We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“VERY poor” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Croydon

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Croydon
Ranked #348 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    13
    24
    26
    71
See reviews for
4
9
15
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
liverpool
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013

Arrived here late on a friday ( over for the Roger Waters concert) and the usual ' Hotel Reservations' place on the Damrak was closed, so walked all round the area looking for digs, and finally found this place. Just the two of us, we were given the attic 4 bed room with an amazing view of the (?) cathedral in the red-light ( did wake us up v. early, but more later!), up the ubiquitous steep Amsterdam stairs! Went out for the usual 'dam shenanigans, got back with a kebab and some chips ( the best chips ever) at about 5, turned the light on and there were two more bodies in t'other bunk-bed. Woke the fella up ( he was a Manc, must have been a bit upset these 2 pissed Scousers waking him), not deliberately, but by virtue of two fat 38 y.o. blokes squeezing through a narrow 'dam house whilst pissed. Woke his mate in the bottom bunk, who actually turned out to be his wife, who he had treated to a weekend in the Dam for her 40th birthday as a suprise! Slept very well, the bed was very comfortable, but obvious restrictions with a lady in there! Very tiny bathroom, shared with 4 Germans who had the runs. Robbed of key deposit by fat toad on front desk, church bells all night on the 1/4 hour and within 100 yards, Eu45 for a night. Got a place from the hotel place on the Damrak next day, but it is now a lot cheaper to book even a few days in advance for a nice apartment for less money. As for the Dam, been a while since I was last there, got rid of a lot of the pick-pockets and fellas selling cocaine on the streets, but all seems ( dare I say) a bit sterile now

Room Tip: Attic room facing the church had lovely views, but only if there is 4 in your party.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank redpaddys11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2013

We were 4 people came from israel and usually to the conditions of littlle rooms from the army so it was ok in generally there was allways a worker that was cleaning the rooms and stand in the sheets we've been there for a week but it dosent metter because amsterdam is amazing and the hostel is in a very centralizer place so that we were almost never in the room. Its little expencive for what you get but the team is nice and helper and we have very fun

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank israelation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2013

Stayed here 3 nights. I don't really understand why its called 'Hotel' because its definitely not one. We were staying in Room 3 which is an 8 bed dorm. Of 8 of the lockers, only about 4 actually locked which had all been taken by people already in the room. So we had to just leave our stuff on the floor next to our bunk bed which we were a bit worried about.

If you're after a hostel in the middle of the Red Light District, you couldn't ask for a better location. However, this hostel is on one of the main roads with many bars and coffee shops so you can imagine its busy, all day and all night so sleep isn't something we got that much of. Especially as the windows are always open because the rooms get stuffy with 8 people sleeping in them.

I was in Room 3. There was one toilet and one shower to share between 8 people. I'm not even joking when I say you cannot actually sit on the toilet properly because the wall in front of it is too close, you have to sit sideways!

And watch out for those stairs! Lethal!

We paid 25 euros a night each which I thought was expensive for what it was but I guess they all round about the same price.
I wish I'd have paid a little more and got a private room a little outside the red light district.
If you're after a bed, literally just somewhere to crash after a session with your mates, then fine. Not really somewhere you want to stay as a couple!

Room Tip: Rooms 1 2 and 3 are at the front on the main road, maybe the rooms at the back of the building would...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ChazLevy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Amsterdam hotels

Norwich, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013

There are rat traps underneath the beds and in the corner of the room. The shower is literally like being dribbled on by a very small dog but with red hot saliva. The stairs are essentially a ladder. The owner is very aggressive and extremely rude. My friend had everything he owns stolen from his room. The room is tiny, yet somehow rammed with 8 beds resulting in a sweaty musk to greet you upon entry.

I wouldn't even spend 5 euro's a night for this dirty little hole of a place. It is utterly disgraceful in every way.

Room Tip: Do not get a room here ever.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jaymo_369
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2013

The night before going me and a friend read all these reviews and were worried what we were letting ourselves in for with these 'dirty rooms' and 'deadly stairs'. However, the stairs are manageable, they are not as bad as people say, if you can laugh at it, its fine. We stayed in a 4 bed private, the room was clean, the bedding was clean and were quite comfy if im honest. The toilets are fantastic, its opposite the shower, but it has a lock and was pretty clean as well. The location is superb, you get discount on the pancake place downstairs which makes it even better. AND just to make things even better, in our 4 bed private, we had a decent size TV which had comedy central on, thats enough to make anyones day. I would go back to this place, decent value for money, if you want luxury then pay for luxury, if you want somewhere to rest your head then this place is ideal.

Room Tip: We were in room 5b? or 5a? we had a TV in there, and only had the 1 flight of stairs. I'd take t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jake C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2013

I have never seen a place this dirty. The room in which i stayed wasn't cleaned for a week "because the persons in the room did not change". Not to mention the bugs and mice that were wondering around.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Ileana S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Stadsdeel Zuid
Euphemia Hotel
Euphemia Hotel
#266 of 362 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
Centrum
Hotel Mevlana
Hotel Mevlana
#306 of 362 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
New West Inn Amsterdam
#164 of 362 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 983 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Van Gogh
Hotel Van Gogh
#144 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 869 reviews
De Pijp
easyHotel Amsterdam
easyHotel Amsterdam
#206 of 362 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 999 reviews
West Side Inn Hotel
#288 of 362 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,789 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Croydon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Croydon

Property: Hotel Croydon
Address: Warmoes Straat 75, 1012 HX Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #348 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Hotel Croydon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Croydon Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing