We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Lovely hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Leonardo Hotel Amsterdam City Center

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Leonardo Hotel Amsterdam City Center
Ranked #177 of 363 Hotels in Amsterdam
Level Contributor
41 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013 via mobile

Not expensive, very cozy and just a few minutes walk from the leidspleine straße, which offers bars and restaurants and shops.
The staff is nice (like most people in Amsterdam) and will help you with whatever you need.
I don't know if the hotel offers breakfast, but we preferred to have a different kind if breakfast every morning in one of the local cafés.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Antonina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,481 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    293
    685
    348
    97
    58
See reviews for
240
649
77
55
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (155)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Falkirk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2013

Just stayed for Two nights. Hotel is clean and quiet. The staff are very helpful and friendly. Very close to Leidsplein square, which is great with its xmas theme and stalls. However, the hotel is a bit too far away from Dam square and the main buzz to walk all the time. Trams are very regular and cheap, so not a major problem.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HJW2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
98 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2013 via mobile

I was impressed by the location to all the amenities, the trams took you anywhere from the great location of Leide square where you have a Hard Rock Cafe, lots of restaurants at hand and plenty of alcohol establishments if that's what you're after. The hotel was clean and breakfast was a good choice European style. Will visit again soon!

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Philip B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Okehampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

Good hotel in great location. Literally 5 minutes from leidsplein and all it has to offer.
We travelled in a group of 13 and were all placed on the same floor. The hotel staff are very friendly and helpful. Great bar open until midnight, thanks to Mohammed for his friendly service.
Some of the group had breakfast 10€ if you book at checkin but 12€ otherwise. I believe it was a very good selection, however many of us went across to the main square were there was a great selection of bars/cafés were you got more for your money.
Brilliant situation for the hop on hop off bus/boat for tours around Amsterdam.
Hotel rooms were very clean and had a good nights sleep. The bathrooms had plenty of toiletries and clean towels every day.
I would certainly recommend a stay here.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank barneyskycom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mannheim, Germany
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

it was generally ok. Arrived in Amsterdam when it was heavily raining, windy and cold. Since this is a budget hotel, i really expected a 2 or 3 star service since this is in Europe, it's of 2 star quality for me.. Nothing new, nothing fancy but the reason i booked it because i was given a special price from Agoda.. (was lucky enough to get it heavily discounted) and i guessed that it was centrally located. One can stay here only for a few nights which is favorable for me compared to a hostel where toilets are shared. I'll prefer to stay for a hotel with a private bathroom even on a budget.

Room Tip: reserve the higher floor rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kikaytine55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

We spent 3 nights here in mid-November 2013. A triple room had 3 very comfortable twin beds for Mom, Dad & daughter age 20. Room was very clean with plenty of space. A closet and desk top only - could use more space for placing things and unpacking luggage. Had a nice flat screen TV with some English channels. Bathroom was bright and spacious. Big tub with shower that had plenty of hot water and good pressure. Complimentary soaps, shampoo, and cream. Beds made up & towels changed daily. Breakfast was good at 10 Euros if booked the night before (12 Euro otherwise); included coffees, teas, breads, cold-cuts, cheeses, hard boiled eggs, cereals, granola, yogurt, fruit and pastries. Location is great! Short walk to Leidse Square aka Leidsplein, Old Town, Rieks Museum, Van Gough Museum, Diamond Museum, Casino. Central Station easy to get to on the Tram > take 1, 2, or 5 Tram. Hotel could be a little tough to find for those navigating on foot. It's located down a side street behind the Marriot Hotel. There is an elevator, however depending on room location, there may be a few stairs. The hotel staff was very pleasant and accomodating. They helped with directions and suggestions for eateries & shopping. When we first arrived we were chilly - they quickly responded with extra blankets & promptly helped us to operate the radiators. Nice hotel on a budget. Would return and highly recommend.

Room Tip: We requested a quiet room and were placed on 5th floor at end of hall. Was a good size room and ind...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Regina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gyongyos, Hungary
Level Contributor
37 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

I was there on last week for a one night. Good location, from Centraal Station by tram 1,2 or 5, stop Leidseplein, walking distance the old town. Staff is really friendly, the room ( nr 51 ) is a corner room on ground floor, big windows, very comfortable, best bed of this year ( 10 country , 10 hotel in this year ) for me. Bathroom is avarage. BUT ! In the room are a stairs!! So I stepped into room and for a second steps I falled down in dark. I had not time to switch on the light, the stairs are so next to door and no any sign shows it. Please be carefull. It is a good hotel, but I do not give a 5 because my ankle still is in pain.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Adrienn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Vondelpark
Hotel Alexander
Hotel Alexander
#149 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 479 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
BEST WESTERN Apollo Museumhotel Amsterdam City Centre
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Piet Hein
Hotel Piet Hein
#172 of 363 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 785 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vondelpark
Hotel Espresso
Hotel Espresso
#95 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 719 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Owl Hotel
Owl Hotel
#111 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 597 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
No photo provided
Hotel Cornelisz
#153 of 363 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Leonardo Hotel Amsterdam City Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Leonardo Hotel Amsterdam City Center

Property: Leonardo Hotel Amsterdam City Center
Address: Tesselschadestraat 23, 1054 ET Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly Best Western Leidse Square Hotel)
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Vondelpark
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #177 of 363 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Leonardo Hotel Amsterdam City Center 3*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Multistory Hotel housed in 19th-century building within a short walk to Leidseplein, bars, nightclubs & the Municipal Theatre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotwire, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Leonardo Hotel Amsterdam City Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ach Leidse Square Amsterdam
Hotel Ach Leidse Square

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing