We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Perfect location, lousy accommodation” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Croydon

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Amsterdam
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Croydon
Save
You added Hotel Croydon to your Saves list
Ranked #343 of 363 Hotels in Amsterdam
Sant Andreu de la Barca, Spain
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Perfect location, lousy accommodation”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

The location is perfect, in the middle of the red light district, but in contrast, the facilities of the Hotel are above any other hotel I have seen in my life before. It is impossible to go upstairs without crawling, and there is nothing appart from dirty and abandoned rooms (no living room, no public toilet, etc..). And all of that lack of comfort for a rip off. I paid 40 euros per night for sleeping in a shack. The only positive aspect, the location, for the rest, the worst Hotel ever.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Manuelmur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    12
    22
    22
    66
See reviews for
4
9
15
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco
Level Contributor
60 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

If you're the lone traveler like me, you're probably gonna try to find the cheapest place to live. "It's all about what you do in the city, not where you sleep...cause after all, you'll be spending most of your time outside, right?" Trust me, this place may be cheap, but heed my advice, and DO NOT STAY HERE!

It is not only the worst dwelling i have ever had the misfortune of staying at but probably one of the worst in the world!

If you have a suitcase with you, good luck getting it upstairs. The staircase is the MOST NARROWEST AND STEEPEST staircase I have ever witnessed. You'll be carrying your suitcase upwards of about an 80 degree angle. It's plain ridiculous!

The moment you step into the hostel, you'll no doubt smell the scent of pot. It is Amsterdam after all, but you'd think you'd at least be able to sleep without the smell of marijuana lingering the room trying to get up your nostrils. Well, if you're as unfortunate as me, you'll probably have a jobless obese pothead in your room who just watches tv and smokes all day.

The showers are just as bad. I'm not usually too picky with where I live but this bathroom was like showering in a utility room. Disgusting stuff, trust me!

The experience I had here was absolutely horrible! If you're a traveler, I highly recommend you maybe just fork up a little bit extra for a better more social hostel. This one is just not worth the time or toil. The only benefit of it is that you're close to the Red Light District.

Just avoid it! Please! Or better...Couchsurf!!!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JonoAroundTheWorld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Amsterdam hotels

Kota Bharu, Malaysia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013 via mobile

The place is only 1 street behind red light district, so we try to go back hotel before 7pm as after that, the street very noisy n felt unsafe. In the hotel, we facing difficulty moving our luggage as the staircase is very narrow. If those bringing big luggage, I have no idea how they r taking the luggage in. The toilet also not so clean.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank szehwe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

I spent 2 nights in Hotel Croydon with 4 friends and it's fair to say that we were a little worried after we had read the reviews. I agree that maybe the place is a little run down and the stairs are very, very steep so it wouldn't be ideal for those who are travelling with children/a lot of luggage. But given how cheap the place is, I do think it's good if you're just after a place to sleep whilst visiting Amsterdam. The location really is amazing, right in the middle of everything and although the rooms were basic, they did have lockers, which is one of the most important things for me when staying in a hostel. The staff were all very friendly and we got some vouchers for waffles in the shop next door which was great!

I don't think Hotel Croydon would be a great place if you want to plan to spend a lot of time in the hostel. But as a base to explore Amsterdam it really isn't so bad!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Polly M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

I travelled to Amsterdam for 6 days in a group with 5 other friends, and having read the reviews we were very apprehensive about what hell we might be staying in, but when we arrived the reception staff were very helpful and hospitable and let us put our luggage in the entrance to reception as we arrived very early in the morning, before check in. (They also allowed this with our baggage after we checked out when we had a night flight so could explore the last of Dam without our cases)

We were up 3 flights of stairs which, although treacherous and steep, provided us with many laughs on the trip. Just tread carefully!
Our room had 4 Bunk Beds, we occupied 3 and there was a lovely australian guy occupying the last, who was travelling alone. The next morning he left and we had another guy who was travelling alone join us, whom later in the evening joined us as we ventured out to clubs.
The next day he left and a couple joined us filling up the other bunk bed.

So, if you didn't feel comfortable around other people this wouldn't be the best scenario and although at first the idea of sharing was a little bizarre, we are all sociable people and got on with each person in the room with us.

The beds were clean and comfortable and there was a locker allocated to each person. Although I had no problems with the bed, one friend saw a bedbug on his pillow in the night and though he had no bites naturally this caused quite a...panic. We saw no more signs of bedbugs or bites for the rest of the trip

We forgot about padlocks for lockers but our australian acquaintance told us on the first day you could put down a deposit of 5 Euro's for a padlock from reception and return it upon departure. This worked perfectly for us. The lockers were quite large so we had a few padlocks and shared just for our valuables like passports and currency.

The shower room was also the toilet which meant the floor was often wet so we wore shoes or flip flops if we went in. The sink was on the outside with a large mirror above it next to the window. This meant light for the mirror was good during the day but with only one light in the room and this being around the corner, at night it was difficult to use the mirror.
The shower itself was powerful and consistently hot 24hours of the day no matter how many of us used it or how long we took.

The location was brilliant and we were a short walk away from everything, on the same street is shops, cafe's restaurants and a small supermarket. Downstairs is a delicious crepes shop linked to the hotel so you get a discount on food and drink there if you're staying in the hostel.

If you come in late at night like we did many times (between 2-6am) You'll find you have the ring the bell to gain access to the hostel but most times there was someone to let us in instantly, just once we had to wait 5-10 minutes for someone to come down and they were always inquisitive about your night, very nice people.

Due to coming in late we were often asleep until lunchtime and found the cleaners would come in to the room and be very loud and this startled us the first couple of nights.

I can't think of anything else, other than to say that for the value for this trip we got what we hoped for, a bright clean room with somewhere comfortable to lay your head, no frills or luxury but then for less than £10 a night we weren't expecting any more.

Just a couple of tips; for essentials if you take a right out of the hostel and then the next right, half way down this street there are two supermarkets opposite each other.
For a nice cafe, again take a right out of the hostel and there are a few on the other side of the road, we had amazing milkshakes in 'Hunters' the logo is a cartoon dog.
A few up from the hostel is also a couple of nice bars for a drink, these generally seemed to all close at 1 or 2am along with the cafe's.


Hope this helps!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Hannah J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
Hotel Mevlana
Hotel Mevlana
#301 of 363 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 stars 156 reviews
Stadsdeel Zuid
Euphemia Hotel
Euphemia Hotel
#260 of 363 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 stars 184 reviews
New West Inn Amsterdam
#160 of 363 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 908 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Van Gogh
Hotel Van Gogh
#138 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 814 reviews
De Pijp
easyHotel Amsterdam
easyHotel Amsterdam
#213 of 363 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 914 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Croydon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Croydon

Property: Hotel Croydon
Address: Warmoesstraat 75, 1012 HX Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #343 of 363 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 39
Also Known As:
Croydon Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing