We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Shopping and nightlife on your doorstep” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel The Golden Bear

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel The Golden Bear to your Saves list
Hotel The Golden Bear
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kerkstraat 37, 1017GB Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Canal Ring (Grachtengordel))   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #256 of 363 Hotels in Amsterdam
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Shopping and nightlife on your doorstep”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

The only issue i had with the hotel was the very steep steps with no lift, but that's to be expected in Amsterdam. The hotel is very central, with shopping starting 50 metres frin the door. The room was great, they should add hanging racks in the bathroom. There is no cupboard though, but since i was alone, i had no issues. There was space in the roon for luggage though. Leidseplein is just 300 metres away and the area is safe enough fora woman to walk in the early hours of the morning without any concerns. I found the restaurants in most of Amsterdam pretty expensive, but there is an Albert Hein just a few blocks away. Most of the tourist attractions within the city are less than a 20 minute walk away. If you are on a budget, stay away from this hotel. With all the fabulous stores just a few metres away, it'll be hard to stay within your budget. Thr hotel isn't cheap though, so maybe find a hostel if ob a budget. Breakfast is not great...continental breakfast in the front office. Rather skip it and find something to eat in the surrounding streets. There is a coffee shop next door, but don't indulge too much as the steep steps to your room could prove difficult to manage. I would stay here again if i ever visit Amsterdam in the future.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lebone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

329 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    103
    89
    34
    35
See reviews for
7
150
66
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

No longer the Golden Bear. Used to be really great place with friendly staff and nice facilities, but they have new owners a of 2014 who have made it clear that they want nothing to do with gays. I was totally shocked to hear them ell me that. One does not expect that kind of homophobia in Amsterdam.

Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
7 Thank bobro64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Amsterdam hotels

Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 nights in June 2014. Hotel reception staff were very helpful and our room was clean and neat. We had an added bonus, our own bathroom which we hadn't expected. The main benefits of this hotel are the price and the location (which is central to everything). I wouldn't recommend the hotel to anyone who couldn't fit up a very narrow, winding staircase which has tiny steps. We left our big luggage at the airport so it was fine for us and even though we had been prepared for the stairs in other reviews, they were still a bit of a challenge. We checked out a nearby cafe called De Sneaker Pan (previously mentioned in a review on Trip Advisor for this hotel) and agreed that it is a great place for breakfast and only 40metres from the hotel's front door. If you want a hotel in this sort of location in Amsterdam at a budget price, I recommend considering the Golden Bear. The renovations are mostly completed now and you won't find many other hotels in this price bracket in Central Amsterdam.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Ladam35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Mississippi
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

We checked in and tried to pay with AMEX. They said card refused. I called AMEX and was told no charge was attempted. Manual AMEX charge also didn't go through. VISA had no problem. Figure that??? Got to room and there was poop in toilet, wet towels and hair in bed. Told there were no other rooms available. They tried to put us up in another hotel that had a bad Trip Advisor review. Was told they couldn't refund a charge to VISA. I won't 'stay in a filthy room. Had to find alternative lodging.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Lhslhs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

We stayed here for fri and sat night. On arrival we were met by David, the receptionist who was very welcoming, friendly and helpful. The reception area was lovely and bright and had obviously been updated compared with the other area of the hotel that we stayed. Our room was on the top top floor, up a very steep staircase - it was quite the experience. When booking, it was advertised as being deluxe/wifi/flat screen but we didn't have any. Although we were happy, we had expected it to be more modern for the price we payed.
We found the hotel quiet and comfortable, it's in an excellent location and close to tram lines. If the rooms were updated it would be a top place to stay!

Room Tip: Choose deluxe but expect a hike
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank coolybooly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

The hotel is a building site with work starting at 7am- dusty and very noisy. Staff were unapologetic about this. Breakfast was meager. In fairness the room itself was good. I Imagine the hotel will be good when finished but for now, not worth the money.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
2 Thank Robert G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
51 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2014

This hotel is just what we needed -- clean, comfortable and centrally located. There was some initial confusion as to our reservation, but after some intense discussion all was cleared up and the staff was friendly and willing to help the entire time. This hotel is seconds from Leidseplein as well as the 1, 2, and 5 tram lines. Very bustling part of town, which was very nice. Within walking distance of almost everything!
If you're planning on taking advantage of the breakfast at this place, I would advise you to find something cheaper and better somewhere else. For ten euros each, they have a smattering of bread and jam and cold cuts. If you're in dire need of food, this will do just fine, but if you have the time to go somewhere else, it would be recommended.
Last but not least, this hotel is under intense construction. Floors and walls are being taken down or being recarpeted, so just be aware that the already slightly cramped hotel is even more so.
Overall good, would stay again!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Samantha W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Amsterdam Downtown Hotel
Amsterdam Downtown Hotel
#269 of 363 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 stars 243 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Atlanta Hotel
Atlanta Hotel
#287 of 363 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 stars 411 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Quentin Arrive Hotel
Quentin Arrive Hotel
#282 of 363 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 stars 573 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Nadia
Hotel Nadia
#105 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 3,659 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hampshire Hotel - Prinsengracht Amsterdam
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
ITC Hotel
ITC Hotel
#277 of 363 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 stars 454 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel The Golden Bear? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel The Golden Bear

Property: Hotel The Golden Bear
Address: Kerkstraat 37, 1017GB Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #256 of 363 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel The Golden Bear 2*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is housed in two 18th century buildings, this is one of the best shopping areas with an abundance of boutiques known as the '9 straatjes', which consists of nine streets that are situated between the canals Prinsengracht and Singel. The rooms are well equipped with modern facilities to make sure your stay is as comfortable as possible. The hotel is located next to ‘Leidsestraat’, one of the most popular shopping streets of Amsterdam, near to all Amsterdam’s highlights such as the Rijksmuseum, Van Gogh museum, Albert Cuyp Market, shops, bars, clubs and restaurants. The Kerkstraat is a quiet street, so you will be in the city centre of Amsterdam but still have a good night sleep. The hotel offers many services and facilities such as free wireless internet throughout the building, tickets to various museums and activities, a continental breakfast and free city maps. Our reception is open between 8:00- 24:00, and we will be happy to help you if you will need any additional services, facilities or information. The location is perfect to explore the city and our staff will make sure your stay in Amsterdam is one to remember. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Hotel The Golden Bear reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing