We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice apartments”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Nova Apartments Amsterdam
Ranked #172 of 367 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    79
    10
    3
    1
See reviews for
35
89
10
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Paphos, Cyprus
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2013

The absence of any staff is a little strange at first but works OK. We stayed in a one bedroom apartment that was comfortable and well equipped although a toaster would be a useful addition. Location is good in the quieter Museum Quarter with good local restaurants and easy access to trams. Not cheap but good value.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dp191244
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Located at a walking distance (5 minutes) from the Museumplein (Van Gogh, Rijks and others) these apartments with kitchenette are very nice overall. Staff is friendly, and cleans everyday, the cleaning lady was very friendly and would accommodate the cleaning hours to our schedule as we could leave the apartement late in the morning. The kitchenette as it all, except washing machine. There is a supermarket in the museum plaza (museumplein) which is Albert Heijn (sp?) convenient indeed. We had a child with us. However just in the last day we discovered that there was a little grocery a few roads down, also convenient.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paramonte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walldorf, Baden-Württemberg, Germany
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed July 14, 2013

Great location...2 minutes walk to Museumplein center that makes it easier to get trams and buses. Due to this good location, we always had connection from Centraal station or Liedsplein even during the late night hours.

Very well organized check-in and check-out system. The rooms were very clean and beautifully maintained like your own home. Our room had a balcony with sit-out on grass carpet, which just made our mornig every day. Kitchen was well-equipped with every basic need that you could think of. Rooms were cleaned everyday.

You could park your car in a P+R which was just 2 Kms drive from the hotel. It was also possible to park the car right outside the hotel on the street, with charges applicable from Mon-Sat.
There was a departmental store very close to the hotel so we could buy groceries for daily cooking. We spect 3 night and loved every part of our stay.

We are certainly going back there!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ashi R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2013

Spent two nights at Nova. Suite was spacious for one or two, with kitchen, on a quiet street. Room included wifi. Great value for the room (about 70 Euro a night). Need to take a trolley to the apartment from the train station, which is a nice trip in itself. However, if you need to get there quicker and more directly, take a cab. The room is a suite but the bedroom is set off, without a door. So, if someone else is there in the sitting area, may not be too quiet. Bed was fine and large for one tall person (6'), but you have to angle yourself if a bit taller as the head and foot of the bed are against walls, which is a bit odd. Not a problem as there was two entrances to the room from either side of the bed.

Very close to the Rijksmuseum and Concertgebouw, which has concerts almost every day. Take advantage of the close proximity to the concert hall to see/hear something there. Amazing acoustics.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank MJF01234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2013

We booked a studio apartment. Good points: fantastic location, good airport link (197 bus very near) museums nearby, quiet street, nice buildings. Apartment has everything you need and supermarket nearby. Shower is brilliant. Apartment cleaned and tidied every day - even the breakfast dishes left in the sink because the dishwasher was full. Check in was smooth, just pick up the envelope in the hall. Bed was lovely, the mattress and pillows were so comfy - I have trouble sleeping normally but was out for the count the first night. The two single quilts on the double bed were great.
Not so good points; the apartment we booked was dark - the other studio has doors opening on to a courtyard, (the studios are in the basement) The very nice electrician who co-incidentally visited to check out the lighting in our apartment said they had plans to improve it, but you need to be aware it is downstairs with smallish high windows where you see the legs of passersby! We felt a bit disappointed that we hadn't got the other one! When you book an apartment you like to come back after sightseeing and relax in a nice atmosphere whilst making something to eat and drink. On a sunny day it feels gloomy. I would consider upgrading to the slightly more expensive apartment if the back studio was unavailable. Don't forget to buy kitchen roll - they have towels in the kitchen area but nothing to wipe up spills etc. Also check the salt cellar has salt in it! We didn't and it spoilt our dinner a bit. The stairs down to the apartments are very steep and not the safest so not ideal for very young or old. The apartment is generally clean apart from the top of the shower rail and the extractor fan (although high up things tend to get neglected in almost every place I've visited)
All in all I would have no hesitation in recommending Nova Apartments, and with a little attention, my little niggles will not affect future travellers.

Room Tip: The basement studio facing the street is dark. Choose the back one or go up a floor.
See more room tips
Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank deecow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
The Muse Amsterdam - Boutique Hotel
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Conscious Hotel Museum Square
Conscious Hotel Museum Square
#81 of 367 in Amsterdam
939 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
The Concert Hotel
The Concert Hotel
#211 of 367 in Amsterdam
207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Cityden Museum District City Suites
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel The Neighbour's Magnolia
Hotel The Neighbour's Magnolia
#110 of 367 in Amsterdam
855 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Aalders
Hotel Aalders
#52 of 367 in Amsterdam
1,301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nova Apartments Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nova Apartments Amsterdam

Property: Nova Apartments Amsterdam
Address: Nicolaas Maesstraat 72, 1071 RC Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier) , Museumplein
Amenities:
Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#70 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#103 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Nova Apartments Amsterdam 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Agoda, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Nova Apartments Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nova Apartments Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing