We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't be recommended”
Review of Hotel de Stern

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Amsterdam
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel de Stern
Ranked #193 of 241 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Reviewed May 23, 2008

Stayed in this hotel as part of a stag-do trip to Amsterdam so didn't really have high hopes for the standard of the cheap accommodation - and it's a good job because this hotel is dire. We booked the quad room for Friday and Saturday night (£230) for four of us only to discover 2 singles and 1 double bed (so one of our group slept on the floor). Nothing in hotel the filled me with confidence starting with the seedy kebab shop downstairs, the slightly sleazy staff, the mightily step stairs, the fact the lock on the door was [--], TV got no reception, curtains didn't close properly, beds were useable but broken, general aroma of smoking etc etc. I could go on!! And none of us got much sleep due to the noise outside lasting all night.

On the plus side the location is quite central and it's probably just about ok for a stag or brief stay - as long as you have little to no quality standards! Otherwise stay well clear.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank TheAs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (35)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

18 - 24 of 35 reviews

Reviewed October 22, 2007

This 'hotel' is an absolute hole.

The room was the most disgusting thing I have ever seen! Had not been cleaned for a very long time, lights did not work, crap all over the walls, wouldn't suprise me if there were rats and other bugs in the room.

Staff very unfriendly and intimidating!

Seedy and disgusting!

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LancashireToddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2006

Now I understand that sometimes you get what you pay for. But for our 35 Euros each per night we did not expect this.

Having turned up at about 10pm we put our bags into our slightly smelly rooms, accepted that it was a bit naff, ignored the fact that we would have to share double beds, and headed straight out for some fun. It was only the following morning that we realised what we had booked into. The bed sheets were covered in small spots of blood! This was not just one bed but all three in our room. We can only presume that the sheets were not changed from the previous occupants. Is this a regular occurrence or a one off mistake? I will leave you to make your own minds up.

It soon became obvious why all three beds had spots of blood on them. We had been bitten all over. Bed bugs had munched all of us. Not just in one of the rooms but most of us were gorged on during the night. I must have in excess of 200 bites. The previous occupants must have itched themselves to the point of bleeding.

Now I cannot fault the location and I did not mind the stairs being very steep, but this place is truly disgusting. If you doubt my words then please book yourself in and experience the sheer irritation that I am currently experiencing. Two days on and most of the group are still scratching. Feel free to take a gamble with your health and keep your fingers crossed that the bloke that runs the place has changed the sheets.

Oh and one more point. They claim to have a dining room. What they mean is that there is a kebab shop downstairs.

Location great! Health risks high! Enjoy your stay if you have already booked in.

  • Stayed: September 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank MikeSkiSun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2015 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: December 2014
Thank andreapandolfi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2013
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
2  Thank asgana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2013
Google Translation

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Antinwo91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2012
Google Translation

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 906Valentina123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Hostelle
#36 of 241 in Amsterdam
268 reviews
Centrum
Ibis Amsterdam Centre
Ibis Amsterdam Centre
#145 of 374 in Amsterdam
5,237 reviews
XO Hotels Park West
#65 of 374 in Amsterdam
3,973 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
XO Hotels Couture
#43 of 374 in Amsterdam
1,936 reviews
Park Plaza Amsterdam Airport
#124 of 374 in Amsterdam
2,334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de Stern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de Stern

Address: Utrechtsestraat 18, 1017 VN Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #193 of 241 Specialty Lodging in Amsterdam
Price Range: $41 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Hotel & Restaurant “De Stern” The One Star budget hotel in the heart of Amsterdam.We have a rich history in host guests from all over the world for more than 50 years. Ideally located in the entertainment area "Rembrandt Square" where the highlights of the city can be reached within a walking distance. The supermarket in-front of the hotel, the laundry and the pharmacy are in the neighborhood, cafes, bars, coffee shops and discotheques are everywhere, plus our dining room open every day until 03:00am and weekends until 04:00am. The nearest Pay Parking Station is 200m away open 24 hours seven days a week. Price for one hour costs 4.80 EUR.The friendly multilingual staff will be happy to help you with free maps, tips what to do and where to go in Amsterdam to get the real experience.The property has been renovated newly in September 2011.Rooms now are simple and comfortable; the hotel has a canal view to Herengracht the first of the three major canals in the city center. Each room has its own shower and bathroom. TV and free Wi-Fi access. De Stern meets the most recent international safety and fire prevention standards. Furthermore, the hotel offers its guests a delicious Continental or English breakfast to start the day well.- No curfews or lockouts.Please note that De Stern Amsterdam has a narrow and winding stairway, which may not be suitable for the elderly.Attention!Strictly NO VISITORS rule!!!Check-in time: 13:00 until 18:00.Check-out time: 11:00 am.* ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing