We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“worth the money” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Alfa Plantage

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Alfa Plantage
Ranked #338 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Amsterdam
1 review
“worth the money”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2014

The rooms are tidy and clean - the staff were more than welcome to help when asked questions. We were first checked into a room at the top but because I was tall the shower was uncomfortable for me since the roof was slanted. I was moved to another room the next day and enjoyed the rest of my stay.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Kwadzo A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    30
    57
    36
    43
See reviews for
13
80
9
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2014

If you want a smoking room in Amsterdam this is ideal.Because by law all hotels are non smoking, the receptionist will say it's not. Room situated in the eaves of the house with skylight ventilation. Not too far from Centraal Station, supermarkets and other attractions. A pleasant experience.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Kim K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2013

Very decent modest hotel. Kind and helpful people at the desk. They took time to answer all kind of questions about transport, musea etc. Helped with the luggage.
Quiet location. Near public transport.
Small room but very clean. Good beds.

Good shower, but no space to put down any toilet articles or to hang the towels.

Our impression is that people are doing their best to up-grade a former worn-out hotel. We think they will have a chance to make that come true in
the near future.






  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Sophia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2013

I really want to start with the few positives, as the majority is going to sound negative. What also has to be taken into account, is the hotel is in Amsterdam which is relatively expensive compared to the rest of Europe. But at the same time on face value here is my review;

We checked into the room after arriving at 7am in Amsterdam from Sydney via Malaysia with a 10 month old, so we really appreciated that they had the room ready including the baby cot. The bathroom was a decent size and very clean. The reception team were very friendly and knowledgeable about the local surroundings and Amsterdam in general.

Transport is actually relatively easy though it’s a little out of the centre, really close to the zoo. Take the No.9 tram from Amsterdam Central (which kind of goes more vertical across or the No.14 tram which travels more across town.

Now for the bad.

This hotel was so run down and whether it was the wall paper peeling off, the baby cot which fell apart the third day (with the babe inside, he’s okay). The room being exceptionally small (though probably normal for Amsterdam). The rooms were also damn, and rather hot and sticky. The heating was set on too hot but didn’t take away the humidity or dry out the room – unless you open the window to 6C fresh air, you feel like you’re in sauna.

Toiletries are not replenished at all, only once per stay on arrival. We stayed for 4 nights.

For those with heavy luggage and there are a few narrow stairs to negotiate before you get to the lift. This was a major drawback every day with our pram (push chair) and baby. Once you get the lift, it only fits the push chair and a very thin person, so the second person either has to wait or take the stairs.

Last negatives is City Tax, though I know Hotels have to charge this, it did come as a surprise at checkout. Many hotels have a sign on the front desk so it’s clear to the customer on check in and you can be prepared for it.

Sadly I would not recommend this hotel, even when you compare it only to Amsterdam Hotels.

Room Tip: We were facing the Tram tracks and road, though it was noisey, it wasn't too bad. Though we did...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Parges
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Amsterdam hotels

London, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013

I arranged a trip for 18 friends to stay at this hotel whilst in Amsterdam. The recent reviews worried me immensely to the point where I tried my best to find another hotel right up to the day before we left. Upon arrival I was pleasantly surprised! This hotel was exactly what I was looking for. Rooms were small but clean, friendly staff, perfect location, great cafe opposite....couldn't have asked for much more for our trip. Don't be put off by recent reviews unless you are a couple wanting a romantic trip with room service and bubbles in a bath. I've stayed in some great hotels but you're in Dam and for a group of friends this place is great. Perfect for a place to sleep!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stuart L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Plantage & the East
Hotel Plantage
Hotel Plantage
#243 of 362 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 395 reviews
Plantage & the East
Amsterdam Hotel Parklane
Amsterdam Hotel Parklane
#223 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
Plantage & the East
Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Plantage & the East
Hotel Rembrandt
Hotel Rembrandt
#185 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 295 reviews
Plantage & the East
Hotel Hermitage Amsterdam
Hotel Hermitage Amsterdam
#264 of 362 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 429 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Atlanta Hotel
Atlanta Hotel
#288 of 362 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 bubbles 446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Alfa Plantage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alfa Plantage

Property: Hotel Alfa Plantage
Address: Plantage Middenlaan 26, 1018 DE Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Plantage & the East , Binnenstad
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #338 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Alfa Plantage 2.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Alfa Plantage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alfa Plantage Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing