We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Very comfortable” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Leonardo Hotel Amsterdam City Center

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Leonardo Hotel Amsterdam City Center
Ranked #167 of 363 Hotels in Amsterdam
LINCOLN
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very comfortable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

We stayed for 4 days
Very clean comfortable with friendly staff
Excellent breakfast
Perfect location for Vondelpark & leidsesplain
Easy access for airport via bus or train
Hotel has option of luggage storage if required
Would highly recommend

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PANDABRAWN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,438 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    289
    672
    338
    85
    54
See reviews for
226
630
77
55
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cairo, Egypt
Level Contributor
26 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

Clean hotel and friendly staff. Staff were able to change my room based on my request. Few min walk to Leidseplein Square and metro station. Luggage room exists if you want to leave your luggage for few hours to have a quick trip after checking out.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ahmed E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
124 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

This hotel is located on a quiet street in the Museum district very close to museums and parks. Room 304 was quiet and overlooked a large treed courtyard. The linens were clean and the pillows and bed comfortable. The front desk help were VERY helpful and spoke excellent English. The room was adequate size for a European room. But this is where the compliments end.

The sheer curtains had stains on them. The tiles on the bathroom floor were GRAY compared to the tiles under the sink in the non traffic areas which were still white. The bottom of the shower curtain was YELLOW and slimy and I felt I needed to reshower each time it would sway and attach itself to my legs. There are no facecloths for makeup removal. The carpet was filthy and stained. The second night after getting into bed we saw a large bug crawling across the ceiling over the bed. I don't know what it was but we quaranteed our clothes upon return home in case it was a bedbug but we did not notice any bites or visibly see any bugs in the bed. But the worse thing was it was 86 degrees in Amsterdam that day. When we checked into the room we saw an air conditioning control and vents on the wall and assumed we had air conditioning. When we got back from sightseeing early evening, the room was scorching hot but alas the a/c did not work. We asked at the front desk and was told that room did NOT have a/c and that all the a/c rooms were taken. Of course they were! So the first night was a sleepless one even with a fan going and the window open I was in a puddle of sweat all night. The basement level luggage storage area is musty and filthy...we almost checked out when we saw that and I kinda wish we had.

In fairness, I did fill out a review of the hotel sent by Best Western and got an immediate reply back. The Hotel manager was going to review this room for the not so clean aspects I pointed out so hopefully these will be in better shape for someone else's visit. I also sent her the below photos showing the air conditioning unit controller and vents on the wall and asked for clarification as everything points to the fact this room has a/c. Her reply was that this rooms a/c was not working permanently and they were going to remove the controls from the room which hopefully will clear up any confusion for the next visitor. I was also told that facecloths are available from the front desk..apparently this information was to be located in the Guest Directory which I was told was on the desk but we did not find one in the room anywhere. She did offer a discount if I ever return to Amsterdam as enticement to give them another chance. I don't think we would pick the same hotel but we would choose another in the same area.

Room Tip: If it is going to be hot, make sure you get an air-conditioned room. Room 304 faces the back of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 2texanstraveling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mumbai
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

we stayed for 3 nights in august 2013 in this hotel. very good location few minutes walk from leidse square. direct bus from schiphol airport to leidse square. the hotel staff is very helpful, corteous and friendly. the breakfast is also good. the hotel is also few minutes walk from vondelpark. will definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank muhbeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

This hotel was spotless and friendly , in a great location away from the busy streets .. But only a 2 minute walk from leidse square. Approximately a 20 min walk to dam square .
There is a beautiful park right next to the hotel , and trams and buses practically right outside .
Would definitely stay here again ...

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Angela W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
Level Contributor
97 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

I liked this hotel a lot. It's not very luxurious, but everything is in perfect condition. The location is wonderful as it's close to the museums, shops, bars and restaurants. The breakfast is very good also! If I como back to Amsterdam, I'll stay there for sure. I strongly recommend it. They have a big storage room where you can leave your luggage if necessary. We left us for 3 days and it was ok.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrea Lucia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We have stayed at Best Western (Leidse) before and returned with our brother and sister-in-law for his 40th birthday. Once again found our stay to be very enjoyable. A warm welcome at 9.30 am and although our rooms were not ready no problem in storing our luggage so we could go and explore. Although set away from the bus route 5 minute walking distance to the Hard Rock Cafe, Hollands Casino and the start of the canal boat tours. Our room was extremely clean and although no air conditioning as we were very lucky with the weather they did supply a fan. Will definitely be going back.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Jamie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
BEST WESTERN Apollo Museumhotel Amsterdam City Centre
Vondelpark
Hotel Alexander
Hotel Alexander
#143 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 461 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Owl Hotel
Owl Hotel
#107 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 576 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Vondelpark
Hotel Esspresso
Hotel Esspresso
#94 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 685 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Cornelisz
Hotel Cornelisz
#146 of 363 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 405 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Piet Hein
Hotel Piet Hein
#180 of 363 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 751 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Leonardo Hotel Amsterdam City Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Leonardo Hotel Amsterdam City Center

Property: Leonardo Hotel Amsterdam City Center
Address: Tesselschadestraat 23, 1054 Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly Best Western Leidse Square Hotel)
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Vondelpark
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #167 of 363 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Leonardo Hotel Amsterdam City Center 3*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Multistory Hotel housed in 19th-century building within a short walk to Leidseplein, bars, nightclubs & the Municipal Theatre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Agoda, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Leonardo Hotel Amsterdam City Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ach Leidse Square Amsterdam
Hotel Ach Leidse Square

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing