We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Nova Apartments Amsterdam
Ranked #168 of 374 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 22, 2013

We booked a studio apartment. Good points: fantastic location, good airport link (197 bus very near) museums nearby, quiet street, nice buildings. Apartment has everything you need and supermarket nearby. Shower is brilliant. Apartment cleaned and tidied every day - even the breakfast dishes left in the sink because the dishwasher was full. Check in was smooth, just pick up the envelope in the hall. Bed was lovely, the mattress and pillows were so comfy - I have trouble sleeping normally but was out for the count the first night. The two single quilts on the double bed were great.
Not so good points; the apartment we booked was dark - the other studio has doors opening on to a courtyard, (the studios are in the basement) The very nice electrician who co-incidentally visited to check out the lighting in our apartment said they had plans to improve it, but you need to be aware it is downstairs with smallish high windows where you see the legs of passersby! We felt a bit disappointed that we hadn't got the other one! When you book an apartment you like to come back after sightseeing and relax in a nice atmosphere whilst making something to eat and drink. On a sunny day it feels gloomy. I would consider upgrading to the slightly more expensive apartment if the back studio was unavailable. Don't forget to buy kitchen roll - they have towels in the kitchen area but nothing to wipe up spills etc. Also check the salt cellar has salt in it! We didn't and it spoilt our dinner a bit. The stairs down to the apartments are very steep and not the safest so not ideal for very young or old. The apartment is generally clean apart from the top of the shower rail and the extractor fan (although high up things tend to get neglected in almost every place I've visited)
All in all I would have no hesitation in recommending Nova Apartments, and with a little attention, my little niggles will not affect future travellers.

Room Tip: The basement studio facing the street is dark. Choose the back one or go up a floor.
See more room tips
Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank deecow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (179)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

86 - 92 of 179 reviews

Reviewed June 3, 2013

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Karen W W
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed June 1, 2013 via mobile

The Nova apartments are just perfect for anyone visiting Amaterdam. Their quiet museum district location is excellent, and they come equipped with everything you'll need. Nice bath, wooden table for dinner, cooking gear, microwave, dish washer, LCDd and free wifi. There is a big supermarket within 5 min walk (credit cards not accepted but there is an ATM machine for cash), parks, street markets and canals spread in a one mile radius.

The best thing is the value for money: beats any hotel. The room is cleaned daily and while I didn't use it, there should be someone on call to help with stuff over the phone. Ironing board and plenty of electricity plugs cater for the business travelers. Overall it's a great find.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joinseekers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2013

Myself and a friend booked 2 nights stay here at the end of April. I was impressed with the apartment itself, had everything you could need for a short break. The bed/pillow was incredibly comfortable, better than home! Check in/out was easy and the wifi and free map the hotel provided were invaluable! If I was going to be picky I would say there were a few stains (from cleaning) on the carpet, a crack in the work top and damp mark on the bathroom ceiling, but these are such minor things in comparison to the benefits the apartment has to offer. Great location by museumplein meant that we were far enough out for it to be peaceful, but still close enough to walk everywhere..... we didn't use a tram once! Supermarket close by for buying the essentials. All in all, lovely little apartment which I would most definitely stay in again if I was visiting amsterdam in the future!

Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
Thank laurai83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2013

We had booked the bigger apartment with one bedroom for two nights. My mom and I had a wonderful stay there and the apartment was great! It was clean, modern and really had everything you could wish for! You get lots of natural light from big windows and a great night sleep since the street outside is really quiet.

The apartment is reachable by tram and there are shops and restaurants nearby. The location is really fantastic!

There was also a coffee maker with coffee, cream and sugar (every day!).

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kristiina83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2013

We booked the apartment as we had a wonderful stay here before. This time it was perfect again. Good service, everything was prepared, very clean room with a welcoming feel to it. The good thing is that you can prepare your own food and have breakfast at the time you want. The "oud-Zuid" area of Amsterdam has so much to offer, great little cafes and restaurants with good food and open till very late. Shopping is fantastic and "around the corner". To be recommended!!!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Paulineb H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2013

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank Denise R
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Conscious Hotel Museum Square
Conscious Hotel Museum Square
#83 of 374 in Amsterdam
964 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Atlas Vondelpark
Hotel Atlas Vondelpark
#222 of 374 in Amsterdam
182 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
De Bedstee Boutique Capsules
De Bedstee Boutique Capsules
#285 of 374 in Amsterdam
11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Amstel Corner
#186 of 374 in Amsterdam
110 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Bilderberg Hotel Jan Luyken
Bilderberg Hotel Jan Luyken
#77 of 374 in Amsterdam
1,080 reviews
Element Amsterdam
#32 of 374 in Amsterdam
684 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nova Apartments Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nova Apartments Amsterdam

Address: Nicolaas Maesstraat 72, 1071 RC Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier) , Museumplein
Amenities:
Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#70 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#103 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range: $118 - $284 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Nova Apartments Amsterdam 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Nova Apartments Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nova Apartments Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing