We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Disappointing” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel The Golden Bear

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel The Golden Bear
Ranked #274 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Paris, France
Level Contributor
40 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013

The rooms are old and a bit smelly--that is once you get to them.... Yes, the pictures don't lie. The staircases are terrible. That's Amsterdam to some degree. But seriously please think twice if you have luggage...it is pretty tortuous and you are on your own...
Service at the hotel is non-existent and the tone of the staff-- cranky, condescending and marginally dictatorial ("you close the door fully at all times", call at 11:02-- "CHECK OUT IS AT 11!") no, not hello, just that...
Breakfast is what you can expect from a 2 star hotel. Toast with some jam, a piece of ham and cheese plopped down in front of you. Don't ask for anything unless you're willing to deal with the passive aggressive wrath of the gentleman in the morning whose classical music you've interrupted.
I wouldn't recommend this property.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank paestum70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

349 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    105
    92
    38
    41
See reviews for
9
159
66
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Jersey City, New Jersey
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2013

My partner and I stayed at the hotel for 5 nights. We had a nice size top floor room with private bath. The room smelled of cigarette smoke when we arrived (even though it had no smoking posted on the door), but it cleared up after a day with the window open. The room was basic and clean with a comfortable double bed. The shower was very large for european standards. A reviewer complained about WIFI on the top floors, but we got an excellent fast signal. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The stay included a nice small breakfast every morning that was served until 11 AM. The hotel left fresh towels at our door everyday, but they did not provide daily housecleaning services which surprised and disappointed us a little. It's considered an LGBT hotel, but they welcome everyone and the guests were very diversified during our stay. The location was EXCELLENT and the Tram stop is right outside the hotel to Central station, shopping and red light district. Since all you do is walk in Amsterdam, this is was the perfect central location. So about those famous stairs!!... yes, they are VERY small and winding, it was an adventure lugging suitcases up and down, but it had no effect on my perception or review of the hotel. To us it was part of the Amsterdam charm. I viewed it as a great butt and leg workout, but I could see how it would be an inconvenience for older folks. There is no air conditioning, so it was a bit loud at night with the windows open facing the street, but no big deal. This was our first time in Amsterdam and it is now one of my favorite cities in the world. LOVE IT! We will definitely be back and would consider staying at this hotel again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tim L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2013

This hotel is centrally located and an easy walk to all places in Amsterdam, it was close to a lot of the gay venues. The breakfast was good and no issue with getting any further food, I would happily stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
2 Thank David F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2013

From Barcelona we stayed at the hotel five days to visit our son who works in Amsterdam. I had to order some extra service without any problem. No problem with language, because my English is not too fluid, were at all times very friendly. At any time you could you prepare a tea, a coffee, a soup in the same room. I would recommend to anyone for its good location and good service.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
2 Thank menujo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Temple Terrace, Florida
Level Contributor
79 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2013

I will stay somewhere else the next time I am in Amsterdam. The staircases are dangerous and steep and the WIFI is horrendous. I had to walk downstairs to use the WIFI. It was not accessible on the 3rd and 4th floors.

I knew we had shared bathrooms as well, but there were fewer than 1 per floor. 50% chance you have to take the dangerous stairs to use the bathroom.

No elevator, which can be an issue if you are stuck on the 3rd or 4th floors. I do NOT have mobility issues, but the stairs were a problem, especially since I had to use them to get WIFI.

Breakfast was APPROPRIATELY later, which is a plus. One morning was bread, ham, bologna looking meat, and cheese. Another morning had eggs cooked to order. Being in Amsterdam, with late nights, it was nice to have breakfast go until 11am or noon.

Room Tip: Request the 1st 2 floors and the BACK of the hotel where it is quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ctrever23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Amsterdam hotels

N Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013

I have spent a considerable time, seeking convenient accommodation in Amsterdam and elected to stay at the Golden Bear. I made my booking via booking.com and received back confirmation of my booking which I have printed.
Shortly after ( and when other special offers had been snatched up), I received an e mail from the Golden Bear to tell me my booking had overlapped on the system and I did not now have the booking as described in my confirmation.
It seems to be the case that, when I submit my credit card details and enter into that contract with the Golden Bear, that I cannot cancel that without loosing money.The Golden Bear however can cancel that booking without any cost to them but at a cost to me.
To add insult to injury the manager corrected me for referring to this as a mistake and insisted it is not a "mistake"? - Discuss!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank RedkingNIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Atlanta Hotel
Atlanta Hotel
#288 of 362 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 bubbles 444 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Amsterdam Downtown Hotel
Amsterdam Downtown Hotel
#276 of 362 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 bubbles 259 reviews
Jordaan
BackStage Hotel Amsterdam
BackStage Hotel Amsterdam
#110 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Quentin Arrive Hotel
Quentin Arrive Hotel
#289 of 362 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 bubbles 603 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hampshire Hotel - Prinsengracht Amsterdam
Jordaan
Hotel de Paris Amsterdam
Hotel de Paris Amsterdam
#273 of 362 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 bubbles 444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel The Golden Bear? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel The Golden Bear

Property: Hotel The Golden Bear
Address: Kerkstraat 37, 1017 GB Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #274 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel The Golden Bear 2*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is housed in two 18th century buildings, this is one of the best shopping areas with an abundance of boutiques known as the '9 straatjes', which consists of nine streets that are situated between the canals Prinsengracht and Singel. The rooms are well equipped with modern facilities to make sure your stay is as comfortable as possible. The hotel is located next to ‘Leidsestraat’, one of the most popular shopping streets of Amsterdam, near to all Amsterdam’s highlights such as the Rijksmuseum, Van Gogh museum, Albert Cuyp Market, shops, bars, clubs and restaurants. The Kerkstraat is a quiet street, so you will be in the city centre of Amsterdam but still have a good night sleep. The hotel offers many services and facilities such as free wireless internet throughout the building, tickets to various museums and activities, a continental breakfast and free city maps. Our reception is open between 8:00- 24:00, and we will be happy to help you if you will need any additional services, facilities or information. The location is perfect to explore the city and our staff will make sure your stay in Amsterdam is one to remember. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel The Golden Bear reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing