We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Booking.com
eDreams
Priceline
Go to your Happy Price
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
NZ
Hong Kong, China

trip to AMS

4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed Jul 7, 2014
Five of us stayed in the 5 beds-room for three nights. This b&b is easy to find and the living environment is generally good. Xaviera & Philip are very nice hosts and we had a warm stay in their house.
Date of stay: July 2014
Trip type: Traveled with friends
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
$115
  • Priceline
    $123
  • Vio.com
    $96
  • Expedia.com
    $104
2.2 miles from Xaviera Hollander's Happy House BB
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Booking.com
$199
  • Priceline
    $187
  • Vio.com
    $178
  • Expedia.com
    $187
1.9 miles from Xaviera Hollander's Happy House BB
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Booking.com
$95
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    $95
  • ZenHotels.com
    $89
  • Expedia.com
    $95
1.4 miles from Xaviera Hollander's Happy House BB
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Booking.com
$105
$88
  • Vio.com
    $88
  • Official Site
    $105
  • Expedia.com
    $90
3.0 miles from Xaviera Hollander's Happy House BB
Free Wifi
Exterior
Booking.com
$147
  • ibis
    $147
  • travelup.com
    $132
  • Expedia.com
    $147
2.3 miles from Xaviera Hollander's Happy House BB
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Booking.com
$79
No prepayment needed
  • Vio.com
    $79
  • Expedia.com
    $68
  • Priceline
    $79
3.1 miles from Xaviera Hollander's Happy House BB
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Booking.com
$134
  • Vio.com
    $132
  • ZenHotels.com
    $128
  • Expedia.com
    $132
2.1 miles from Xaviera Hollander's Happy House BB
Free Wifi
Booking.com
$76
  • Vio.com
    $65
  • Priceline
    $69
  • travelup.com
    $76
3.8 miles from Xaviera Hollander's Happy House BB
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Amsterdam
Reviews (115)
Filter reviews
115 results
Traveler rating
56
37
8
2
12
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
56
37
8
2
12
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
34 - 39 of 115 reviews
Reviewed June 20, 2014

One of the highlights of our recent trip to Amsterdam was staying at the "Happy Sleeper" and the evening dinner and conversation with the Xaviera Hollander and her husband Philip.

The accommodations were superb! We stayed in the newly renovated "Luxury Loft" on the second floor. This is an old, grand house, so the stairs were kind of steep going up to the loft, so you should take that into consideration. However, once in the Loft, the beautiful sleek bathroom with its walk-in shower for 2 was especially romantic. We also loved the fully equipped kitchen and fridge (done up in Xaviera's trademark red), which was useful for preparing small meals when we didn't want to go out. The view from the loft overlooking the garden was very peaceful, and the skylights not only gave us extra ventilation, but made the loft very bright and sunny. The huge queen sized bed was really comfortable and made us want to stay in bed rather than going out sightseeing.

In the morning, the cooked breakfasts were delicious and very well presented. From warm whole grain breads, eggs any style, ham, local preserves, juices and good coffee, it was always a great nutritious and filling way to start your day.

The location of the "Happy Sleeper" is excellent – just a couple of tram/train stops from Schiphol Airport, and a longish-walk (long-ish for us Americans unused to walking) to the Rijksmuseum, the Van Gogh Museum, the Stedelijk Museum (make sure to get the Museumkaart for unlimited museum admissions), and the great shopping along Beethovenstraat. Also, a couple of blocks away there are 2 major tram lines that take you past the museums and to Central Station in a matter of 10-15 minutes. Very convenient. (We opted to buy the unlimited travel GVB chip cards, and took the trams & buses all over Amsterdam.)

On the second night we had a delicious dinner at their place. Our compliments to Philip for being such a great chef! The after-dinner conversation and stories Ms. Hollander told were absolutely delightful – it was like having our own personal "One Woman Show" right there in their living room. Ms. Hollander is a wonderful and amazing woman, and we're so glad to have met her and spent a little time with her. She is a true historical treasure. She has lived such a full, exciting and adventurous life, and it's all due to her intelligence and quick wit. Again, this was the highlight of our visit.

Staying here was more for the experience rather than just mundane accommodations. Overall, a little pricey, but definitely worth it. Instead, we could have stayd at a cold impersonal hotel/motel or other B&B and not have experienced the richness and warmth that we enjoyed at the Happy Sleeper. We hope to come back again and again in the future!

Room tip: The Luxury Loft is the most private and sleeps up to 5 people.
Date of stay: June 2014
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Nildo H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed June 13, 2014

It was a very spontaneous business trip to Amsterdam and I'm finally very happy about the choice to stay at "Xaviera Hollander's Happy House".
Generally I love unconventional traveling and thats exactly what it was! after a short warm chat with the owners in the evening, everything was on track. I had a door key and I felt like home. The second day I asked for a rental bike nearby and 5 minutes later I was riding a "Happy House Bike" into the city.
It was a pleasant, warm stay close to RAI Congress center and I'm looking forward coming back for a private trip!

Date of stay: May 2014
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nepaltop
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed June 2, 2014

We had a great time with Madame Hollander and her husband Phillip. Art served us a great breakfast each morning and they all were great to talk to and for gathering advice on visiting Amsterdam in a fun and efficient way. Couldn't ask for more.

Date of stay: May 2014
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BackpackPhotographer
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed April 16, 2014

Staying in Xaviera and Phillip's was very pleasant.
I felt very welcomed and looked after while staying there.
In contrast to the busy streets of Amsterdam center, this place is located at Amsterdam south and it's very quiet and it's only a short walk to the Museumplein.

I highly recommend Xaviera and Phillip's B&B.

Date of stay: April 2014
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank RomanLenskij
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed April 7, 2014

I had a very comfortable couple of days at Xaviera and Phillip's. I felt very well looked after and welcomed into their home, and enjoyed the sociable and relaxed atmosphere. The B&B is quite a long way south of the station, but it is only a short walk from some premier attractions such as Museumplein. Although not cheap accommodation - nowhere in Amsterdam is, apart from real dives - this B&B will leave you with pleasant memories of your time in Amsterdam's oude zuid,

Room tip: The two smaller rooms share a bathroom - consider the garden hut or attic apartment if this doesn't appeal.
Date of stay: April 2014
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank P_H003
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews