We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“So convenient” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Leonardo Hotel Amsterdam City Center

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Leonardo Hotel Amsterdam City Center
Ranked #177 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“So convenient”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014

We stayed here for three nights and found the hotel excellent value for money. It is in the perfect location, only a few minutes walk from the Rijksmuseum and five minutes from bars and restaurants. Better still, it's in a quiet side street, so unlike a lot of big city hotels, it was very peaceful at night. The room was fine - clean and comfortable and the staff at reception were very helpful. Catch the 197 bus from Schipol and it drops you close by. We would definitely choose the hotel again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynn F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,466 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    291
    680
    344
    94
    57
See reviews for
235
643
77
55
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

We have just stayed here for 3 nights and don't think we could have found a better hotel ! It's located on a quiet side street so no problem with traffic noise but it's only a 5 min walk from Leidse Square with it's bars,restaurants and shops,It's also very handily placed for Museum square and the Heineken Experience,prob only a 10 or 15 min walk.
The rooms are a bit on the small side but comfortable and well equipped,let's face it you won't be spending a lot of time in it anyway

Room Tip: Rooms 1-7 are below ground level,our was ground level and we could't open window,so it got a bit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dukeking26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for 3 nights with my wife and the hotel suited our needs perfectly!

Got bus 197 from the airport and it drops you off 200m away from hotel. Hotel in quiet location but bars and restaurants nearby so you're not too far from the hustle and bustle. Bed was comfy, shower was excellent and plenty tv channels too. Staff very good as well.

I'll definitely stay here on my next trip to Amsterdam.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Gss1888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Manchester
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014 via mobile

Myself and partner have just returned from a 2 nights stay at this hotel and were totally impressed.
Upon checking in, we were told that the company who we had booked the hotel through had gone bust and our reservation was cancelled. The staff were fantastic with us. Even though it was through no fault of theirs, they searched for other hotels for us... Given the fact of how friendly and welcoming they were, especially Koen and Martine, myself and partner decided to simply stay where we had originally booked!
The location was excellent, literally a 3 minute walk from Leidse sq tram stop. It's in a very quiet location but only a 15-20 min walk to Dam square or hop on the tram which will take you 5 mins!
The rooms were very spacious and spotlessly clean, the bathroom was huge but my only gripe was the shower was extremely small... Nothing worth moaning about, just my personal preference!
Due to our misfortune, Koen on reception had decided that he would very kindly throw breakfast in for free for both days! The breakfast was well worth getting up for. A large selection of cold meats, cheese, breads, croissants and also bacon, sausage and eggs! Plenty of choice and very tasty!
The coffee was also very nice.
The hotel corridors are very dated and fashioned but who the hell cares when you have amazing staff and lovely rooms!?!
We both felt like we left the hotel with the staff being our friends. I've never met a bunch of reception staff who were so helpful and willing for their guests to enjoy their stay so much... So much so that we are already planning our next trip to Amsterdam and will CERTAINLY be booking this hotel again!
Enjoy Your Stay!!!!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank tofty75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
82 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014

There is no air conditioning, no breakfast, not close to central station. Quiet surrondings and clean room, but nothing more. Also, the place is full os stairs.. not good if you have suitcase. Its a good 40min walk til central station.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Xapa2222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bournemouth
Level Contributor
27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014 via mobile

This hotel is on the lower end of 3 stars. Its location is fantastic to visit both the museums just round the corner the shopping area on liedsplein and to walk to the city center. Reception staff was helpful and professional. The rooms are not great and there is an aura of not being cleaned properly. There was a reported complain about a blocked shower and nothing was done. Not great.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank foodloverBournemouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

We spent a weekend there, and we stayed in a room on the 3rd floor. The hotel is located near the busy Leidse Square, but is in a quiet street, near public transport, and within walking distance of the museum district. Our overall impression was very positive, as the room was clean, though a bit small. The staff were kind and helpful. The breakfast was adequate. All in all, it's good value for money, highly recommended.

Room Tip: Higher floors are the best choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Valentine_Greece
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Vondelpark
Hotel Alexander
Hotel Alexander
#139 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 469 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
BEST WESTERN Apollo Museumhotel Amsterdam City Centre
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Owl Hotel
Owl Hotel
#108 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 589 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vondelpark
Hotel Esspresso
Hotel Esspresso
#95 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 706 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Piet Hein
Hotel Piet Hein
#179 of 364 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 768 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Cornelisz
Hotel Cornelisz
#151 of 364 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Leonardo Hotel Amsterdam City Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Leonardo Hotel Amsterdam City Center

Property: Leonardo Hotel Amsterdam City Center
Address: Tesselschadestraat 23, 1054 ET Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly Best Western Leidse Square Hotel)
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Vondelpark
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #177 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Leonardo Hotel Amsterdam City Center 3*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Multistory Hotel housed in 19th-century building within a short walk to Leidseplein, bars, nightclubs & the Municipal Theatre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Leonardo Hotel Amsterdam City Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ach Leidse Square Amsterdam
Hotel Ach Leidse Square

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing