We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just Like Home - Only Better”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Amsterdam
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Boutique B&B Kamer01
Ranked #2 of 337 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 12, 2010

I travelled to Amsterdam with my husband for a birthday weekend and we were lucky enough to choose Kamer 01! We stayed in the blue room with a lovely view over the canal. Staying in a house on the canal is so much more personal that a larger hotel and Peter and Wolter are the perfect hosts. Breakfast was superb with anything you could ask for - charcuterie, pastries from local bakeries, herbal infused jams and eggs. Both of the hosts know the city very well and are ready with maps, directions and recommendations for restaurants and attractions. We loved hearing about the history of the city over coffee in the mornings as well! We would recommend this hotel to all of our friends - and we already have!

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank London93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (477)
There are newer reviews for Boutique B&B Kamer01
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

374 - 380 of 477 reviews

Reviewed August 10, 2010

Kamer01 is an outstanding B&B. The location is great, just in front of the Singel canal, close to great shopping and sightseeing areas. The house is a classic Amsterdam row house that has been remodeled with all the modern amenities but keeping its original charm. Our room, the blue room, was designed with great style. The bathroom is ultramodern, and on top of everything we had an iMac in our room with bookmarks of the main attractions, shopping and restaurants! Peter and Wolter are great hosts. It feels like you are spending time with friends. They gave great advice about local sights, restaurants and shopping, and made reservations for us. Breakfast deserves a full review. It was just awesome, like a super elegant sunday brunch. Great cappuccino, espresso, latte, freshly baked croissants, bread and pastries, fruits, organic yogurts and cereals, and the eggs...just the way you like them. We would absolutely come back.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ignatmd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2010

We spent a fantastic 3 nights at Kamer01 over the weekend in July 2010. Peter and Wolter are absolutely charming hosts and have hospitality down to a fine art. For us, their personal involvement is what makes Kamer01 such a success.
The location is great – walking distance to pretty much everywhere but far enough away from the bedlam that descends on Amsterdam at the weekends that you can spend a very quiet, relaxing weekend, which is what we were after.
The B&B itself is pristine. Both the guest rooms and communal areas are spotless. The décor is a mix of modern design classics interspersed with original architectural features. I have a keen interest in interior design and love modern, contemporary style. However, there is a limit on how stylized a place can be – too much and it can be a bit intimidating. The boys at Kamer01 have it spot on. On one hand, there’s enough of the good stuff to make you feel like you’re staying somewhere special, but it’s done in such a way that it also feels like home.
Breakfasts are fresh fresh fresh and there’s a choice of anything and everything that people usually eat – regardless of nationality or food intolerance! Juice is made ‘to order’. Pastries are still warm. Eggs are timed to perfection. The tea and coffee selection is enormous and there are even a few jars of snacks and treats to nibble on outside of breakfast. Better still, there kitchen is open to guests and there’s a fully stocked fridge of drinks etc so you can help yourself.
And now for the best bit: the hosts. Peter and Wolter (and their lovely pooch Tommy) take time to get to know their guests. They have anecdotes about Amsterdam, the house, trips abroad and so forth. They’ll actually sit and chat awhile over a cuppa when you return from a day out. They want to hear what you were up to and they’ll make great suggestions for the following day’s adventures. We took one room and a couple with a little girl shared the B&B with us. Peter and Wolter introduced us all and as perfect hosts, made sure there was a great convivial atmosphere every morning.
Basically, the boys have thought of everything and executed it with understated style. The best way I could describe a stay at Kamer01: like being at home with close friends on your birthday. You’re totally comfortable with your surroundings and you feel a bit special because everyone is pampering you just for the day!!!
Thanks very much Peter and Wolter for creating a peaceful, relaxing retreat!

2 things to watch out for: 1) google maps leads you to the wrong location. Kamer01 is at 416 Singel! 2) this is a traditional Amsterdam canal-side house – the stairs are steep!

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OhBananas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2010

Spent few nights in Amsterdam prior to our Rhine trip and could not have been happier with our choice to stay at Kmer 01. We were greeted by Tommy, wagging his tail, looking down the steps.

Despite the fact that our flight ran late, we were welcomed with refreshments in the dining room before being shown to our room. We chose the Blue Room on the top floor and could not have been happier. After climbing the charming (but steep) steps up to the room, we were delighted with the large, bright room that runs the entire depth of the house. The sitting area overlooking the Singel Canal was a favorite place to relax and people watch.

The bathroom was not designed for those easily embarrassed!

Special touches, like having an iMac in the room was a special bonus-making it easy to keep connected, plan the next days adventures and research restaurants that we wanted to try.

It's obvious that our Walter and Peter love their home and enjoy sharing it with guests.

We would never stay anywhere else on out future visits to Amsterdam!

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank winkd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2010

Staying at Kamer01 on our holiday was absolutely the best B&B / hotel experience we have had. It was unique and individual accommodation and there are only positive things to say about it. It gave us a hint how people in Amsterdam live in these old houses. Location is excellent, it’s in the centrum and walking distance from all the sights, but still this part of the street is quiet. We stayed in Red room, the view from window was towards Singel canal and really beautiful, room was spotless and stylishly decorated, the Frame magazines were nice bonus. Hosts Peter and Wolter were extremely friendly and helpful, you could ask them anything and they did their best to help, they for instance had good tips where to eat and where to go if you had some special interests. And the dog Tommie was cute and behaved very well. The service was first-class in every way and the breakfast was luxurious. It was really nice that one evening when we came “home” early Peter invited us to the roof terrace and brought us drinks there, it was great to watch the night fall over the city. We highly recommend Kamer01 if you are planning a trip to Amsterdam.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lars_Erik1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2010

Our stay was amazing and one of the best places we visited.. Nowhere else compares.. The location was great, and our host Peter....wonderful!..It is like staying in a 5 star hotel but with more personal attention. . When we arrived we were given walking suggestions and thing to do in Amsterdam .the next morning amazing Breakfast …with a superb view of the canal. The room is fantastic, luxurious and beautifully decorated, equipped with a computer and they also offers free WiFi access if you are traveling with your own laptop. This BB is centrally located for a trip to Amsterdam. The location is perfect (very calm) and is within walking distance to Central station and all the main attractions. We would definitely stay there again. Thanks again for the wonderful moment in Amsterdam. Cheers from Quebec
Daniel & Chantal

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daniel_Chantal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2010

Our stay at Kamer 01 was truly wonderful from start to finish. We stayed in the blue room which was beautiful and has stunning views of the canal. The location is perfect and the service (and especially breakfasts!) are all 5* and beyond. This is a very special place to stay in Amsterdam :)

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SophieHLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Ambassade Hotel
Ambassade Hotel
#4 of 371 in Amsterdam
1,103 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
#1 of 371 in Amsterdam
1,329 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#2 of 371 in Amsterdam
2,611 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Banks Mansion
Banks Mansion
#9 of 371 in Amsterdam
2,751 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#13 of 371 in Amsterdam
1,200 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Pulitzer Amsterdam
Pulitzer Amsterdam
#12 of 371 in Amsterdam
753 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boutique B&B Kamer01? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boutique B&B Kamer01

Address: Singel 416, 1016 AK Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 337 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range: $250 - $387 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As a Boutique B&B, Kamer 01 is the perfect choice to enjoy your stay in the iconic Canal District. The Canal House is situated in a spectacular panoramic bend of the beautiful Singel Canal. In close proximity, you will find the historic courtyard Begijnhof, the lively Spui with the one of the oldest bars in the city, the trendy Nine Streets district, and the world-famous Amsterdam Flower Market. Your hosts at Kamer 01, Peter and Wolter, have a discriminating eye for details, design, and personal attention. Hence their award-winning philosophy: Don't be a tourist, be our Guest! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Boutique b&b Kamer01 Hotel Amsterdam
Boutique Bed And Breakfast Kamer01

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing