We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming house museum if you have 20 minutes to spare”

Museum Geelvinck Hinlopen Huis
Book In Advance
More Info
$47.51*
and up
Skip the Line: Amsterdam and Holland Pass
Ranked #173 of 516 things to do in Amsterdam
Attraction details
Atlanta
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Charming house museum if you have 20 minutes to spare”
Reviewed April 5, 2013

It's right across the canal from the Van Loon and is covered by iAmsterdam card, so if you have 15-20 minutes to spare, definitely worth stopping by. The people there are very friendly and love to talk to visitors about the house. There is a pretty garden and the piano collection is interesting.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Guiche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    35
    17
    5
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
50 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Another charming canal house”
Reviewed January 22, 2013

Husband and I visited this house as well as the Van Loon house during one of our days in Amsterdam. Very charming, with beautiful furnishings and decor. As many have mentioned, a beautiful garden as well.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank bonnieskl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ljubljana, Slovenia
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“What a toilet!”
Reviewed December 8, 2012

Found it by chance, walking by. There was an elderly gentleman at the coach house and another at the main house, both very knowledgeable and interesting to listen to. It is interesting to see the "compound" and imagine how they lived back then, although the rooms are of mixed epochs. By chance I picked the WC in the basement, and that is a delight in itself - painted all over! (Also very clean). If you are looking for a really unique experience, go for it.

Helpful?
1 Thank David V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Canal House”
Reviewed August 13, 2012

I enjoy restored houses to different time periods. I kind of was expecting the coach house to be restored but it wasn't. The garden was very beautiful with blooming flowers and a lovely fountain and pond. A blue heron was admiring it at the same time I was. The house is restored mostly on the main floor with a exhibit or two in the basement and upstairs. The docents were v ery knowledgable and helpful in explaining anything you might ask about or are interested in. The visit doesn't take very long and probably enjoyed the Van Loon house more but this was fine too.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank loriual777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sundsvall, Sweden
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Beautiful garden”
Reviewed June 20, 2012

It was the garden that lured me here, and to my surprised I wasn't disappointed. The garden was truly beautiful to walk around in. An escape from Amsterdam's outer world's traffic and noise

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Monia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Museum Geelvinck Hinlopen Huis also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Museum Geelvinck Hinlopen Huis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing