We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Nova Apartments Amsterdam
Ranked #168 of 368 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“great location”
Reviewed June 22, 2013

We booked a studio apartment. Good points: fantastic location, good airport link (197 bus very near) museums nearby, quiet street, nice buildings. Apartment has everything you need and supermarket nearby. Shower is brilliant. Apartment cleaned and tidied every day - even the breakfast dishes left in the sink because the dishwasher was full. Check in was smooth, just pick up the envelope in the hall. Bed was lovely, the mattress and pillows were so comfy - I have trouble sleeping normally but was out for the count the first night. The two single quilts on the double bed were great.
Not so good points; the apartment we booked was dark - the other studio has doors opening on to a courtyard, (the studios are in the basement) The very nice electrician who co-incidentally visited to check out the lighting in our apartment said they had plans to improve it, but you need to be aware it is downstairs with smallish high windows where you see the legs of passersby! We felt a bit disappointed that we hadn't got the other one! When you book an apartment you like to come back after sightseeing and relax in a nice atmosphere whilst making something to eat and drink. On a sunny day it feels gloomy. I would consider upgrading to the slightly more expensive apartment if the back studio was unavailable. Don't forget to buy kitchen roll - they have towels in the kitchen area but nothing to wipe up spills etc. Also check the salt cellar has salt in it! We didn't and it spoilt our dinner a bit. The stairs down to the apartments are very steep and not the safest so not ideal for very young or old. The apartment is generally clean apart from the top of the shower rail and the extractor fan (although high up things tend to get neglected in almost every place I've visited)
All in all I would have no hesitation in recommending Nova Apartments, and with a little attention, my little niggles will not affect future travellers.

Room Tip: The basement studio facing the street is dark. Choose the back one or go up a floor.
See more room tips
Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank deecow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    78
    10
    3
    1
See reviews for
34
89
10
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2013 via mobile

The Nova apartments are just perfect for anyone visiting Amaterdam. Their quiet museum district location is excellent, and they come equipped with everything you'll need. Nice bath, wooden table for dinner, cooking gear, microwave, dish washer, LCDd and free wifi. There is a big supermarket within 5 min walk (credit cards not accepted but there is an ATM machine for cash), parks, street markets and canals spread in a one mile radius.

The best thing is the value for money: beats any hotel. The room is cleaned daily and while I didn't use it, there should be someone on call to help with stuff over the phone. Ironing board and plenty of electricity plugs cater for the business travelers. Overall it's a great find.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joinseekers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcestershire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2013 via mobile

Myself and a friend booked 2 nights stay here at the end of April. I was impressed with the apartment itself, had everything you could need for a short break. The bed/pillow was incredibly comfortable, better than home! Check in/out was easy and the wifi and free map the hotel provided were invaluable! If I was going to be picky I would say there were a few stains (from cleaning) on the carpet, a crack in the work top and damp mark on the bathroom ceiling, but these are such minor things in comparison to the benefits the apartment has to offer. Great location by museumplein meant that we were far enough out for it to be peaceful, but still close enough to walk everywhere..... we didn't use a tram once! Supermarket close by for buying the essentials. All in all, lovely little apartment which I would most definitely stay in again if I was visiting amsterdam in the future!

Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank laurai83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Europe
Level Contributor
308 reviews
129 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 220 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2013

We had booked the bigger apartment with one bedroom for two nights. My mom and I had a wonderful stay there and the apartment was great! It was clean, modern and really had everything you could wish for! You get lots of natural light from big windows and a great night sleep since the street outside is really quiet.

The apartment is reachable by tram and there are shops and restaurants nearby. The location is really fantastic!

There was also a coffee maker with coffee, cream and sugar (every day!).

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kristiina83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
1 review
Reviewed March 29, 2013

We booked the apartment as we had a wonderful stay here before. This time it was perfect again. Good service, everything was prepared, very clean room with a welcoming feel to it. The good thing is that you can prepare your own food and have breakfast at the time you want. The "oud-Zuid" area of Amsterdam has so much to offer, great little cafes and restaurants with good food and open till very late. Shopping is fantastic and "around the corner". To be recommended!!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Paulineb H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
The Muse Amsterdam - Boutique Hotel
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
The Concert Hotel
The Concert Hotel
#216 of 368 in Amsterdam
203 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Conscious Hotel Museum Square
Conscious Hotel Museum Square
#86 of 368 in Amsterdam
931 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel The Neighbour's Magnolia
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Cityden Museum District City Suites
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Bilderberg Hotel Jan Luyken
Bilderberg Hotel Jan Luyken
#81 of 368 in Amsterdam
1,007 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nova Apartments Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nova Apartments Amsterdam

Property: Nova Apartments Amsterdam
Address: Nicolaas Maesstraat 72, 1071 RC Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier) , Museumplein
Amenities:
Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#70 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#103 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Nova Apartments Amsterdam 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Nova Apartments Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nova Apartments Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing