We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a luxury treat in the heart of Amsterdam”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Amsterdam
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Boutique B&B Kamer01
Ranked #2 of 338 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 17, 2008

Knowing well Amsterdam for living there several years, I first chose the place for the location, in the southern part of the center area , equal distance to the Pijp and the Jordaan –the best 2 areas of the city from my point of view- and 15 meters away from several tram lines with direct access to the main train station – train every 10 minutes to the airport, 15 minutes journey.
The location was as good as expected, but the place itself was even better!
I stayed in the red room, spacious, cosy, clean and beautifully designed by Peter and Walter. Peter warmly welcomed me with some delicate cake from the best “patisserie” in the neighbourhood, Bebel Gilberto playing on the iMac of the room like a “Welcome Home” sound. There’s always good wine, juices and chocolates available anytime for the guests & the soaps and creams are all from Rituals.
Peter, Walter and Tommy -such cute dog!- are the perfect hosts, friendly and very nice. They make you feel like their home is your home.
Kamer01 is a luxury treat in the heart of Amsterdam. Greater value compared to a hotel in the same price range.

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank Australia2095
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (483)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

408 - 414 of 483 reviews

Reviewed March 20, 2008

My husband and I originally planned to stay at Kamer 01 in September 2006, but had to postpone our honeymoon unexpectedly. When we started planning the trip again a year later, we looked at all the small hotels and B&Bs in Amsterdam and again decided to stay here.

We will always be glad we did! It was truly the highlight of our trip. On our next stop in Brugge, we stayed in a beautiful room at a Small Luxury Hotel of the World hotel. However, it did not compare to our experience at Kamer 01.

Peter, Wolter, and Tommy (their adorable and sweet beagle pup) welcomed us when we arrived, and we spent a fun few hours chatting before leaving to explore the neighborhood. When we returned, we went to the Blue Room to unpack. What a room! It is huge by any standard, particularly compared to normal accomodations in Europe. It was impecably decorated, and astonishingly quiet and peaceful (the hosts ensure the room is quiet by having installed special windows, yet another thoughtful touch).

The bathroom is huge, and the tub is extra deep and long. The balcony is cozy, and they make sure you have extra blankets and pillows to use on the balcony if you wish to sit outside when the weather isn't warm.

The DVD collection was much appreciated - we enjoyed popping in a movie and relaxing with some chocolates and wine from downstairs after a nice meal out. You truly have access to juice, water, coffee, beer, and wine 24/7 included with your stay, which is such a nice touch. Also, having internet and computer in the room was awesome. Hotels charge you for all these special extras, but Peter and Wolter make sure everything is included in the price of your room. At the other hotel we stayed at (which was very nice - don't get me wrong!) having two beers, a movie, a snack, and internet in an evening would have cost about 40 euros just to give you an idea!

The breakfasts were great - and Peter and Wolter were so accomodating about the time. I had a tough time with jet lag the first day, and they saved our breakfast for us until 1:30 in the afternoon.

They had great suggestions about restaurants and sights to see. More than being good hosts in that regard, though, they were delightful people to chat with during breakfast and in the afternoon before dinner. Not pushy or prying, they always let us set the pace - if we wanted to ask a quick question and head upstairs, fine. If we wanted to stay and talk about anything, that's good too.

I was a little worried about the comfort of the round bed before we got there, but there was no reason to be worried! It was so comfortable. We really liked it!

We love Amsterdam and will return hopefully within a few years. We absolutely will stay at Kamer 01 again. We have stayed at Small Luxury hotels, Four Seasons properties, and honestly liked this much better. Thank you, Peter and Wolter, for a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank barnettrobertson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2008

Kamer 01 is by far the most stylish and beautiful place we've stayed. As frequent and fussy travellers, we are capable of finding fault with most places. We would challenge anyone to gripe about a thing at Kamer 01. The hospitality of Peter and Tommy the Beagle (Waldo was away when stayed) is warm without being over bearing. Every item in the house has been thought through and designed to perfection. Breakfast is sumptuous and we can't wait to come back.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank LTandLC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2008

Kamer 01 is a beatifully restored pack-house B+B with only two guest rooms and a spacious kitchen/dining area. The warmth and attention to detail in this guest house is quite astonishing, and is a reflection of the owners, Peter end Wolter's (and Tommy's) sense of hospitality and friendliness.

We travel extensively all over the world, and seldom find any reason to repeat our travels. But, we have now stayed in Peter and Wolter's place twice, and will most definitely come back and bring more friends down. In fact, the Kamer 01 is the main reason for going back to Amsterdam :)

  • Stayed: November 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank nkri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2007

If you're looking for hospitality, and a well designed luxurious room this is the place to be.
Peter and Wolter gave us a warm welcome. They even arranged a boattour for us on the Amsterdam canals! It is also possible to book a guide for the Rijksmuseum, the van Gogh Museum or a citywalk in advance.

You can book either the red or blue room (we were with four persons, so we booked both). Both rooms are beautiful designed and furnished. You can use television, DVD or I-Mac with fully supported internet.
In the afternoon they invite you for a drink. They will help you to make plans for dinner, theater or give you tips to make your stay as pleasant as possible.

Breakfast was great. Everything you wish for; fruit, eggs, bacon, warm bread, cheese, salmon, fresh orange juice and even champain if you like.

Location is excellent; in the centre of Amsterdam (nearby the Rijksmuseum).

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Kaatje85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2007

The hotel lives up to its website. We stayed in the blue room and were amazed. Having iTunes in your room is awesome, as is the unique round bed, and sky lights. DVD library is a great plus, and breakfast was another highlight - a banquet just like on the Web photos. Late checkout was also very much appreciated, our hosts were so relaxed and helpful. Thanks Peter for a fantastic weekend!

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank SStuart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2007

and it is simply because with only two rooms they don't get the volume of reviews that a 300 room hotel would get (good or bad). This place is truly special. My wife and i have just returned after a 3 night stay. She went unsure of my choice of short break and came back wanting to live there! That was in no small part due to Kamer 01. From the moment you arrive you are made to feel completely at home. The accommodation is genuinely of a 5 star standard but without the terrible impersonality and homogeneity of a Sheraton or a Marriott. Added to which the place is bursting with original features and Peter and Wolter (and of course Tommy's) personality. The location is fantastic and very central. I used to visist Amsterdam every month or so but I can honestly say that after this trip it is the first time that I have returned genuinely feeling that I really know the city. I'm almost tempted not to share how good this place is so that I can get a room in the future but as they say what goes around comes around.. An absoloute gem and an absoloute must...

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank stephenainsley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Ambassade Hotel
Ambassade Hotel
#4 of 374 in Amsterdam
1,158 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#13 of 374 in Amsterdam
1,252 reviews
Centrum
Hotel Estherea
Hotel Estherea
#17 of 374 in Amsterdam
4,008 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#2 of 374 in Amsterdam
2,652 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Banks Mansion
Banks Mansion
#8 of 374 in Amsterdam
2,822 reviews
Centrum
Tulip of Amsterdam B&B
Tulip of Amsterdam B&B
#3 of 338 in Amsterdam
444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boutique B&B Kamer01? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boutique B&B Kamer01

Address: Singel 416, 1016 AK Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 338 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range: $247 - $383 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As a Boutique B&B, Kamer 01 is the perfect choice to enjoy your stay in the iconic Canal District. The Canal House is situated in a spectacular panoramic bend of the beautiful Singel Canal. In close proximity, you will find the historic courtyard Begijnhof, the lively Spui with the one of the oldest bars in the city, the trendy Nine Streets district, and the world-famous Amsterdam Flower Market. Your hosts at Kamer 01, Peter and Wolter, have a discriminating eye for details, design, and personal attention. Hence their award-winning philosophy: Don't be a tourist, be our Guest! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Boutique b&b Kamer01 Hotel Amsterdam
Boutique Bed And Breakfast Kamer01

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing