We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful place” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Xaviera Hollander's Happy House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Xaviera Hollander's Happy House
Ranked #117 of 330 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Zurich
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“wonderful place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2014

as i have stayed there many times i can only recommend it to you - as written before, you dont want to leave anymore caus you feel home.
Philipp is a master cook, i had one of my most declicious meals for a long time. Will be back there in a couple of weeks to enjoy freedom
With Love
Arik

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ariksan2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    31
    7
    2
    11
See reviews for
8
35
14
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
taranaki
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2013

We spent 3 nights here at Xaviera Happy House in late July 2013. The house itself has a lot of character and is a great introduction when arriving in Amsterdam. The breakfasts were very nice and relaxed out in the courtyard area, and the cooks were very friendly and helpful. The location was excellent, in a very nice part of town just outside of the touristic city centre. It was very nice strolling along the quiet local canals early each morning, as opposed to the busy touristic canals in the city centre. The design of the houses and tidy streets all around this area is really nice to stroll around and check out.

Xaviera's husband also hooked us up with the museum pass reduction tickets from the house which was very handy before setting off into town.

The great thing is that the house is still very close to the city centre, 10-15mintues on the tram, which is very handy.

Europe was going through a heat wave while we were there, and we found our room a little bit hot when trying to sleep, but it didn't bother us that much. We would happily stay here again and thoroughly recommend it.

Glenn and Hannah Burrell - New Zealand

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nakiTaranaki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2013

Me and my friend paid 285 euros for 2 nights to stay at this apartment. When we turned up there we were sent to stay with her friend who is about 80 years old. Technically we rented a room from a 3 bedroom apartment. We paid for breakfast and was given 1 slice of ham and 1 slice of cheese and then said hurry up and butter your bread. Me and my friend was so disappointed but thank fully Amsterdam was still the bollocks as usual. I'm so lucky I didnt take my wife there cause I would be divorced by now. Beware be very aware but would be a good prank for Aprils fools day. Rip xavier Hollander u robbing scumbag.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank SuperSilverSmithy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
53 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013

Overall a good experience and great for us since it was close to the RAI Convention Center where we were working an event.

On the good side:
- For us, the location - it is close to the RAI Convention Center. It took us 12 minutes to walk at a good pace from door to door with equipment.
- Very friendly and service oriented folks that were all helpful - I am vegan and they prepared a wonderful breakfast every day. They accommodated our earlier departure each morning for the RAI and basically gave us run of the kitchen as needed. They even gave us a ride to the tram when we checked out!
- Everyone was always checking to see if we had everything we needed and wanted to be sure that we were comfortable. They seemed to go out of their way to make us feel at home.
- Our room was a decent size, had a table and chairs and a balcony and fridge.
- The backyard and garden were very peaceful and beautiful. We had breakfast there one day and sat out for a bit each night.
- We are “pet parents” ourselves so we enjoyed the company of their very cute and friendly dog Suzie and their cats Mini and Maxi. We are more cat people than dog folks but little Suzie was so cute and had such a great personality.

On the not as good side but still okay:
- The reservation we made with Booking.com described our room exactly as it was with one exception - it said that we had an en-suite bathroom and toilet. We are at a point in our lives where we would rather not share a shower and toilet. One morning the shower was busy and I had to go to work at the RAI without taking one. It wasn't a huge deal but we did pay extra for the en-suite and it was disappointing that the website and our printed reservation confirmation were not accurate. We mentioned this but they seemed just as confused.
- It was not a big problem for us, but there was a lot of clutter everywhere. Every closet and drawer in our room was full of sheets and other stuff so we had to empty out a few spots to put our clothes and belongings. Again, not a big deal for us but we could see that others might not be as tolerant. You could view it as having a lot of charm and "wacky" character - as we did - and not be bothered by it :-)
- Philip was always great to be with as was all of the staff. Xaviera could sometimes come on a little strong with her marketing efforts to buy stuff like tours and such. She's just being a good business person, which is understandable and expected, but some might hope for a more toned down approach.
While we loved the pets we were a bit uncomfortable with the access to the kitchen table and counters… especially with outdoor pets and their paws on the same table we were eating on.
The shared shower and toilet was decent sized but as others have mentioned the sink was the tiniest I’ve ever seen.

Again, overall we were very pleased with our stay and the service. The only reason we would stay somewhere else next time around would be for an en-suite bathroom and toilet.

Room Tip: Double check the specs of your room - I believe the only room with en-suite is the chalet outside th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank stolenbuick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Metz
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2013

I went there with two friends of mine and we had such a great time ! The place is full of history and the people here are just so nice that you didn't wanna leave. We'll be back for sure as soon as possible. Xaviera is juste wonderful and interesting just as everyone in this house. Don't trust the [--] comments about the cleaning: everything was clean. An awesome place for an awesome city, I only have one regret : my trip here was too short, next time I'll stay a week or so. thank you Xaviera and Phillip and see you soon.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joann32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lachen, Switzerland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

Hi
I spent the night of 5.7.2013 in their house with my girlfriend
Was a terrible experience:
- we got a room where there was even no space to put a suitcase. So we would take turns on the bed to open and close suitcases while the other one would step out in the corridor.
For Eur 100!
- pics of bathroom shared with 1 other family enclosed. Smallest sink I have ever seen
- room is,quite rundown

And the best.... after me complaining, and after Mrs Xaviera and her husband had tried many times to ask personal questions about our couple which I eluded ( wasnt their business)...
Xaviera told my girlfriend the next morning she should leave me due to my age!!
I know unbelievable but true ( she answered they better mind their business)

Nonono!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank eric b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Moscow City, Russia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

GOOD PLACEMENT..vintage interior...NO COMMENTS....HEAVEN IN AMSTERDAM...staying in this place was very very wonderful...just happy mood...city views from balcon

GOOD PLACEMENT..vintage interior...NO COMMENTS....HEAVEN IN AMSTERDAM...staying in this place was very very wonderful...just happy mood...city views from balcon

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank woopday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Prinsenhuis
Prinsenhuis
#95 of 330 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
De Pijp
Bed & Breakfast Adriaen van Ostade
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Isis
#268 of 330 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
Vondelpark
Hotel Wilhelmina
Hotel Wilhelmina
#127 of 330 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
B&B Logeren aan de Amstel
#169 of 330 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Xaviera Hollander's Happy House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Xaviera Hollander's Happy House

Property: Xaviera Hollander's Happy House
Address: 17 Stadionweg, 1077 RV Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #117 of 330 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Xaviera Hollander's Happy House 2*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxurious Bohemian villa with beautiful sunny garden full of flowers and greens, of legendary author Xaviera Hollander, in the heart of Amsterdam, with airport pickup provided as well as personal chef on request, ideal for culture seekers, couples, honeymooners, animal friendly, and meet the author herself if she is in town! Private parking for an extra fee is available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Xaviera Hollander's Happy House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Xaviera Hollander`s Happy House Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing