We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bais Hotel, Linen Disgracefull and Housekeeping Poor”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Alfa Plantage
Ranked #335 of 367 Hotels in Amsterdam
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Bais Hotel, Linen Disgracefull and Housekeeping Poor”
Reviewed September 15, 2012

Check in was smooth and nice size room given, however it was noisy till well after midnight with the trams going by. Air conditioning and bathroom also reasonable size. Very basic and very simple furnishings. Very small TV, no fridge or safety box. The free internet was a bit slow and sometimes intermittent. Front desk Staff service was quite good. Unfortunately numerous towels were torn or had holes and also the bed linen was torn. Upon arrival the rubbish bin in the room already had rubbish inside. Toilet tissue not replaced when we ran out. We came back late on the last night to find no bath towels in the room and an unopened 1.5 litre bottle of water had been thrown away, unbelievable! Housekeeping staff and management really disgrace themselves with this level of service. The hotel is about 15 minutes from Central Station by #9 tram.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steven R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    32
    59
    36
    46
See reviews for
13
83
9
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
East Grinstead, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2012

The location was in a convenient and beautiful part of Amsterdam but we were not made aware of the trams running past the hotel until 01.00 which made it really noisy. The reception staff were helpful and spoke excellent English.We had paid a supplement for a superior double room but I wouldn't bother in the future as the room was small and quirky.

Room Tip: Don't bother paying for a superior room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicola R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
1 review
Reviewed September 9, 2012

Perfect location except that the room was not clean and housekeeping didn't respond to our requests for clean sheets and towels. The carpet was dirty and probably installed in 1965!
Front desk staff was very friendly and helpful, but the room faced the main street and had trams running until after midnight.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank AmsterdamGuadalupeJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Amsterdam hotels

Liverpool
2 reviews
Reviewed September 8, 2012

Me and my two friends went to stay in Amsterdam. We originally book just 2 of us, the. We up graded the room or the 3 of us. There was no problem doing this and the hotel were very helpful. The room was clean and good for a weekend break. There was no noise at night and it was only a 5-10min tram journey into the center getting the number 9 tram which stopped right outside the hotel. This hotel was next to the zoo but we did not get a chance to go there. All together the staff were friendly and I was happy with what we got for our money. They even let us keep our baggage in the Hotel as we did by fly till the evening. Recommend this hotel for friends wanting a cheap and cheerful stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Sunshinekezbot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salerno, Italia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2012

Reading these critics I was scared to come gere, instead I can say the hotel is good enogh. I know its'nt as clean as Italian standards but I think is in the mean of Amsterdam. I have to say the staff is really kind.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Americo84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Plantage & the East
Hotel Plantage
Hotel Plantage
#292 of 367 in Amsterdam
478 reviews
Plantage & the East
Amsterdam Hotel Parklane
Amsterdam Hotel Parklane
#230 of 367 in Amsterdam
107 reviews
Plantage & the East
Hotel Rembrandt
Hotel Rembrandt
#182 of 367 in Amsterdam
311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Plantage & the East
Hampshire Hotel - Lancaster Amsterdam
Plantage & the East
Hotel Hermitage Amsterdam
Hotel Hermitage Amsterdam
#277 of 367 in Amsterdam
467 reviews
Stadsdeel Zuid
Hotel De Munck
Hotel De Munck
#252 of 367 in Amsterdam
214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Alfa Plantage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alfa Plantage

Property: Hotel Alfa Plantage
Address: Plantage Middenlaan 26, 1018 DE Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Plantage & the East , Binnenstad
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #335 of 367 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Alfa Plantage 2.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel Alfa Plantage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alfa Plantage Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing