We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and room”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Nova Apartments Amsterdam
Ranked #168 of 373 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 24, 2014

Stayed here for 3 nights in a room on the second floor. The hotel is located in Museumplein, close to several art museums and in a quiet street. It was nice to get away from the hustle and bustle. I felt safe despite no reception. The room is great - big, quiet, comfy beds and gets cleaned daily. Take bus 197 from airport to Museumplein. It's €5 each way. Take a right on Van Baerlestraat and then a right on Nicolaas Maestraat. It's a 5 minute walk from the stop. Trams are really close by, too. The only thing to note is A/C. Not sure the rooms have it so check if you come during summer. We didn't need it as the weather was pleasant and there was a fan. I would stay here again. It was fantastic!

Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
3  Thank Bruna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (177)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

63 - 69 of 177 reviews

Reviewed May 21, 2014

We stayed a weekend in this Apartments and had the best sleep ever!! Nice and clean Apartment on the ground floor(basement if I could Call it that way) Neat Kitchen exceptionally wonderful reception (by a caretaker) and a helpful desk. I prepared Our breakfast at Our own convenience. Very quite recidential area. Takes around 14 minutes to wald to Central Amsterdam. I will choose this hotel again - and again!!

Room Tip: I might try the other floors Next time but honestly I would not be bothered. A very quite area and n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Dan N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2014

The apartments are very well located for visiting Rejks museum, Van Gogh museum, mosern art museum and Concert Gebauw. Clean, well furnished, fresh. I had only one problem - total idiot at the reception, now the reception is not at the property, it is 10 km away. You connect to the reception by ringing the bell next to the entrance door.

Unfortunately for me the person who answered my call could not find my fully prepaid reservation. This type of things happen, but this one did not want to make an effort to investigate the issue, just kept telling me to go away because he had no record of my reservation and the property was sold out, he refused to buzz me into the lobby. Finally another guest came out and let me in, then I found inside an envelope with my name and the keys to the apartment. So it all ended well. I did call from the road few hours earlier to tell the property exactly when I am coming and confirmed the details so that must have helped to prepare an envelope for me, but when you run into a receptionist who is really indifferent to the fact that he is sending out on the street without a place to stay after you paid for it, there are not many things you can do to secure your stay.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank indep_travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2014

I loved the location. It's on a quiet, tree-lined street. The windows are beautiful and look out upon the trees. The apartment we rented (2nd floor) had a giant tulip painting on the wall that instantly gives you the feeling that you are in Holland. The other decor and amenities were equally pleasing. It just has a good "feel" to it, and I was comfortable immediately.

It's also nice having easy access to the hotel staff which is not always so convenient when renting apartments. For instance, we asked if they could arrange a taxi for us on our departure day, and the hotel front desk staff took care of it for us.

For groceries, the closest big store is the Albert Heijn -- a 5-10 minute walk -- at the Museumplein (lower level of Stedelijk Museum).

In terms of the floorplan, the only drawback is that the bedroom area is separated from the living space by only a partial wall -- not a separate room. Oh well, I guess we can't become too comfy or we'd never return home, right?

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mf-sandiego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2014

Comfortable apartment, conveniently located. If you are coming from the airport, you may reach it by taking bus 197 which stops at Museumplein. Get off when you see the concert hall. From the bus stop it is a very short walk to the apartment. Therefore it is easy to get back to the hotel, go to Keukenhof, etc. However, as it is not near the canals, it does not feel like you are in Amsterdam. As a personal preference, being a tourist I would prefer to stay near the canals and enjoy the charms of being in Amsterdam. The room is clean, bed comfortable, no complains, really.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank KLWanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2014 via mobile

This was our first trip to Amsterdam, so I did hours of research on where to stay. So glad I did. This place is a gem. Its a bit of a walk (about 30 mins- longer with luggage!) from the station, so I would recommend getting an OV-kard (like an Oyster card). It cost €12 for 2 days unlimited travel on the trams (btw the trams stop at midnight on Sunday night. We got caught out there!). So it's good value when your legs get tired from all the exploring. The Tram stops just round the corner. But get your OV kard at the station. I couldn't find the 'vending' machines to buy them, so we had to go back to the station to get them. Not a problem as you'll be wandering all over anyway and it's a small city so easy to get your bearings.
We had the ground floor studio (I requested a non basement room after reading the neg reviews on here). It was lovely. The only niggles I had, were a full length mirror, a toaster and a double duvet would be good. The bed/pillows were so comfy, the bath was very deep, but would be hard to get into if you had mobility probs. The water pressure was fab even tho it wasn't a power shower.
Room was warm with only the window opening a couple of inches. This was fine for us as we needed the heating on but I can't imagine how hot this would be in the summer!
Intercom system with reception is easy and you can leave your luggage in the apart foyer to collect later.
Wifi was strong, free and fast. All details about the apartments are in a welcome letter in the foyer when you arrive. Easy!
There was a pic of a small garden area on the website but I think you can only access this from certain apartments.
The hotels in town looked grubby (tho maybe they're better inside), so I'm pleased we stayed here. It's slightly out the way of the main city but that makes it quieter. However it's an easy stroll to the centre (about 15 mins). Lovely!!
Highly recommend the dutch resistance museum (opposite the zoo). Very moving and very well done. €8 entry.
Ps. Don't eat at zorbas Greek restaurant in the leidseplein. It was overpriced and not good.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
3  Thank elainexxxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2014

Great stay in a convenient location, so close to Concertgebouw.
Had everything we wanted, including coffee machine.
Recommend Elements restaurant beside Bibliotheke to the South for
great meals cooked by students, but need to book to be there by 7 pm.
Jerry & Alexis

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank Jerry K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
The Muse Amsterdam - Boutique Hotel
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
De Bedstee Boutique Capsules
De Bedstee Boutique Capsules
#348 of 373 in Amsterdam
6 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Conscious Hotel Museum Square
Conscious Hotel Museum Square
#82 of 373 in Amsterdam
958 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
The Concert Hotel
The Concert Hotel
#218 of 373 in Amsterdam
213 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel The Neighbour's Magnolia
Hotel The Neighbour's Magnolia
#111 of 373 in Amsterdam
880 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Verdi
Hotel Verdi
#187 of 373 in Amsterdam
183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nova Apartments Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nova Apartments Amsterdam

Address: Nicolaas Maesstraat 72, 1071 RC Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier) , Museumplein
Amenities:
Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#70 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#103 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range: $127 - $282 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Nova Apartments Amsterdam 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Cancelon, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your Nova Apartments Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nova Apartments Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing