We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel, with Scrupulously Clean Rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel The Golden Bear
Ranked #298 of 367 Hotels in Amsterdam
Puerto Vallarta, Mexico
Level 6 Contributor
328 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 364 helpful votes
“Great Hotel, with Scrupulously Clean Rooms”
Reviewed September 15, 2007

Due to a large convention in Amsterdam, I was unable to secure rooms for more than 1-2 nights at any hotel. I found the Hotel Golden Bear through [--]. The hotel is near the Rijk Museum and close to the Leidseplein. Tram 1 and 5 from AMS Central Station runs right near the hotel, a 10 minute tram at the most. I was only able to get 2 nights at this hotel, and paid 100 Euros per night for a room with twin beds and private bath. The room was large, incredibly clean, comfortable and well appointed. The TV worked very well, the room also had a DVD player and radio. Toiletries were provided. The view was of a courtyard below. The hotel is on a quiet sleep, with little noise. The bed(s) were very good, the linens very good quality – and I slept very well. Breakfast was served in a room on the main floor off reception. Each guest is served separately with a plate of cheese, meat, coffee, breads etc. It is ample. Hotel staff was very helpful and approachable. I would definitely stay here again – it was a pleasant stay.

  • Liked — Location, room cleanliness and furnishings
  • Disliked — Typical Holland spiral stairs are steep and narrow
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank CanadianBoys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

369 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    108
    99
    41
    48
See reviews for
9
168
67
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2007

Was looking for convenient, gay friendly place to stay for myself and a guy friend. Did an internet search for gay friendly Amsterdam lodging. It was easy to contact/pay online; response to my emails within 24 hours. The Hotel Golden Bear is located on a quiet street near the Leidsestraat, a major road with trendy and regular shops, fancy and pedestrian restaurants and both exclusive and inexpensive hotels. Dam Square is a 20 minute walk to the northeast and the Rijksmuseum is a 20 minute stroll to the southwest. Some rooms were being renovated and was originally told I might have to stay in a smoking room (which I did not want to do). Then I got a response informing me no matter what, I would get a no smoking room. Arrived to a typical multi-floor Amsterdam townhouse after taking a cab from the train station. The receptionist welcomed us and we put away our luggage until our room was ready (we had arrived at 10 am from Houston). The reception area and breakfast room were pleasant and we looked through tourist brochures that were available. We later walked up the small, spiral stairs (similar to those found on a ship). It was a bit difficult to move our bags up the stairway due to the space; however, when we got to our rooms we were very pleased. We were on the third floor and we had a shared shower and toilet on the second floor. The whole facility was very clean ... always with soap, toilet paper, beds made, etc. Each room was a nice size and had a double bed, tv, wash basin, closet, desk and chair. They were painted colorfully and had trendy Ikea-style furniture. My window looked to a wall but still allowed for nice cool air from the outside. My friend's looked to a courtyard below. The morning inclusive meal was hearty enough and consisted of meats, cheeses, rolls, toast, juice, coffee and other items. The receptionists were always helpful when giving us directions to places such as the drug store, restaurants, bars, the trolleys, etc. The price was reasonable and again, good location.

  • Liked — Great location and price, nice room size, pleasant staff and overall cleanliness.
  • Disliked — The traditional stars were very steep and there was a bit of mold in the closet (due to the damp Amsterdam weather).
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank justbstx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2007

There are probably better deals in Amsterdam. The hotel was just OK. The beds were quite comfortable and the room spacious. David at the front desk was wonderfully friendly and helpful. Breakfast was only average--definitely nothing to write home about.
The stairs are definitely a challenge to anyone with large bags. We were carrying large duffels of sport equipment and it was everything we could do to get them up and down the steep, narrow spiral staircase. Definitely a hazard to older travellers or anyone with limited mobility.
The hotel is conveniently located steps away from a tram line and within easy walking distace of museums and many restaurants and shops. If you stay here definitely check out the Spijker Bar just down the street and say hello to Tim the bartender! He offers great advice on what to see and do in Amsterdam!

  • Liked — The location
  • Disliked — The stairs
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Escena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san francisco
1 review
Reviewed April 18, 2007

My gf and I stayed there for a week and had the best time on our vacation. Alex and the staff were wonderful and helpful with our excursions and other recommendations. Our room was very comfortable and quiet. If you want to be in a central location, then this is the hotel for you.

  • Liked — Staff
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank big_cute
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2007

I stayed three nights at the Golden Bear in Amsterdam. Centrally located, the hotel is an excellent choice for their special nich market. The rooms were very clean and everything worked. The continental breakfast was a nice start for the day and the informed staff were always ready to help. I accidently left my agenda/datebook and with one call from the airport everything was arranged for the return to me in the States. I will most definately stay at the Golden Bear again when I visit Amsterdam

Stayed April 2007
Helpful?
4 Thank whitedachshund
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bracknell
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 16, 2007

We had a great stay at The Golden Bear.
Our room was comfortable and clean.
The staff are friendly and helpful.
We'll definately be staying here again on our next trip to Amsterdam.
Bob Mitchell & Adey Steer

  • Liked — The cleanliness of the room and the friendly staff
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank smprods
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plano
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 24, 2006

I could not find Golden Bear until now. First of all thank you to the receptionist for going out of his way to help me get out of the hell hole I was in at the time (see my review on the Aero Hotel). I dont understand some of the negatives I have been reading . Unless the hotel has changed drastically since I stayed there a year ago. I tried to stay there again this year, but alas, they were booked solid for my visit dates. I must say that the two rooms I stayed in were the cleanest (especially the bathroom) I have seen in Europe or the US. There were no smoke odors-just a clean (soap and water) smell. The beds were comfortable and the rooms were quiet. I was quite rested each morning. The breakfast was basic dutch--very acceptable. As for the drunk leaving the door unlocked--thats your own fault--you are in Europe--mama's not here to hold your hand--you must be responsible for your own safety.

  • Liked — really, really clean--very impressive. Friendly staff
  • Disliked — not a problem for me. but would be a difficult stay for the disabled
  • Tips/Secrets — book as far ahead as possible--hotel booked on most weekends.
  • Stayed December 2005, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Texbear21Plano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Jordaan
BackStage Hotel Amsterdam
BackStage Hotel Amsterdam
#120 of 367 in Amsterdam
446 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Atlanta Hotel
Atlanta Hotel
#295 of 367 in Amsterdam
471 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Amsterdam Downtown Hotel
Amsterdam Downtown Hotel
#285 of 367 in Amsterdam
282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Quentin Arrive Hotel
Quentin Arrive Hotel
#304 of 367 in Amsterdam
641 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
ITC Hotel
ITC Hotel
#270 of 367 in Amsterdam
570 reviews
Centrum
Hotel Mevlana
Hotel Mevlana
#323 of 367 in Amsterdam
185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel The Golden Bear? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel The Golden Bear

Property: Hotel The Golden Bear
Address: Kerkstraat 37, 1017 GB Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #298 of 367 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel The Golden Bear 2*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is housed in two 18th century buildings, this is one of the best shopping areas with an abundance of boutiques known as the '9 straatjes', which consists of nine streets that are situated between the canals Prinsengracht and Singel. The rooms are well equipped with modern facilities to make sure your stay is as comfortable as possible. The hotel is located next to ‘Leidsestraat’, one of the most popular shopping streets of Amsterdam, near to all Amsterdam’s highlights such as the Rijksmuseum, Van Gogh museum, Albert Cuyp Market, shops, bars, clubs and restaurants. The Kerkstraat is a quiet street, so you will be in the city centre of Amsterdam but still have a good night sleep. The hotel offers many services and facilities such as free wireless internet throughout the building, tickets to various museums and activities, a continental breakfast and free city maps. Our reception is open between 8:00- 24:00, and we will be happy to help you if you will need any additional services, facilities or information. The location is perfect to explore the city and our staff will make sure your stay in Amsterdam is one to remember. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel The Golden Bear reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing