We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Alfa Plantage
Ranked #318 of 372 Hotels in Amsterdam
Reviewed September 3, 2013

This hotel was not cheap at all, and I had expected a higher standard. Positive was that the staff was very friendly and helpfull. The rooms were small and we had to move rooms because of some mixed up bookings. Bathroom small, but clean and fairly new. The room itself low standard and no meals availablle,

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank docamm24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (183)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

49 - 55 of 183 reviews

Reviewed August 27, 2013

The hotel has been quite good, but the price wasn't the same price was showed in your site. When I've reserved the room I ask for paying at the location, and once arrived at the hotel I had to pay 400€ instead 296€ shown in your site. This is strange, don't you?

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Federico F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2013

Ok firstly, I never write reviews but people should know about this hotel. It's disgraceful.

- 3 slugs I had to remove from the walls (Yes slugs, those slimey things that belong outside in the garden)
- 1 massive spider I had to remove from the outside facing door (it was huge)
- there were around 20 woodlice crawling around the floor/skirting boards and behind bed
- the wood skirting on the floor was moulded and falling apart/off
- the room smelt of damp and was cold. I would sweat at night through the damp and it caused me a cough
- the air conditioning could not be used to heat the room because it smelt awful when switched on
- the whole floor we stayed on smelt like damp and was cold
- our towels had many holes in them
- the wood around the bottom of the floor was in terrible condition. mouldy and flakey pain
there was a dirty tissue left on the desk when we arrived
- there were many black flakes of dirt underneath the bed sheets on the mattress
- the mattress was brown stained badly
- the bin in the bathroom was rusty and flaking off
- the view out of the window was of a complement dingy dumping ground. falling apart wooden children's apparatus and overgrown weeds.
- the walls were falling apart and badly repaired
- the room was dark and depressing with one single gloomy ceiling light
- the facilities and furniture were shockingly old
- the free wi-fi would cut out and not work
- when I complained that I had spent nearly two-hundred euros on this room the reply i got was 'We're still the cheapest in the area'
- the staff would not help us or move us to another room
- the manager would not reply to my email / complaint

Please see the photo evidence that i have attached and make up your own mind.

My advice to you. Spend a bit more and get a clean hotel. This is a shocking hotel. So dirty and battered.

I'm still shocked a week after leaving.

Room Tip: Pay the extra and stay somewhere else in Amsterdam.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Adam G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2013

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank Johannes K
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed June 5, 2013

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
2  Thank Roni P
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed April 3, 2013

Remember the price and don't set unrealistic expectations. The hotel isn't far from the centre and is well connected via trams. Location is quiet. Not many places around but the cafe opposite and Japanese restaurant on the corner are nice enough.
The rooms are an ok-size and clean with towels and toiletries and hairdryers. There is also free Wi-Fi which is a big bonus.
First impression was negative as the hotel manager was very abrupt and shouted for us to leave the door open, but he kind of redeemed himself later with directions and information.
The rooms smell a bit of weed but hey, you're in Amsterdam!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bellanie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2013

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank Nesha M
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Plantage & the East
Hotel Plantage
Hotel Plantage
#307 of 372 in Amsterdam
498 reviews
Stadsdeel Zuid
Hotel Titus
Hotel Titus
#272 of 372 in Amsterdam
230 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel The Golden Bear
Hotel The Golden Bear
#309 of 372 in Amsterdam
376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Plantage & the East
Hotel de Jonker
Hotel de Jonker
#245 of 372 in Amsterdam
4 reviews
Plantage & the East
Amsterdam Hotel Parklane
Amsterdam Hotel Parklane
#223 of 372 in Amsterdam
118 reviews
Plantage & the East
Hotel Rembrandt
Hotel Rembrandt
#177 of 372 in Amsterdam
325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Alfa Plantage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alfa Plantage

Address: Plantage Middenlaan 26, 1018 DE Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Plantage & the East , Binnenstad
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #318 of 372 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range: $97 - $311 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Alfa Plantage 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel Alfa Plantage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alfa Plantage Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing