We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really noisy but clean” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel The Golden Bear

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel The Golden Bear
Ranked #257 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Adelaide
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Really noisy but clean”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

We stayed here 2 nights cause it was relatively cheap and look nice and clean from photos.

On arrival at 12noon, and check-in was 2pm. We were told our room was ready but we had to pay 10euro extra to get to our rooms. We asked if they could hold luggage, they told us yes, but luggage was just in the front foyer, the door was usually open and often the person at the front desk would not be there, so definitely no secure luggage hold area. As we were heading out for the day we decided to pay the 10 euro extra to make sure our bags were no stolen.

Our room was tiny, but this is not uncommon in europe. However, the beds and bathrooms were very clean and well maintained.

The worse part of our stay was the noise. There were very thin walls, where you could hear your neighbours conversation. There was also no sound proofing from outside. We had a front room where you could hear all the trucks delivering to neighbouring businesses(which seems very often), all the people walking pass, all through the night, we had a terrible sleep. And unfortuantely my husband was sick in bed all day (no fault of the hotel) but it meant he got no rest at all.

The location was very convenient. Maybe if we stayed in a back room the noise levels could have been better, I'm not sure?

Room Tip: The front rooms are extremely noisy (though I didn't see the back rooms)
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank theresa j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

329 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    103
    89
    34
    35
See reviews for
7
150
66
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Malta
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

Great place to stay for a very reasonable price! The staff was really friendly and location is very great! Room was always clean and well maintained. I highly recommend this place while staying in Amsterdam.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Odessa-31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

The only issue i had with the hotel was the very steep steps with no lift, but that's to be expected in Amsterdam. The hotel is very central, with shopping starting 50 metres frin the door. The room was great, they should add hanging racks in the bathroom. There is no cupboard though, but since i was alone, i had no issues. There was space in the roon for luggage though. Leidseplein is just 300 metres away and the area is safe enough fora woman to walk in the early hours of the morning without any concerns. I found the restaurants in most of Amsterdam pretty expensive, but there is an Albert Hein just a few blocks away. Most of the tourist attractions within the city are less than a 20 minute walk away. If you are on a budget, stay away from this hotel. With all the fabulous stores just a few metres away, it'll be hard to stay within your budget. Thr hotel isn't cheap though, so maybe find a hostel if ob a budget. Breakfast is not great...continental breakfast in the front office. Rather skip it and find something to eat in the surrounding streets. There is a coffee shop next door, but don't indulge too much as the steep steps to your room could prove difficult to manage. I would stay here again if i ever visit Amsterdam in the future.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lebone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

No longer the Golden Bear. Used to be really great place with friendly staff and nice facilities, but they have new owners a of 2014 who have made it clear that they want nothing to do with gays. I was totally shocked to hear them ell me that. One does not expect that kind of homophobia in Amsterdam.

Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
7 Thank bobro64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Amsterdam hotels

Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 nights in June 2014. Hotel reception staff were very helpful and our room was clean and neat. We had an added bonus, our own bathroom which we hadn't expected. The main benefits of this hotel are the price and the location (which is central to everything). I wouldn't recommend the hotel to anyone who couldn't fit up a very narrow, winding staircase which has tiny steps. We left our big luggage at the airport so it was fine for us and even though we had been prepared for the stairs in other reviews, they were still a bit of a challenge. We checked out a nearby cafe called De Sneaker Pan (previously mentioned in a review on Trip Advisor for this hotel) and agreed that it is a great place for breakfast and only 40metres from the hotel's front door. If you want a hotel in this sort of location in Amsterdam at a budget price, I recommend considering the Golden Bear. The renovations are mostly completed now and you won't find many other hotels in this price bracket in Central Amsterdam.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Ladam35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Mississippi
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

We checked in and tried to pay with AMEX. They said card refused. I called AMEX and was told no charge was attempted. Manual AMEX charge also didn't go through. VISA had no problem. Figure that??? Got to room and there was poop in toilet, wet towels and hair in bed. Told there were no other rooms available. They tried to put us up in another hotel that had a bad Trip Advisor review. Was told they couldn't refund a charge to VISA. I won't 'stay in a filthy room. Had to find alternative lodging.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Lhslhs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

We stayed here for fri and sat night. On arrival we were met by David, the receptionist who was very welcoming, friendly and helpful. The reception area was lovely and bright and had obviously been updated compared with the other area of the hotel that we stayed. Our room was on the top top floor, up a very steep staircase - it was quite the experience. When booking, it was advertised as being deluxe/wifi/flat screen but we didn't have any. Although we were happy, we had expected it to be more modern for the price we payed.
We found the hotel quiet and comfortable, it's in an excellent location and close to tram lines. If the rooms were updated it would be a top place to stay!

Room Tip: Choose deluxe but expect a hike
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank coolybooly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Amsterdam Downtown Hotel
Amsterdam Downtown Hotel
#271 of 362 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 stars 246 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Atlanta Hotel
Atlanta Hotel
#286 of 362 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 stars 413 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Quentin Arrive Hotel
Quentin Arrive Hotel
#280 of 362 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 stars 574 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Nadia
Hotel Nadia
#103 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 3,666 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hampshire Hotel - Prinsengracht Amsterdam
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
ITC Hotel
ITC Hotel
#273 of 362 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 stars 454 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel The Golden Bear? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel The Golden Bear

Property: Hotel The Golden Bear
Address: Kerkstraat 37, 1017 GB Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #257 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel The Golden Bear 2*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is housed in two 18th century buildings, this is one of the best shopping areas with an abundance of boutiques known as the '9 straatjes', which consists of nine streets that are situated between the canals Prinsengracht and Singel. The rooms are well equipped with modern facilities to make sure your stay is as comfortable as possible. The hotel is located next to ‘Leidsestraat’, one of the most popular shopping streets of Amsterdam, near to all Amsterdam’s highlights such as the Rijksmuseum, Van Gogh museum, Albert Cuyp Market, shops, bars, clubs and restaurants. The Kerkstraat is a quiet street, so you will be in the city centre of Amsterdam but still have a good night sleep. The hotel offers many services and facilities such as free wireless internet throughout the building, tickets to various museums and activities, a continental breakfast and free city maps. Our reception is open between 8:00- 24:00, and we will be happy to help you if you will need any additional services, facilities or information. The location is perfect to explore the city and our staff will make sure your stay in Amsterdam is one to remember. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Hotel The Golden Bear reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing