We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel The Golden Bear
Ranked #309 of 373 Hotels in Amsterdam
Reviewed March 3, 2014

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank Kris M
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review
Reviews (380)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

104 - 110 of 380 reviews

Reviewed February 28, 2014

We had a new room with our own bathroom (we thought it would be shared so that was nice). It was very modern and clean. The people of the hotel were also very friendly and helpful. The location was perfect. The only minus was that the window could not be opened.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank Joyce C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2014

I've stayed at the good old Golden Bear more times than I could possibly count. I have many, many fond memories over the years of this venerable Dutch institution, with its quirky staircases and Old World charm.

Sadly, the Golden Bear has been purchased by a chain. The new owners are in the process of "updating" the rooms; the result is modern, corporate, and characterless. Gone are the Old World charm and the gay Amsterdam tradition. Breakfast is also history.

All things must change. Time to move on. I'm thankful for all the memories.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Keith_Montgomery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2014

People were helpful and polite, but there were problems with the room (it was cold, and the sheets were unclean). However, it was changed promptly when I complained and the new room was quite satisfactory..






  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank elly m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2014

Stayed here last week for 2 nights to a hotel i found easily enough with directions on my first visit to amsterdam, it's more a gay friendly hotel as i noticed females were staying.

However the receptionist was kind in giving me maps and guides and advice.

Hotel is very very clean and the shower is fine. TV is excellent in room with BBC channels.
Wifi connection is fine.

Only minus points are that it is a 20 mins walk from the main gay areas however it is right by club church, or you can get a tram down and the staircases are very narrow, steep and hard with luggage especially coming down.

I would stay here again, although i would prefer sumwhere more central

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dudleyguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2013

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank Robert G
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed December 8, 2013

I really don't know about other rooms, but our double deluxe room was sooooo cosy! Perfectly cleaned and BIG. OK, the owners are in a perfect "northern style" of being (a bit detached), but they surely don't lack of politeness. And we didn't actually pay that more to have the deluxe room instead of the standard one.
The location is perfect: 1 minute to Leidseplein.
The stairs are what you expect to find in Netherlands, obviously not suggested to aged people.
The smell of the water of Amsterdam channels sometimes arrives from the bathroom, but nothing unbearable.
And the other little detail, if we want to be scrupulous, is that in our room at the very top of the building, internet wifi didn't arrive. But however, who cares about it in holiday?? We didn't.
All this to say: we are a young couple and we've been very pleased to stay at The Golden Bear. I would suggest it and I think I will probably come back there.

Room Tip: I suggest the deluxe double room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Giulia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Quentin Arrive Hotel
Quentin Arrive Hotel
#310 of 373 in Amsterdam
665 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Atlanta Hotel
Atlanta Hotel
#305 of 373 in Amsterdam
488 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Rembrandt Square Hotel
Rembrandt Square Hotel
#235 of 373 in Amsterdam
304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Amsterdam Downtown Hotel
Amsterdam Downtown Hotel
#283 of 373 in Amsterdam
296 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Nadia
Hotel Nadia
#99 of 373 in Amsterdam
4,042 reviews
Stadsdeel Zuid
Hotel Titus
Hotel Titus
#268 of 373 in Amsterdam
232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel The Golden Bear? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel The Golden Bear

Address: Kerkstraat 37, 1017 GB Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #309 of 373 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range: $78 - $275 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel The Golden Bear 2*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is housed in two 18th century buildings, this is one of the best shopping areas with an abundance of boutiques known as the '9 straatjes', which consists of nine streets that are situated between the canals Prinsengracht and Singel. The rooms are well equipped with modern facilities to make sure your stay is as comfortable as possible. The hotel is located next to ‘Leidsestraat’, one of the most popular shopping streets of Amsterdam, near to all Amsterdam’s highlights such as the Rijksmuseum, Van Gogh museum, Albert Cuyp Market, shops, bars, clubs and restaurants. The Kerkstraat is a quiet street, so you will be in the city centre of Amsterdam but still have a good night sleep. The hotel offers many services and facilities such as free wireless internet throughout the building, tickets to various museums and activities, a continental breakfast and free city maps. Our reception is open between 8:00- 24:00, and we will be happy to help you if you will need any additional services, facilities or information. The location is perfect to explore the city and our staff will make sure your stay in Amsterdam is one to remember. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel The Golden Bear reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing