel Hermitage Amsterdam
Hotel Hermitage Amsterdam
#264 of 362 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 429 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Keizershof
Hotel Keizershof
#130 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 292 reviews
Plantage & the East
The Bridge Hotel
The Bridge Hotel
#86 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 927 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Plantage & the East
Amsterdam Hotel Parklane
Amsterdam Hotel Parklane
#223 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Quentin Arrive Hotel
Quentin Arrive Hotel
#289 of 362 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 bubbles 603 reviews
Plantage & the East
Hotel Rembrandt
Hotel Rembrandt
#188 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Adolesce? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Adolesce

Property: Hotel Adolesce
Address: Nieuwe Keizersgracht 26, 1018 DS Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Plantage & the East , Binnenstad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
#14 Best Value Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Adolesce 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
Adolesce Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing