We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Canal House”

Museum Geelvinck Hinlopen Huis
Book In Advance
More Info
$43.68*
and up
Skip the Line: Amsterdam and Holland Pass
Ranked #158 of 501 things to do in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Canal House”
Reviewed August 13, 2012

I enjoy restored houses to different time periods. I kind of was expecting the coach house to be restored but it wasn't. The garden was very beautiful with blooming flowers and a lovely fountain and pond. A blue heron was admiring it at the same time I was. The house is restored mostly on the main floor with a exhibit or two in the basement and upstairs. The docents were v ery knowledgable and helpful in explaining anything you might ask about or are interested in. The visit doesn't take very long and probably enjoyed the Van Loon house more but this was fine too.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank loriual777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    35
    17
    5
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sundsvall, Sweden
Level Contributor
58 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Beautiful garden”
Reviewed June 20, 2012

It was the garden that lured me here, and to my surprised I wasn't disappointed. The garden was truly beautiful to walk around in. An escape from Amsterdam's outer world's traffic and noise

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Monia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
285 reviews
97 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
“Bring Dutch History alive”
Reviewed May 23, 2012

A small museum in the city centre. Entry through the old coach house, then cross the gardens to the main house. Gardens alone are worth a visit to this merchants house. Unusual for Amsterdam in that the property stretches between two different canalside streets.

Adult € 6 in April 2012

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank tankerton1944
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, England
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
Reviewed April 20, 2012

Was expecting much more than a few room musty rooms in an old house. On the plus side it was only eight euros so worth the short visit.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Janeeleeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, WA
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Surprise”
Reviewed January 18, 2012

It was already nice to be able to peek into a house redone in styles of eras past. What made my experience special was the willingness of the volunteers(?) to take time explaining the place to me personally, even in English!
Compared to the van Loon, this feels less like a museum and more like an actual residence.
Unfortunately, only the 1st floor is viewable. In the basement is a small exhibit for Indonesian culture.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank snowgrassflats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Museum Geelvinck Hinlopen Huis also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Museum Geelvinck Hinlopen Huis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing